We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Lodge in Fiordland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fiordland Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fiordland Lodge to your Saves list
Fiordland Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   472 Te Anau Milford Highway, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park SD 9681, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional Lodge in Fiordland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The Fiordland Lodge was by far one of the best places that we stayed while traveling New Zealand for 30 days. The views of the lake, mountains, sunsets and rainbows from the great room, dining room and our room on the second level were breathtaking. Our room was very comfortable with everything that you need.

The meals and service were impeccable. Everyone was so friendly. We really enjoyed the pre dinner canapés and cocktails. It was a nice touch looking over the evening dinner menu and ordering over cocktails while admiring the spectacular view from the great room. Dinner was outstanding with a very nice selection of wines to choose from. Breakfast was great as well with lots of choices.

We arrived with a flat tire and a full itinerary. Andy was of great assistance in getting us on our way and he even offered to take our car into the shop while we spent the day in Doubtful Sound.

Overall, a highly recommended lodge with a Five+ Star Rating!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    14
    2
    8
    2
See reviews for
22
134
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Our stay at Fiordland Lodge was truly magnificent. We were treated like royalty by the manager, Andy, and his two assistants, Lou and Jo, yet at the same time they made us feel like family. They struck just the right chord. Our meals were prepared by a gourmet chef and were the best of our entire two-week New Zealand trip. The views from our room and the dining room were stunning. Andy was very helpful in organizing a day-trip to Milford Sound from the lodge - a do-not-miss experience. I cannot speak highly enough about how wonderful our time was at this lodge.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

6 km out of Te Anau town. Built in 2002 on a ridge, featuring natural timbers & uninterrupted stunning panoramic views of lake and mountains. All rooms including the Great Room/lounge, restaurant and bedrooms capitalise on the views. Flanked by farmland with sheep, cattle; an organic garden provides vegetables for the restaurant. Deluxe room on the second level had superb views. The small restaurant provides dinner from 7 PM, offering 2 choices for entree and 2 for mains as well as several desserts: exquisite meals match top restaurants in Auckland (for example). Menu features local ingredients: the wild venison was perfect. Overall ambience: relaxed quiet luxury with excellent attentive staff. Breakfast from 7 AM was great. High-quality fittings. Expensive but fully justified (cost includes dinner and breakfast, canapés, pre dinner drinks, mini bar). Minor niggles: low shower pressure and only one accessible power plug in the room. A pure NZ experience.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms maximise the stunning views. All rooms look across the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

This is the sixth stop on our two week family trip around the South Island and as the old adage says it is by far and away the best place we have stayed in NZ.

Ostensibly this was meant to be a two night stop-over in order to visit Milford Sound but it has become a real experience in itself. The Lodge is not big, 10 bedrooms and 2 log cabins, but the service and standard is really 5 star. We - me, my wife and two teenage sons - stayed in the two bedroom log cabin which is secluded and very comfortable indeed. The Lodge itself is impeccably designed and I is entirely wood constructed. The main lounge area is truly spectacular with floor to roof windows facing out onto Lake Te Anau, the Jackson Peaks and the Murchison Mountains. What a place to relax at the end of the day with a glass of Cloudy Bay watching a beautiful red sky sunset.

The level of service is truly world class and highly personalized. We felt so comfortable here and that is hugely thanks to Andy, Jo and Lou to make this happen.

The food is also outstanding - how many times I could use this word about this place. It is fine dining in the evening - and both evenings the menu changed and the food was beautifully presented. My eldest son is vegetarian and they catered for him extremely well as well. Great choice of NZ wine to boot.

Before dinner there is also complimentary cocktails and canapés to start off a great evening as well.

Apparently Peter Jackson booked the entire place out when filming The Hobbit locally. That should tell you something as well. Recent guest also include Sir Ian McKellon and Andy Sirkis for you LOTR maniacs as well.

We stayed two night s and I could I have stayed a month.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacation472, Manager at Fiordland Lodge, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Gary and family,
Thank you so much for feeling inspired to post your review to share your appraisal, we are delighted Fiordland Lodge lived up to your expectations and it was a pleasure to have your family here with us as you concluded your holiday to New Zealand. We were pleased you enjoyed the stunning scenery and pristine wilderness surroundings of Fiordland Lodge.

The difference between a good and great experience is very important to us - in fact it's what we strive for and I really appreciate your kind comments regarding the staff and your comments regarding meals are most appreciated. Our small kitchen team pride on themselves making sure all dietary requests are catered for and craft individual guest menus to accommodate all tastes and requirements.

I enjoyed our chats and good luck in support of your team Liverpool in the EPL, 1990 is a long time to wait since your last premiership title. Have a safe journey back to Scotland and all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Wonderful lodge with super scenic view, very nice room, i love the bath room.
Delicious food and warm service. We travelled in December, but i would like to revisit over winter. Either way I will definately comes back again...

Room Tip: Forget not to try NZ' s famous chardonnay *Cloudy Bay*
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Fiordland Lodge was the top accommodation (by far the best) that we had during our 1 month trip around New Zealand. Andy and his staff were very warm and welcoming and the service, food and room was wonderful. The lodge and property itself and the surrounding area is just unbelievable and we were very sorry to have to leave after 2 days. We could have stayed forever. We highly recommend the Fiordland Lodge if you are in the Te Anau area, and make a point to visit there if you haven't already done so.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Spent three nights at Fiordland Lodge in late February/early March. A wonderful place to stay! Every thing about it was perfect. Large and comfortable first floor Lodge Room, very well furnished and equipped with amazing views of the stars, the lake and the mountains. Could imagine Mordor in the far distance beyond the snow capped peaks! Andy and his team made us feel so welcome. All the staff were friendly and attentive without being intrusive, always willing to take time to talk to the guests and to go beyond what would normally be expected in meeting the needs and wishes of guests. Breakfasts and dinners were excellent and we loved the opportunity to get to know other guests over a cocktail and canapes during the pre-dinner happy hour. We chose the Lodge as a base for visiting Milford and Doubtful Sounds. While it was a great base for seeing something of Fiordland it was very much more than simply a place to stay. A great destination in its own right. Andy and his team are to be congratulated on making the Lodge so much more than simply a wonderful building in a perfect location. We hope to be able to return.

Room Tip: For the views, rooms on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fiordland Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland Lodge

Address: 472 Te Anau Milford Highway, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park SD 9681, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fiordland Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fiordland Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland Hotel Te Anau
Fiordland Lodge Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fiordland Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.