We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Distinction Luxmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Distinction Luxmore Hotel to your Saves list
Distinction Luxmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Town Centre | PO Box 167, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on a trip around the South Island. This hotel is good. It isn't outstanding but is clean and comfortable.Phone reception within the building was very bad and you can only get wifi in reception and even then it isn't full bars. The receptionists weren't overly friendly or helpful but were nice enough.This hotel is in a great location which definitely helps. Overal this hotel is good...it is just a standard basic hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachagane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
256 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is the second Distinction hotel we have stay with. The rooms are clean, facility well maintained, yet not really as homey or inviting. The receptionist was friendly enough, but we felt as if we might be interrupting her. The television blared in the lobby with one of the reality shows interfering with the thought process. There appeared to be very few other guest in this moderately sized hotel, given that the least they could do is turn on the heat in rooms set aside for registering guests. If you choose to give this hotel a try, ask for a room with a view of the mountains - that alone made up for any other concern - gorgeous!!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nambucca Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is a fabulous hotel right in the centre of the lovely little town of Te Anau. Walk to all the shops and visitors centre. Great & comfortable hotel with a great guest laundry & gym.
We had a special rate when we stayed and it was excellent value for money!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. Im delighted to hear you found the hotel comfortable and made use of the facilities on offer. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

After reading some online reviews of the hotel it was best value for money. We turned up and asked for a room of the type offered online. We were offered better for a little more but indicated we were on a budget. After being told they did not have any of the cheaper rooms we were offered a free upgrade so stayed for the cheaper price in an upgraded room.
There was a mile of room a queen size bed each and everything was nice and clean.
Free access to Wi-Fi, reasonable laundry fees (a little busy at peak times) and very pleasant and helpful staff.
There are some buses that start up near the North/West wing but not that bad and they were gone fairly quickly.
Stayed 3 nights in all. 1 before Milford Sound then 2 after. Was perfectly located to see the lakes and do some cruises.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlFewre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your detailed review about your stay with us. I think we do offer great value for money, with our spacious modern rooms, facilities on offer and our competitive rates. Im glad you enjoyed your time in Te Anau and our hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very good.
Our room was huge clean and well appointed.
Beds were comfy and the heating worked well for us.
Location is great for lakeside, pub and cafes.
Staff friendly and helpful.
Limited Wifi both by time (2 hrs) and location (hotel lobby area).
Gymnasium is good and laundry is excellent.
So quiet in our room .... Love that peace.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rod T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your stay with us. Our prime central location often gets commented upon and we are very fortunate. Im glad you had an enjoyable stay and experienced our warm southern hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Otago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great value accomadation and eating, clean, warm and comfortable. Friendly staff. Great to have a good restaurant in the premise too. Right on the main street of Te Anau, but didnt hear any noise from it at night. Cold outside but nice and warm inside!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Macfi071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your reveiw about your stay with us. Im glad you had an enjoyable stay in Te Anau and the service friendly. We are very fortunate indeed to have a central location and great dining options onsite. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
138 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and i stayed here initially for one night, then we booked the following night due to a change of plans.( and the $78 per night was well worth it) The staff were friendly and helpful. The place was clean and tidy. Our room was spacious with big beds, chairs and table, fridge, hair dryer and toilet and shower.
We only have 2 minor issues, and that is the shower curtain that keeps trying to wrap itself around you while showering and lack of car parks. Very minor things, but they won't stop us from staying here again
The hotel has its own bar/restaurant but we did not eat here, and the location is right in town, a minutes walk to the lake or shops.We used this hotel as a launch pad to Milford Sound (about a 2 hour drive away)
This is our second stay here over 5 years and we would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Found_Lost_Key
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. Im glad you found your room spacious and the staff friendly and helpful. Your comments about the shower curtains have been noted. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.7 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#4 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 stars 343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#19 of 24 in Te Anau
3.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Luxmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Luxmore Hotel

Address: 41 Town Centre | PO Box 167, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#10 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Luxmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the town, Distinction Luxmore Hotel is a popular choice with both visitors and locals alike. Basing yourself in Te Anau enables you to easily explore Milford Sound and the Fiordland World Heritage National Park. Distinction Luxmore has 180 rooms offering Standard, Superior & Deluxe rooms and suites, some with spa bath as well as wheelchair accessible rooms. Free unlimited WiFi, parking and gym. Guest Laundry facilities. Elevators on every floor. Two on site Restaurants and Bars and Conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Distinction Luxmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Luxmore Te Anau
Hotel Distinction Luxmore
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing