We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Park Motel

Garden Park Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garden Park Motel
Save
You added Garden Park Motel to your Saves list
30 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

A friend and I drove in and booked a room at this wonderful place. It was comfortable, quiet and like every other NZ motel, well appointed with kitchen items for dining in. The garden was beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

We did not book in advance but secured a unit prior to driving to Milford Sound. After a long exciting day Garden Park was restful, quiet, nicely furnished, comfortable beds and a well designed bathroom. With only a short time to enjoy, proximity to the lake provided surroundings for an enjoyable lake edge walk. Staff were friendly and helpful, would most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights at $130 for a double room. We were extremely pleased with the motel and really enjoyed our stay. It was the most comfortable place we stayed in while touring New Zealand.

Well decorated, well equipped and in a very good position right by the lakeside. The layout was well thought out and spacious. The bed was comfortable, the kitchen and bathroom a pleasure to use.

No hesitation in recommending this motel and would go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
232 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

I booked this in advance and had to guarantee payment otherwise I wouldn't have stayed. The bedroom was very small and the sheets were low grade quality - my wife itched all night. The room was very hot. There was a living room but it was awkward as there was an extra bed taking up much of the space. The TV had CNN, and even though I dislike the channel it had news unlike the NZ channels we kept getting! The hotel was walking distance to town. There was no internet access. It was just acceptable and we had a great trip to Milford Sound

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxon,uk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

as someone has said - this is a little gem, a great place to stop as you tour, or to spend a couple of nights exploring the area including Milford Sound.

this is a number of single storey units in a garden setting with parking right outside. The unit I was in for two nights was staggered, with a separate bedroom, bathroom and then kitchen in living area which also included a large sofa that looked like it could be used as another double bed. They have a small onsite laundry at the bottom of the property.

this fronts on to the lake road, a little way away from the centre of the small town and is quiet, but would be a 15 minute walk into town.

recommended

  • Liked — quiet & spacious
  • Disliked — bit further from town centre
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich,england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

Although only there 2 nights we were made to feel welcome and comfortable. the 1 bed place we had was very clean and had the patio area and mountain views. the thing what made it exceptional was the staff shirlee was friendly helpful and knowledgeable about the area. they even booked our cruise on the milford sound, which if you can afford it book the longer cruise with real journeys (well worth the money) and listen to the advice of the roads as we gave ourselves 3 hours to get to milford and only just made it! (although it did snow en-route).
if visiting milford or doubtful sound defiantly consider this place.

  • Liked — The views and area
  • Disliked — the Milford road
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2007

The Garden Park Motel is great place to stay! We stayed there Feb 6-11th. We had a 2 BR suite that was spotless, with a small kitchen (dishes, pots/pans, microwave) and picnic table in the "back yardo" to sit and enjoy the beautifully manicured gardens. We could see Lake TeAnau and the mountains. It was very quiet and picturesque. Shirlee was warm and friendly and we had no worries. After 2 weeks of dining out, it was nice to settle in at a place that we could cook our own meals if we wanted to. There was a grill available and we grilled steaks one nite. I highly recommend Garden Park Motel. We can hardly wait to go back to the area and will definitely stay there.

  • Liked — Felt at
  • Disliked — Nothing...It was great!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#20 of 24 in Te Anau
3.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
0.2 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 stars 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Park Motel

Address: 30 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Garden Park Hotel
Garden Park Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Park Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.