We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Park Motel

Garden Park Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garden Park Motel
Save
You added Garden Park Motel to your Saves list
30 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

Along the charmless strip of hotels and motels bordering the lake, it's hard to pick out one, even by name, because they sound similar. But I'm glad I chose this one. For a good price, I got two large-sized rooms, well ventilated, with a fabulous bathroom (I loved the hand-held, stand-up, tiled shower, which drained through a sloped floor), a reasonable walk into town, a useful kitchen, and a solid, comfortable bed. My only complaint: The room got toasty in the sunlight, but if I'd left the windows open longer that night, that wouldn't have troubled me.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

A friend and I drove in and booked a room at this wonderful place. It was comfortable, quiet and like every other NZ motel, well appointed with kitchen items for dining in. The garden was beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

We did not book in advance but secured a unit prior to driving to Milford Sound. After a long exciting day Garden Park was restful, quiet, nicely furnished, comfortable beds and a well designed bathroom. With only a short time to enjoy, proximity to the lake provided surroundings for an enjoyable lake edge walk. Staff were friendly and helpful, would most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights at $130 for a double room. We were extremely pleased with the motel and really enjoyed our stay. It was the most comfortable place we stayed in while touring New Zealand.

Well decorated, well equipped and in a very good position right by the lakeside. The layout was well thought out and spacious. The bed was comfortable, the kitchen and bathroom a pleasure to use.

No hesitation in recommending this motel and would go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
227 hotel reviews
Reviews in 202 cities Reviews in 202 cities
331 helpful votes 331 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

I booked this in advance and had to guarantee payment otherwise I wouldn't have stayed. The bedroom was very small and the sheets were low grade quality - my wife itched all night. The room was very hot. There was a living room but it was awkward as there was an extra bed taking up much of the space. The TV had CNN, and even though I dislike the channel it had news unlike the NZ channels we kept getting! The hotel was walking distance to town. There was no internet access. It was just acceptable and we had a great trip to Milford Sound

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxon,uk
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

as someone has said - this is a little gem, a great place to stop as you tour, or to spend a couple of nights exploring the area including Milford Sound.

this is a number of single storey units in a garden setting with parking right outside. The unit I was in for two nights was staggered, with a separate bedroom, bathroom and then kitchen in living area which also included a large sofa that looked like it could be used as another double bed. They have a small onsite laundry at the bottom of the property.

this fronts on to the lake road, a little way away from the centre of the small town and is quiet, but would be a 15 minute walk into town.

recommended

  • Liked — quiet & spacious
  • Disliked — bit further from town centre
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich,england
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

Although only there 2 nights we were made to feel welcome and comfortable. the 1 bed place we had was very clean and had the patio area and mountain views. the thing what made it exceptional was the staff shirlee was friendly helpful and knowledgeable about the area. they even booked our cruise on the milford sound, which if you can afford it book the longer cruise with real journeys (well worth the money) and listen to the advice of the roads as we gave ourselves 3 hours to get to milford and only just made it! (although it did snow en-route).
if visiting milford or doubtful sound defiantly consider this place.

  • Liked — The views and area
  • Disliked — the Milford road
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Park Motel

Address: 30 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Garden Park Hotel
Garden Park Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Park Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.