We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fiordland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fiordland Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fiordland Lodge to your Saves list
Fiordland Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   472 Te Anau Milford Highway, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park SD 9681, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fiordland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed in a number of luxury lodges in NZ but this one was the best. The food is superb, the rooms are good, you can enjoy a drink and after dinner coffee with your fellow guests but you can eat alone. Sitting in the lounge watching the weatehr pass across the enormous picture windows looking on to the Lake was magic. The staff are friendly and the other guests were interesting. I highly recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    15
    2
    8
    2
See reviews for
26
150
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Having just spent 4 nights at this fabulous lodge I had to write about it. I have never bothered to right a review, but this experience deserved to be shared. Andy the Manager and Monique the assistant manager are amazing - nothing is too much trouble and they are friendly and gorgeous. The food is outstanding, absolutely amazing and the staff, everyone of them, treats you like family. The view from the lodge is breathtaking from every angle. The accommodation is good, possibly the only "criticism" is that there is no drawer space. The bathroom is good and the towels large and thick and there are plenty of them. There is turndown service as well and beds and pillows very comfortable. We just loved our stay and we travel regularly and look forward to going back to the lodge in the near future. Thank you so much Viv & Phil

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I was so bitterly disappointed with staying here. We stayed one night on the way to Milford Sound and we wished we had just driven the extra 2 hrs. It is decorated as a very dated 70s hunting lodge. The room was large but sparsely furnished. The bathroom only had a shower which soaked a large portion of the bathroom counter. Towels were thin and small. We were told that they would do laundry for no cost and it would be ready in the morning. We handed it over at 6.30pm we asked for it at 9am and were told it was just finishing drying, at 9.45am we were ready to leave and were just waiting for the laundry. In the end we were handed one load of damp laundry and one load of sopping wet laundry. If we had just been told they couldn't do it then it would have been fine as there was laundry facilities at Milford Sound. Guests do not appreciate being lied to.
There was a wine tasting party on which meant that normal dinner was not served and non guests were present. You either had the option of sitting on a large table with strangers or eating in your room or having a table on a balcony above everyone else. Dinner was only mediocre and mostly cold by the time we got it.
The laundry incident really annoyed me but the whole stay was not worth the money and was just disappointing. In the end management only charged us for the travel agent commission.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy C, Manager at Fiordland Lodge, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you for submitting this review on Trip Advisor, it stands out as being very different from the vast majority of our reviews - which are happily mostly overwhelmingly positive.

Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, has different expectations and generally will have a different perspective on a standard, stay or issue. In our case readers will note that the key points noted in this review of Staff, Food, Service and Rooms are all ranking incredibly highly both currently and over the last 3 years since the lodge has been under new management.

In terms of the points you have raised:

The Lodge being dated or in the 70's; Fiordland Lodge was constructed in 2002 and "Unbelievable!" is the expression most often heard when guests enter the main lodge. Whether it's there first visit or fifth, the lodge is simply as grand as they come with amazing architechture.

Our Lodge rooms are sparse as commented thank you all being 30sqm and all share the same unimpeded view of the uninhabited land and Lake-scape. All furniture within the rooms was hand made especially for the property and bedrooms use earth colours and room decor is muted natural toning reflecting Fiordland. Bathrooms are particularly handsome, with basins on New Zealand swamp Kauri and our top quality bedding, towels and toiletries offer all the latest bathroom conveniences.

We happily do guests laundry complimentary and do confess that we did in the morning miss putting your 2nd load into the dryer in which I communicated to you personally. We most certainly would have no reason to lie over such a matter but please do accept our sincere apologies over this incident.

As it was a busy period for the lodge we were for the enjoyment of our guests hosting a Wine Evening on the night of your visit and this was hosted by one of New Zealand's icon characters and vineyards Tim Turvey from Clearview Estate Winery. Guests get the option of joining in or private dining options and this was attended by 30 people mainly house guests but also a small mix of locals and was a hugely successful evening enjoyed by all. We do however understand that maybe some guests would prefer to dine alone so this is why we sent every guest over a month prior to the night an email inviting participation or offering private dining options on this date. You decided upon check-in for private in-house dining which we were happy to provide.

We do aim for a streamlined guest stay in terms of touring, food and all aspects of service and will use this valuable feedback to further improve our standards. Guests do often comment on the excellent value offered by the Fiordland Lodge experience and as a passionate hotelier hope that other readers place this review into the appropriate context.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed 1 night there on the road to Milford Sound. The rooms are huge, the staff friendly and helpful. You have to stay for dinner but you get a free drink and appetizers. The food is excellent and the lodge incredible. From everywhere you can see the mountains and the lake. It certainly worths to stay more than one night to enjoy the place and to trek in the area.

Room Tip: Every room has a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about Fiordland Lodge! We loved our stay here. We were at the lodge for our Silver Anniversary & couldn't have picked a better place to stay. We were the only guests there on our first night & a table was set for us for dinner & breakfast in the sitting area in front of the massive inglenook fireplace, with its fire roaring away. It was made very special for us. We had a few nights here & as other guests arrived the staff remained just as individually attentive; the service here is exceptional. The food was also fantastic, though choice at dinner is a bit limited the chef will accommodate requirements & there are plenty of courses to get through! I liked that the chef was also asking for feedback about different dishes. A pre dinner drink included in the price was a nice touch, as were the delicious homemade biscuits served with the never-ending supply of pots of tea / coffee [also included in the price]. The Fiordland Lodge seemed quite expensive when we booked, but was actually very good value for money considering what was included.

Our room was comfortable & clean, though we didn't spend too much time in it as this was one place we stayed where we preferred to sit downstairs if we were in. There is also a library, with computer access should you need this.

This is one place where we would like to have stayed longer, both for the Lodge & the beautiful area; with lots to see & do nearby I'd love to spend some more time there. Thank you to Andy, Monique & Louise - & the chef of course - for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy C, Manager at Fiordland Lodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely and complete review on your recent stay at Fiordland Lodge.

It was a pleasure to have you here celebrating your Silver Anniversary and we are very grateful of your gratitude of the food, the lodge, surroundings, and personalized service we strive to provide to every guest.

As always I will pass your review down to the staff for their acknowledgement of your kind words and appreciation of their services.

We look forward to welcoming you back to New Zealand and Fiordland Lodge...maybe to celebrate your Pearl Anniversary!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Everything about this overnight trip was spectacular. We did have great weather, but even without this, the accommodations, the food, and the staff would have made the trip a stunning success. Younger filks went swimming and kayaking, but my wife and I did the tamer supervised boating, and we took tons of memorable photos. We even met great people a dinner. Couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here for three nights towards the end of October which was a quiet period for the hotel but we absolutely loved it! One of the best places we have stayed in. The location of the hotel is fantastic. The views from the bedrooms are just stunning. All the staff were really helpful and friendly and the quality of the food at both breakfast and dinner was first class as was the wine which you could browse in their wine cellar. It was also the little things that made a difference too such as being offered tea and cakes after having been out all day! It's a great location from which to explore the area - we drove to Milford Sound one day and did a Doubtful Sound trip the other day as well as other walks. A truly great place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fiordland Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland Lodge

Address: 472 Te Anau Milford Highway, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park SD 9681, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fiordland Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, Agoda, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Fiordland Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland Hotel Te Anau
Fiordland Lodge Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fiordland Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.