We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Top 10 Holiday Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park to your Saves list
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   128 Te Anau Terrace | Fiordland, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
“Great Top 10 Holiday Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I have stayed at several Top 10's now and would rate this amongst the best, good location, close to shops and eateries. Both Motel Units were lovely and spacious with Kitchen, separate bedroom with two singles and a Queen Size bed in the lounge. Beds were very comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful and looked after my car while my friend and I went and walked the Hollyford Track for 2 nights.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeAnauTop10HPark, Public Relations Manager at Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Dot,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a lovely comment on our Trip Advisor page. We are glad to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us in our new motel units and enjoyed our great location. We hope that you had an enjoyable time on the Hollyford Track- we are lucky enough to have many famous tracks in our beautiful area.
We hope to welcome you back in the future,

Kind Regards,
The Te Anau TOP 10 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    68
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
61
101
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Top 10 again fleece their clientele by squeezing in far too many holiday cabins etc at the expense of we motor-homers, who get shoved to the margins in very narrow sites. However, staff helpful and friendly and were willing to let us change our site for something better and a bit more private for our second and third nights. Good washing/laundry and kitchen facilities and a good base to explore the town, walk by the lake and see Milford Sound.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeAnauTop10HPark, Public Relations Manager at Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Ted,

Thank you very much for posting a review on our Trip Advisor page. We know guests are very busy with activities on their holiday and we appreciate the time it takes to write reviews.
During the busy season things can get pretty crowded due to the huge influx of visitors the town receives. We are more than happy to move guests to a quieter area of the park should they request this. We want our guests to be as comfortable as possible therefore try to get people in the sites they prefer, whether it be beside the facilities, the playground or away from both.

It is great you found our staff helpful and enjoyed our 5 star facilities and location.

We trust the rest of your stay in New Zealand was enjoyable and hope to see you back in the future.

Kindest Regards,
The Te Anau TOP 10 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This was our first Top 10 experience, and we marveled at several things. First, the park is like a puzzle where the owners have found a way to carve a "campsite" out of every available space (and some that seem barely available). For people in camper vans, that may not matter so much. For tenters like ourselves, it could be quite challenging. Our site was in a green area where the owners had done a nice job of planting vegetative barriers between the sites, to give some semblance of privacy. However, the site next to ours had a little tree just where it made sense for them to enter and exit with their vehicle, so to get in and out they actually had to pull up some of the stakes from our tent, then replace them after they drove past. We have a small, three person tent, and there were just inches between it, the table that came with the site and our car. All of us in this area had to negotiate how we were going to park and how we were going to get in and out of our sites so that everyone could have access. Then someone less considerate showed up late at night, and they didn't park their van all the way in their site, thus blocking exit and entry to the other nearby sites. I felt like the owners of this park went a little too far in trying to squeeze every last dollar out of this place.

At the same time, we marveled at the facilities, which were brilliantly designed, incredibly clean and functional, and a pleasure to use. By one of the kitchens, which also has an indoor seating area with quite a few tables, there is also an outdoor shaded patio with barbecues. It felt like a lovely cafe. I would give this park 6 stars on facilities.

Location is another thing this holiday park has going for it--we survived our tiny tent space by parking our car once and leaving it in there for our entire 3-day stay. It's just a short walk to the lake, the CBD, the visitors' center, and a wide variety of places to shop and eat. The tour operators picked us up right at the holiday park, so we didn't have far to go for any of our daytime activities.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeAnauTop10HPark, Public Relations Manager at Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear BrahminyKite48,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our Trip Advisor Page, we love hearing feedback from our guests.
We are always maintaining our park and upgrading our facilities and rooms so that they keep up to our 5 star rating. We take all feedback on board and use it to help with suggestions of ways to improve our facilities.
We have taken your comments on board and are in the process of making improvements to the tenting area. We are removing some sites from that area and putting up new dividers in between the sites to continue to give privacy to guests in tents.

We are glad your enjoyed our facilities- we agree they are fantastic! As you say our location is ideal- being close to town and the lake make for a pleasant stay.
I hope you get to come back and visit us and experience the improvements we are implementing in the tent area.

I hope the rest of your holiday in New Zealand was enjoyable and we hope to see you again.

Kindest Regards,
The Te Anau TOP 10 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This is one of the best top 10 parks we stayed. The facility is very new and nice. Kitchen facilities are in your cabin or you can rent a pot or pan from the reception! Nice and friendly staff. Nice location, just opposite the lake. Just the bed was too soft for us so we already had nicer sleeps. All in all would definately recommend

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeAnauTop10HPark, Public Relations Manager at Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Christine,

Thank you so very much for taking the time out of your holiday to write such a kind review on our Trip Advisor page.
It is excellent you enjoyed your stay and found us to be one of the best TOP 10s you stayed at.
As you say our cabin are a great option for accommodation without the large price tag! Our location is a bonus also!
We wish you all the best for your New Zealand holiday and hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Te Anau TOP 10
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
163 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We needed a place for 1 night following our Doubtful Sound/ Glow worm cave trip and an early morning departure to driive via Invercargill and the Caitlins to Dunedin.
This motel room, near but not actually inside the Holiday park, fitted the bill perfectly. Good sized and comfortable room, very good value. A bit soul-less, but you probably wouldn't want to stay too long. So just great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeAnauTop10HPark, Public Relations Manager at Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Peter,
Thank you very much for talking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is great you found our ensuite unit had everything you needed for your stop over. I hope you enjoyed your tie in Doubtful Sound and the Glow worm caves.
We hope to see you back in the future.
Kind Regards,

The Te Anau TOP 10 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed in Top10 locations all over NZ on our two week campervan trip and this was one of the nicest. There's a great little playground for kids and the staff were incredibly kind and helpful. Also - just a short walk from the downtown and across the street from the lake. Definitely one of the best Top10's that we stayed in.

Room Tip: If you want to be near the playgound - ask when you make the reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeAnauTop10HPark, Public Relations Manager at Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Ian and Leah,

Thank you so very much for your awesome feedback you have taken the time to place on Trip Advisor. It is wonderful to hear you found us to be one of the best TOP 10s! We pride ourselves in our great customer service, location and 5 star facilities, therefore it is very rewarding to get such great feedback.
I agree with your room tip- it is nice to be near the playground so the children can burn off some energy while you sit back and relax.
All the best for the rest of your holiday and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
The Te Anau TOP 10 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

This was one of our favourite Top 10 sites not only for the position, right by the lake and a few minutes to the town, but also for the excellent facilities on site and everything in pristine condition. We really did not want to leave but had to continue our journey. Thank you Top 10!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeAnauTop10HPark, Public Relations Manager at Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Gemima,
Thank you very much for posting such excellent feedback on Trip Advisor- we really appreciate it.
It is lovely to hear that you thought we were one of the best TOP 10s you visited. We put a lot of work into maintaining our holiday park to high standards in order for our guests to thoroughly enjoy their stay.
We love this amazing part of the world we live in and its great to hear other people enjoying it as much as we do.
We hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday and find other hidden treasures throughout New Zealand.
Kindest Regards,

The Te Anau TOP 10 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park

Address: 128 Te Anau Terrace | Fiordland, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the best holiday park in Te Anau (gateway to Fiordland) and one of the best in New Zealand. Our quiet lakefront location is just 2 minutes walk from town centre and an ideal base from which to enjoy the great Fiordland National Park. Qualmark-rated 5-star and multiple Tourism Awards winner. Our modern facilities have been designed with your comfort in mind and include the most up to date communal kitchens and dining areas, new underfloor-heated communal and family bathrooms, children's playground, BBQ, luxury spa, wireless internet and Sky TV. At our place you can find a bed to meet every budget while enjoying exceptional standards across a range of accommodation, from park motels to standard cabins to powered and tent sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park (Mountain View) Hotel Te Anau
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.