We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic by every measure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fiordland Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fiordland Lodge to your Saves list
Fiordland Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   472 Te Anau Milford Highway, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park SD 9681, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Haymarket, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic by every measure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Fiordland Lodge was the top accommodation (by far the best) that we had during our 1 month trip around New Zealand. Andy and his staff were very warm and welcoming and the service, food and room was wonderful. The lodge and property itself and the surrounding area is just unbelievable and we were very sorry to have to leave after 2 days. We could have stayed forever. We highly recommend the Fiordland Lodge if you are in the Te Anau area, and make a point to visit there if you haven't already done so.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    15
    2
    8
    2
See reviews for
26
150
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Spent three nights at Fiordland Lodge in late February/early March. A wonderful place to stay! Every thing about it was perfect. Large and comfortable first floor Lodge Room, very well furnished and equipped with amazing views of the stars, the lake and the mountains. Could imagine Mordor in the far distance beyond the snow capped peaks! Andy and his team made us feel so welcome. All the staff were friendly and attentive without being intrusive, always willing to take time to talk to the guests and to go beyond what would normally be expected in meeting the needs and wishes of guests. Breakfasts and dinners were excellent and we loved the opportunity to get to know other guests over a cocktail and canapes during the pre-dinner happy hour. We chose the Lodge as a base for visiting Milford and Doubtful Sounds. While it was a great base for seeing something of Fiordland it was very much more than simply a place to stay. A great destination in its own right. Andy and his team are to be congratulated on making the Lodge so much more than simply a wonderful building in a perfect location. We hope to be able to return.

Room Tip: For the views, rooms on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We spent two night at the Fiordland Lodge and was surprised by the upscale character of the property. From the comfortable rooms and the amazing gourmet food, everything was top-notch. All of the staff was very friendly and took very good care of us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

In addition to a great setting bordering the lake, with a wonderful lodge, the staff has been nothing but great! They were very attentive to our needs, giving tips and even offering for free to do some laundry. Not only it is a great stay, the lodge was remote, quiet and very well furnished but the lodge cuisine is very exquisite (special *** to fish and breaky) that is really the expectation for a great honeymoon stay

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy C, Manager at Fiordland Lodge, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Bonjour from Fiordland Lodge!

Congratulations on your recent marriage and thanks for choosing Fiordland Lodge for your honeymoon. Thank you for sharing your comments as we are indeed pleased that your time with us provided such fabulous memories.

It was certainly a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the accommodation, the cuisine and your dining experiences as well as your interactions with the staff. We congratulate you again on your nuptials, and look forward to welcoming you back to Fiordland Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fechy, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

On arrival the luggage was taken to our room, the car was parked and we were offered a welcome cup of tea. It was a gorgeous day and we sat in the garden enjoying the fabulous view. Pre-dinner drinks and nibbles were served (delicious and complimentary) in the lovely lounge area; dinner was delicious with friendly and efficient service. After a sound night's sleep we had a very good breakfast.
Andy helped us decide where we could go walking and provided a delicious packed lunch to take along.
All in all, a lovely place to stay - only criticism would be that the cost is quite high but we would still highly recommend it as a place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We had a booking with the lodge and called in on route to Milford Sound. We were greeted by the manager who kindly showed us to our room (although it was only the morning) and then rang to book a cruise for later in the day. We were also offered tea which we enjoyed in the beautiful lounge. Then on our departure we were offered a packed lunch! What a bonus and so unexpected.

Dinner which was included in our booking was preceded by complimentary drinks and canapés served by very friendly staff. Our dinner was beautifully presented, served in an amazing dining room.

Our bedroom was stunning, spacious, comfortable and with superior furnishings.

Breakfast was very good again in the lovely dining room with its stunning views.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
179 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently spent three nights here. The lodge is very beautiful with gorgeous views. The rooms are bright, airy, well equipped and comfortable and as we were on the upper floor of the lodge, we had beautiful views as well.

Breakfasts are large with an extensive menu - well prepared and well presented. Dinners were excellent - though the menu each night is very limited, everything was well prepared, delicious and well presented.

Location is good for hiking in the area and for access to Millford sound.

On the day we went to Millford Sound, they packed us a lunch which, like all the other meals we had there, was very good with lots of variety provided.

We certainly felt well taken care of with the mini bar contents available at no extra cost, predinner drinks and appies as well included too. They parked the car for us, helped with luggage as needed and all the other little touches expected of a five star hotel.

Having said all that and although our stay was certainly enjoyable, the cost remains astronomical. Not quite sure, even with everything they provide, why the cost is quite so high but it is definitely a delightful and beautiful spot and all the meals were top notch.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacation472, Manager at Fiordland Lodge, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for your review and valued comments of your recent visit to Fiordland Lodge. We are thrilled with the feedback from such a top reviewer and that overall you enjoyed the spectacular location, fine cuisine and your overall experience at our property.

Our location directly opposite New Zealand's largest National Park and one of the largest in the world with the ever-changing Fiordland skies is a big part of the wonder that is Fiordland Lodge.

My team do pride themselves on delivering exceptionable service and it is great to see that their 'quiet unfussy professionalism' is both recognized and appreciated! The whole team works incredibly hard at creating the finest experience possible, and when we get feedback such as yours - it really makes it worth the effort and motivates us to keep up the high standard.

Again thank you for this feedback which has been shared with the team here at Fiordland Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
3.5 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
3.7 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
3.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Blue Thistle Cottages
Blue Thistle Cottages
#2 of 24 in Te Anau
5.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
3.5 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiordland Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland Lodge

Address: 472 Te Anau Milford Highway, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park SD 9681, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fiordland Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Fiordland Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland Hotel Te Anau
Fiordland Lodge Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fiordland Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.