We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments to your Saves list
Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   42 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Campbell's on the Lake)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Shakespeare, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“nice for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

A little dated but clean and friendly. Nice location. Te Anau is small, so choices are limited, but I would go back. Free internet (not common in NZ) a bonus.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    99
    26
    1
    2
See reviews for
47
169
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2008

My wife and I stayed here in late September for two nights and were quite pleased. The decor IS a bit 70's but the free laundry and washing powder made up for this. The staff were very friendly and It's only a short walk to the centre of town. The bed was comfortable, had a good night sleep and would definitley stay there again.

  • Liked — Lake views and free Laundry
  • Disliked — Decor
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

Plenty of space, lovely friendly staff. We stayed mid winter, it was very cosy and warm. The kitchen was great, we didn't find the decor dated. The important thing was it had everything we wanted and it was clean. The view was fabulous, too. Would stay there again. A great place to stay if you are planning on visiting the Milford Sound or Doubtful Sound. Lots of pubs and restaurants in the area, too.

  • Liked — The view and the size of the rooms - huge!
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

Very large one bedroom apartment with older but comfortable furnishings/decor. Great heating. Good outlook over the road to the lake. We had a baby in a portacot so it was the ideal size while being very well priced.

A two night stay in Te Anau was a good idea as it gave us the opportunity to drive to Milford Sound (a lot easier with baby) before all the tour buses and get back by mid afternoon.

Te Anau has a pretty good supermarket and a good information centre down by the lake where you can make booking for Milford/Doubtful/glo worms. We did not pre-book our boat trip onto Milford Sound as we weren't sure the baby would fit in with our schedule, so waited till we got there to book, which in May was no problem as it is pretty quiet and we actually got there quicker than we thought (2 hours though this may change dependent on traffic and road quality). Had a cold (remember to wear very warm clothes) but perfect blue sky day for our trip around the fiord (as was about 80 per cent of our NZ trip).

  • Liked — size of the apartment and location to Milford Sound
  • Disliked — carrying all the gear upstairs. outdoor parking also meant the car iced over.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

We can't disagree with the previous reviews - Campbell's was clean, convenient, on the lake, and a short walk to the Real Journey's office or the main street of Te Anau. We left a bag in the taxi before our tour of Milford Sound, which was returned to Campbell's. Since the office was closed when we returned, they placed it on the dining table.

  • Liked — Location, price - booked on wotif.com
  • Disliked — Some small repairs needed in bathroom - holes in wall.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2008

Campbell Auto Lodge enjoys an excellent location on the lake front, with superb views over the lake. It is only a short walk into the town for shops and restaurants. Whilst the decor is not the most up to date, everything is clean and very comfortable and the staff were welcoming and friendly. The units are spacious, with a lake view from the lounge area. No problems with car parking.

As Te Anau is only 2 hrs from Milford Sound we were able to leave early in the morning to get the 9 am cruise, and see the best of the Sound before the coach groups arrived.

Would recommend the Fat Duck restaurant if eating in Te Anau.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Decor
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neutral Bay, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2008

Found this hotel on www.wotif.com and was delightfully surprised to find out how immaculate and large the units were. The decor is a bit dated but that is the only mark against it. Includes a big queen size bed, free internet and lake views! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Large units, spotless, great lake views
  • Disliked — Decor was a bit dated
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments

Address: 42 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Campbell's on the Lake)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#5 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All apartments have been recently refurbished, has Ample Heating, Flat Screen LCD TVs with Sky television and Telephones in every apartment. The Bathrooms include a Shower and a full Bath with a separate Toilet. Free wireless internet and 24 hour guest laundry. All trips in the Fiordland Area can be arranged at no extra charge. Friendly Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland Lakeview Motel And Apartments Hotel Te Anau
Campbells On The Lake Hotel
Fiordland Lakeview Motel And Apartments Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.