We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, good rooms and friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments

Save Saved
You added Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   42 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Campbell's on the Lake)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 hotels in Te Anau
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great views, good rooms and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay very much. Amazing views and rooms are of a good standard presenting value for money. Staff on check in were most helpful including suggesting places to eat and booking our Milford Sound cruise. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    98
    24
    1
    2
See reviews for
43
160
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

When I walked into my first floor apartment an saw the view of Lake Te Anau I was amazed! What a view! The living room/dining area faced the lake and was all glass. Wow! The place had a full kitchen, dining area, living room, bathroom and bedroom. The place was updated and the bathroom was spotless and beautiful. The room was very quiet. The free WIFI worked very well and was appreciated. There were plenty of places to plug in. There was an easy, flat walk into the small town with shops, restaurants, dairy (grocery store) and the Relaxing Journeys boat to the glow worm caves. I felt safe walking back to the motel after the caves even though it was dark. The walk is well lit with sidewalks on each side of the street. As a solo female traveler, I felt pretty safe in the room. It was on the first floor with sliding glass door entryways and the lock was very stiff so there were issues locking the door. The owner did assist in making it functional but I am always a bit leery of the safety of sliding glass doors. The location was perfect for my exit out of town when I departed on the Naked Bus since the stop was next door. I would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean rooms, friendly staff, free wifi and amazing views of lake Te Anau all at a good proximity to town centre. We had quite a small kitchen but i was still able to whip up dinner for the wife and young fella. I would recommend this place to anyone travelling with a family.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay there very much, we found the staff friendly and helpful. We had booked an upstairs apartment and it felt like a home away from home, very cosy and warm and with amazing views of the lake. Local supermarket very close, within walking distance and that made it easy to make ourselves dinner and breakfast. Would stay there again

Room Tip: They have a laundry room which provides washing powder, there are quite a few machines so if its qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The room was a mini-apartment so it was nice because there was a lot of room to breathe. However, the carpets were old (green and retro) and the room was a little dingy. The TV in the bedroom was very small so one had to squint to watch it and the bed was a little uncomfortable. However, the view from the apartment was spectacular and the kitchen had everything you needed if you wished to cook your meals. All in all, it served its purpose. Don't expect luxury - it was an average but comfortable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

In our three week travels of NZ, this was by far my favourite motel. The room was bigger than my first apartment! The little kitchen is fantastic, great bathroom with separate toilet (which is a nice change) and big lounge. Amazing views of the lake too. Hosts are also very friendly and willing to help in any way. Perfect.

Room Tip: Pick the top floor, why not :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otorohanga, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have recently stayed here for two nights on a South Island trip.

Very spacious unit which was equiped with everything you could have possibly wanted. We had a bottom floor unit and while you could hear people walking overhead, it didn't impact on our stay. Thought this was excellent value for money and much better than our "high end" accommodation we had in Queenstown.

Great views of Lake Te Anau and a short stroll into town.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments

Address: 42 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Campbell's on the Lake)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#5 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All apartments have been recently refurbished, has Ample Heating, Flat Screen LCD TVs with Sky television and Telephones in every apartment. The Bathrooms include a Shower and a full Bath with a separate Toilet. Free wireless internet and 24 hour guest laundry. All trips in the Fiordland Area can be arranged at no extra charge. Friendly Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland Lakeview Motel And Apartments Hotel Te Anau
Campbells On The Lake Hotel
Fiordland Lakeview Motel And Apartments Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.