We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aden Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aden Motel to your Saves list
Aden Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   57-59 Quintin Drive | Fiordland, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Ski Season Special
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kuching, Sarawak
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed in the two-bedroom family room. The motel is clean and cozy, can see that the owner has put in lots of effort in maintaining the place (by the way, love the red flowers they planted in from of the room). Cons: low water pressure, limited kitchen space (but it has everything that we need, functional). Other than that, we were happy with our stay. Would definitely return :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IreneBenfell, Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to give us a lovely review of your stay here at Aden Motel in one of our Two family apartments. Yes we do take pride in our apartments each year doing up an average of 4 and the one you stayed in is soon to get a new re-decoration with a large mural going into it. Both of our family apartments are good in size but yes the one you are in had a limited bench space against a modern home now a days for a family. Its nice to read great reviews that guests that are looking at us can read from someone who has stayed with us. Hope the rest of your New Zealand trip went well and have lots of photos to take home to family and friends to make them want to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    53
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
70
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Thought that the room that we had was a little run down and when I look at the photos on the motel website I think I am right.
The lady who checked us in was lovely and full of information and suggestions.
We were only one block away from the lake which was lovely to walk around.
Drove into the main street for dinner which was very nice.
We were given the room near the laundry and therefore didn't get any sun in the room at all, whereas all the other rooms have a sunny disposition.
The room was quiet and there was no street noise which was lovely.
Would I stay there again…of course.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IreneBenfell, Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thanks for your review and choosing to stay with us at Aden Motel. the room which you booked to stay in is one of our more budget rooms on offer so the price also reflects this again one of our redecorated room which are of more value but sometime people are only staying one night and looking for a cheaper room and the one you stayed in is one of these but should you have booked a 1 bedroom or a studio these are not as dated. We are looking at re-decorating another 4 rooms over this winter again to upgrade them. Our street is very quiet most of the time as we are off the lakefront so away from the general traffic but we do not have lake views but we do have mountain view which at the moment look amazing with the snow on them,making for a quiet and comfortable nights sleep Thankyou for marking us high on the service which we try to make our guest feel at home.Cleanliness is high on our list as we are 100% chemical free cleaning so guests are not inhailing any cleaning chemical that alot of our motels use. All our rooms are shown on our website and are updated after each room has been decorated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawasaki, Japan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

The Aden Motel is located on a quiet residential street close to the center of town and the lake. The hostess at check-in was very welcoming, and brought us cupcakes and milk to enjoy after we had settled into the room. The main draw for us in selecting this motel was the free wi-fi, which worked quite well and we didn't come close to using up our 1 GB allotment (although if we had the proprietress told us we we were free to drop by the front office to get our access extended).

The room was very clean and the beds quite comfortable. The table was nice as well since we were able to bring back groceries and takeaway from the center of town and relax in our room. Would not hesitate to stay here again should I return to Te Anau!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adenmotel, Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for you great review on our motel. We don't get a lot of guests from Japan so we are pleased you enjoyed you stay with us. Its nice that you made your self feel at home for your one night stay by cooking and eating in as this must be expensive on holiday plus a lot of places don't have kitchens to be able to cook. You review will help others coming from Japan and that is something that we like to see and thank you for recommending us for another stay in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We were a group of 4 women in the 2-bedroom unit so each person could have her own bed. The accommodations worked just fine for us - we had done our homework and knew where the motel was in relation to downtown. We found the travel advice of the proprietress very helpful as well in planning how to best spend our short allotment of time in Te Anau.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adenmotel, Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you Ladies for a great review and yes you did do your research very well and our 2 Bedroom apartment suited all of you giving you all your own beds each. Yes people who only stay in Te Anau for one night or two we like them to see as much of our town as possible as we know some holidays can be short but pleased you all went away happy with both Te Anau and Aden Motel as we know reviews are a big help to other guests thinking of coming so thank you again for taking the time to help them decide just like you did from our reviews. I sure you 4 ladies will travel well into the future together again all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The Aden Motel is neither on the lakefront nor in the center of town, but a public pathway across the street leads one long block to the lake, and the center of town is a 3-minute drive or 10-12 minute walk. It's on a quiet residential street, so there's almost no traffic noise. We did hear the idling engine of a tour bus at a nearby motel early in the morning. The 2-bedroom unit was spacious for 4 adults with a comfortable lounge area and an ample table for a meal for four. The kitchen was fully equipped and had a full-sized stove with oven. Beds were comfortable and everything was clean. The motel has a coin-opearated washer and dryer. The front desk staff were helpful and friendly. It took a couple of tries via email to confirm the price we were originally quoted, which was a great value. Would recommend and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Two-bedroom unit was fine for 4 adults willing to share a bathroom. Had a nice lounge area and ample...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adenmotel, Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
What a great review and thank you for taking the time to explain about our family apartment as it all helps other guests. The advantage of being not on the lake front is the street is much quieter and yes the tour buses at Kingsgate Hotel in the morning during busy season seem to start on their journey early about 7am but I think you hear them due to the quietness of the place. Both our family units with sleep between 5- 6 people comfortably and I don't think many motels have two bathrooms in one apartment but think new modern motel may now think about this. We don't mind if our people email us directly to work on room prices instead of working through tour companies or internet booking sites it part of getting to know the guests before they arrive and sometimes we can give you more information on our motel and other things people can do here in Te Anau a lot of guests then stay more than one night as we do offer so much more than just Milford & Doubtful sound. Thanks for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Nothing fancy but is comfortable. Rooms have fridge, microwave, free standing stove/oven combo with cups, plates, pans, utinsels, etc. Supermarket is about a 10 min walk away for easy fix-it-yourself dining at half or less than the cost of the expensive restaurants. Tour companies will pick you up and drop you off at the Aden motel. WIFI was free & fast although login states limit to 1G before paying 0.01/M. No watching NetFlix. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Comfortable beds. Would stay here again. Thanks Aden motel!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adenmotel, Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Wow!! Thanks what a great review of our Motel and being able to tell guests that are coming or looking for a motel what to expect when they come to stay with us. 9 of our rooms have full Kitchens and 3 have kitchenettes but we have put small ovens into those rooms as a microwave isn't always what you need. Yes we can book trips for guest with local knowledge and the bus can pick the guests up at the Motel and take them on their day trip to the sounds.We give 1GB free to guests upon check in as we think this is a fair amount of data but if asked we will give more free data if required especially in our family apartments where 5 people maybe all using data. We like family to keep in touch with family so if they are going to skype we advise they check they have enough data with can be checked by the guest and if they require more if just means a new password. Friendly and helpful we are as so many guest enjoy our homely manner with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Cons: Low water pressure in shower. Location is fine if you are willing to walk (or drive) a bit to town center. Is not on waterfront - but does have a very short walk access to waterfront.
Pros: Friendly. Unlimited wifi (but you need to ask for a new account after 1gb which is not convenient if it runs out outside of their office hours). Nice kitchenette. Nice cupcakes as a greeting. Nice selection of movies to borrow.
Good for family, or anyone else.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adenmotel, Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thanks for your review even with Pros and Cons its a great review. Water Pressure well we are working on this but being older motels some things are beyond our control but again its what we are used to in our homes. Yes we are not on the lake front and there are several advantages to this its much quieter, less mozzies, less wind, safer for kids are a few things but the biggest advantage you pay less. Our Pro's were fantastic yes we are friendly as we want our guests to have the best stay possible with us and remember us not just for the Motel but our friendly manner at having a few laughs together and enjoying what our guest have been doing while they stayed or what they have enjoyed on their travels. All our rooms have Kitchens which is a great advantage to save on the pocket by being able to cook sometime with our lovely NZ meats. Cupcakes are our welcome as some many people have told us how homely the place is so home make cupcakes are apart of our friendly welcome upon arrival. Wifi is offered free at 1GB per room but we do renew the password if this is used for free and we are looking at altering this system to allow guests to update themselves in the near future as systems update. Nice to see your family enjoyed Te Anau and Aden Motel and Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aden Motel

Address: 57-59 Quintin Drive | Fiordland, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#8 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aden Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aden Motels have 12 ground floor Apartments with 1 & 2 bedroom plus studio Apartments.Free Wifi. Quiet location with ample parking even for a boat. Childrens playground, BBQ area, Guest Vege patch,guest laundry. Chemical Free and eviromentally friendly. "Come and rest and relax". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Aden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aden Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aden Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.