We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind of fun” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Te Anau Glowworm Caves

Te Anau Glowworm Caves
Real Journeys Visitor Centre, Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$182*
and up
Te Anau Super Saver: Milford Sound Nature Cruise...
Ranked #7 of 10 Attractions in Te Anau
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Bodies of Water, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit the Te Anau Glowworm Caves – an underground network of limestone caves lit by hundreds of glowworms. In the darkness they produce a glittering display. Carved out by the force of the river, the underground world is surprisingly beautiful with whirlpools and roaring waterfalls. Begin with a scenic cruise across Lake Te Anau and then our nature guides will take you in groups through the caves and then in small boats into the grotto. Departs Te Anau.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
97 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Kind of fun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

It is fun, cool little cave. Sitting on the boat in total darkness was a cool experience. But you are obviously being ripped off. $75 per person, another $30 if you want a photo (while the framing was good, the photographers were pretty bad at it), the cost is steep for a short walk in a cave. Having said that, no regrets, it is a good activity for a stop over in Te Anau to break the trip to Milford Sound into 2 days rather than rush it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    245
    71
    15
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My wife really wanted to see the glowworms, although I was more then a bit sceptical. We took a late afternoon tour with RealJourneys and it was excellent. The young staff were all excellent and the commentary on the boat ride to get to the caves was interesting.

At the caves you take a walk though the caves. You have to do a lot of ducking and crouching to keep your head clear of rocks. You walk past a waterfall and then arrive at some boats. Once you loaded up they turn off the lights and you drift on an underground lake and watch the worms. They ask everyone to remain silent which is good as it adds to the experience. The worms are worth it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“It was fun.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We did the trip with Real Journeys. Fun evening and interesting to see the glowing worms but I thought we'd go further in the caves, we just floated around a very small cavern.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Unusual sight!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The ride across the lake to the caves was really beautiful. We had excellent clear weather so the view were amazing. The commentary on the boat was good and informative. The glowworms are surprisingly bright. i was expecting something them to be more faint but it was like seeing the night sky inside a cave. You kind of wait around for a bit if the group is big. I wished we could have explored outside more but perhaps it's protected land? The actual ride in the cave is pretty short but the glowworms are pretty spectacular.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Glow worms spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

If you aren't afraid of the dark and can comfortably bend for a few steps, this is an amazing treat. Semi walk into the entrance of the caves and marvel at the rush and volumes of water carving their way thru the mountain side. Further along jump into a boat and silently cruise along while looking at the hundreds of glow worms put on their lights just for you. Like fairyland.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Te Anau Glowworm Caves also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Te Anau Glowworm Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Te Anau Glowworm Caves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.