We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments to your Saves list
Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   42 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Campbell's on the Lake)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Spectacular view from our one bedroom apartment. Apartment was equipped with everything we required. Very clean and serviced daily. It was quite cold while we were there and found the heating very efficient. Our check in was very smooth and very helpful. Located close to town and with the lake just across the road it was a perfect location. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    99
    26
    1
    2
See reviews for
47
169
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Amazing apartment, bigger than my house, haha. Beautiful views thanks to massive windows looking out to the lake. We had a gorgeous sunny day so was able to sit out on the balcony in the sun. The apartment had everything you could wish for and the bathroom was amazing. There was even a luggage lift to get the heavy cases upstairs.

Room Tip: Must choose the 2 bedroom deluxe. The single rooms have not been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night and found it all very satisfactory. Got the feeling that the guy at reception would have rather been fishing than serving me however. Other than that, everything was fine with the room. Plenty of space, warm and terrific views. Be careful to order your breakfast the night before, the guy at reception didn't tell me I had to and I didn't read the whole guest book so I rang as soon as reception opened to try and sort it out, but the answer was a firm no. Weird. So, apart from a slightly surly host and no breakfast, a thoroughly pleasant stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here for two nights last week. The hotel rooms are exactly like the photos so you know precisely what your getting. Except, for the noise from upstairs. You hear everything, running water, toilet flushing during the night waking you up, and footsteps. If possible get an upstairs room if your sensitive to noise. The road noise was not an issue at all, but probably because the place was like a ghost town due to the road to Milford being closed because of a landslide. We unfortunately missed our cruise which was a major disappointment since it was the only reason we were here to begin with. But, that is not the hotels fault.
The rooms have great heaters and we made good use of them. The only issue was with such small counter space. if you wanted to use the kettle and toaster you had to put them on the very narrow counter space/room divider, which left very little room for any food preparation. We did manage though.. The kitchens are very well equipped with everything you need, and a large fridge as well.
it is in an excellent location and an easy stroll into the centre of town with a wide choice of restaurants and a large grocery store. There is also a nice paved walkway along the edge of the lake.
Our first night was very uncomfortable as they had just painted and should not have let the room out until the smell was gone. We both had headaches from the smell. In the morning when we left for the day I told the cleaner about it and she aired out the room during the day and lit some scented candles. When we returned it was much improved.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room if you prefer quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Lovely motel right on the lake, great views. The room was huge, separate bedroom at the back and the lounge/kitchen in front. Sky sports too which was handy. Really impressed and Grant was really helpful with booking tours and recommendations.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highvale, QLD
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great location with stunning views over lake Te Anau. The rooms are massive and comfortable. We had a upper level apartment with a king bed, separate living, dining area and bathroom. The apartments run the full depth of the building with easily enough room to split them into 2 rooms. One with a view of the carpark at the rear and the other of the lake. Its great that the owners haven't. The bathroom could be slightly more modern but we had no complaints and our room made up daily. Just an all round fantastic base for a beautiful location in the South Island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This motel was clean and comfortable, although the furnishings in our room were very dated (looked like somebody's grandmother may have decorated it in the '70s!). Don't let this put you off though as I understand the rooms are being progressively updated. The room was still very clean and comfortable and the motel is well located being only a 10 minute walk into the main town centre. There is ample on site parking and a surprisingly large guest laundry which came in very handy! We were there mid winter so a lot of the restaurants were closed however on the recommendation of our host we ate at the Fat Duck on both nights in town as well as breakfast on our last day and the food was lovely, with friendly warm service.

Room Tip: If you can, book a refurbished room but honestly for the amount of time you spend in it even the old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments

Address: 42 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Campbell's on the Lake)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#5 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All apartments have been recently refurbished, has Ample Heating, Flat Screen LCD TVs with Sky television and Telephones in every apartment. The Bathrooms include a Shower and a full Bath with a separate Toilet. Free wireless internet and 24 hour guest laundry. All trips in the Fiordland Area can be arranged at no extra charge. Friendly Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland Lakeview Motel And Apartments Hotel Te Anau
Campbells On The Lake Hotel
Fiordland Lakeview Motel And Apartments Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.