We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aden Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aden Motel to your Saves list
Aden Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   57-59 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
ledbury
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A pleasant place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

the room allocated to us was very pleasant, opposite the garden and the kitchen was extremely well equipped. The bathroom was small but quite adequate and the new owners were extremely friendly and helpful. All in all I would recommend this motel as being good value for money. I wish we had had an extra night in the area.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms as I think some were larger than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adenmotel, Owner at Aden Motel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks for you lovely review of our Motel and yes alot of people say they wished they had another night or two in Te Anau its a quiet place to stay with so many things to do and see and one day is never long enough we just have to educate travel agents to let guests stay longer in Te Anau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    45
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
57
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We spent two nights at the Aden Motel, our greating was friendly and advise where to visit was helpfull,glow worm caves a must.Our room was a good size and clean nice comfy bed.
The town was not to far to walk,the lake even closer.We had a problem when we washed our
clothes as the people before us washed something fluffy or box of tissues,the owner was was
brill when we told her she took all our clothes and rewashed them in her own machine and gave them back to us the next day in perfect condition.A big thank you.

Room Tip: All rooms were of good standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adenmotel, Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
To Chris a big Thankyou and we try very hard to make sure our guests have the best stay possible and leave us with great memories of their stay and going away with clothing covered in white fluff isnt nice so it was no problem to re wash and dry the clothing for the guest its called giving service and we take pride in looking after our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the aden motel. It's very close to the lake but is very quiete located. The rooms are spacious. On our last evening there was a problem with a heating pump, making noise on the roof of our apartment. The lady from the motel called a plumper to fix it and after 30 minutes everything was solved and we could have a quiete rest that night.
Thank you very much for the pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adenmotel, Owner at Aden Motel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thankyou to my lovely guest please you found our service helpful and friendly as we try to make our guest feel at home and offer as much help as we can to make there stay a very enjoyable one
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We spent only one night at the Aden Motel but wished we had planned for more. Our 2 bedroom family unit was large and well appointed. Nice size rooms, perfectly adequate kitchen and large bathroom. Everything was spotlessly clean. The hostess was friendly and very helpful.

If you go, enjoy the glow worm cave and the beautiful lake. The town is small but has a couple of lovely eating establishments like the SandFly Cafe and the Olive Tree.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adenmotel, Owner at Aden Motel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Comfortable yes well that is our aim to make people feel at home on holiday and make people as comfortable as possible and our room are a good size thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here before and returned which is a recommendation in itself. It is a short walk to the centre of town and an even shorter walk to the shore. The rooms are clean perhaps a little dated but have modern TVs and free WIFI.

For us on a longish trip it's a good place to spend a couple of days and slow the rate of spend without too much compromise.

The new owner Irene gave us a cheerful welcome on arrival. A much appreciated touch was on our second day, which was my wife's birthday, I had brought some cards from the UK for her to open so we left them on the table whilst we went to do one of the many walks near the motel. On our return we were welcomed with the present of a bottle of wine. That gesture is testament to how guests are regarded.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adenmotel, Owner at Aden Motel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Well its great to get 4 C"s but compeditive would have been nicer than cheaps we try to be realistic with our prices and fit into peoples budgets but also compeditive with other motels around us. Thanks for the great comments we try to make it homely!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We were at the Souther Discoveries information centre. Requested some informations and this motel was recommended by Marie .
The self contained unit we had, has 2 bedroom 1 lounge and a full equiped kitchen. Beautiful garden at the back of the kitchen. The unit is clean and tidy ( most important). We washed our car direct infront of our unit. Surroundings were all motels and beautiful street with bloomed flowers and green trees...........Beautiful!!!! The rate was not high we paid 160NZ$ per night. Worth!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IreneBenfell, Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Great to get a fantastic review for the motel and very pleased that you were so impressed with our Motel we are working very hard to make it a great place for our guest but not totally commercial as we like our guests to feel comfortable and at home. This year we are working hard to improve our garden and the flowers within them for our guests. Thanks hope you had a wonderful holiday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed two nights in Te Anau because the town is (very) small and quiet, away from the crowds, as well as close to Milford Sound.  Here, the sky started getting light at 430am, twilight still after 10pm during our trip!  Birds singing at 5am...nature walking until 9pm!

We got a one bedroom unit that was well appointed with: a queen sized bed in a separate bedroom at the back, and a twin bed in the living space at the front.  The front area also had two soft chairs and a small round dining table with 3 chairs.  It appears to be set up for a family of three.  

Small kitchen area with mid-sized refrigerator, microwave, full-sized oven, sink and cupboards with plates, pots and pans, dinner ware, and glasses. (there appears to be different unit configurations and sizes, studios, separate kitchens, as well as a two bedroom apartment).  Seems like refurbishing had been done on the units recently.

Beds are just right with fresh clean linens and warmers. There was a small tv in the bedroom, heater and a built-in closet.  Bathroom, a bit dated though, had a shower, a separate door for the toilet, and overhead heat lamp - nice touch! 

Parking is directly in front of the units, so makes it really fell like a motel. Quiet access road with other local budget motels nearby too. Free Wifi which had great speed and signal.

Wonderful owner who is so accommodating!

There are a number of hotels and motels in the small town.  Some new and some old....big, small, expensive and budget types, so it's a little difficult in some respects to find a charm.  I would recommend looking around for deals, especially in the off season.  (see: www.wotif.com)

Room Tip: Recommend rooms that face the small lawn area that are farthest from the reception rather than those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adenmotel, Owner at Aden Motel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thanks for your review always appreciated but as new owner 12 October things cannot be changed overnight but we are getting there. The word budget can be taken both good and bad but we are compeditive with other motels. This couple wanted a one bedroom unit which is bigger and is in the back row of units but gets the sun in all day. Studio units are at the front as they were built later. We welcome and try our best to give the best service to all our guests and wonderful memories to take away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aden Motel

Address: 57-59 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#11 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aden Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aden Motels have 12 ground floor Apartments with 1 & 2 bedroom plus studio Apartments.Free Wifi. Quiet location with ample parking even for a boat. Childrens playground, BBQ area, Guest Vege patch,guest laundry. Chemical Free and eviromentally friendly. "Come and rest and relax". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aden Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aden Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.