We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal stopover for Milford Sounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Distinction Luxmore Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Distinction Luxmore Hotel to your Saves list
Distinction Luxmore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Town Centre | PO Box 167, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Brisbane
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ideal stopover for Milford Sounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location & is ideally positioned for travelling to Milford Sound. We found the room to be a good size and very clean. We ate the buffet breakfast which was fine and we ate dinner in the bar / cafe which was lovely. Staff in both restaurants were particularly friendly & helpful. I found some of the reception staff to be very unfriendly & bordering on rude. I did have a dealing with the manager / duty manager & he couldn't have been more helpful. Definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review about your recent stay with us. Im glad you had an enjoyable stay in Te Anau and found your room to be spacious and clean. Our central location often gets commented upon. Also glad to know you enjoyed the food and friendly service in Bailiez Cafe. I am however, dissapointed to hear that you didnt receive the same levels of service from our reception staff. I am extremely sorry for this and i have taken your valuable feedback and passed it over to the team. Guests feedback is how we gauge our service levels and we will be working very hard to ensure we are above a satisfactory level. Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    125
    90
    15
    10
See reviews for
47
168
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Realistically, you don't stay in Te Anau for its own sake. You are coming here as a home base or stop off point to go to Milford Or Doubtful Sound. In that regard the Distinction works perfectly. It's clean and has a nice view of the lake. The hotel does cater to large groups of tourists from Asia so it's not a boutique. The lobby area is OK, I'm writing this review in the bar area now as it has free wi-fi. My only knock is that the price for the continental breakfast (essentially coffee, juice, toast/muffins) was high at NZ $19.50 pp. I'd stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk vulcan
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

enjoyed a couple of nights here in a peaceful place. rooms were OK - plenty of space with good beds and well kept rooms.
there was a long walk to the restaurant - needed to use our wheelchair to get there it was quite a way to walk. Food was fine with ample choice and good deserts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Happy New Year!

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. Im glad we met your expectations and you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Very central.
A few minutes from all the restaurants.

Rooms clean and comfortable. Staff friendly.
Wifi only in lounge and was very slow.

Do not eat in their tapas restaurant outside the front entrance. Very expensive for average tasting tapas & minuscule portions ( I know it is tapas but it was really small!)

Got the best deal from the hotel website direct.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank for for your feedback about your recent stay with us. Im glad you found your room comfortable and the service friendly. We are currenly looking at upgrading our Wifi service which will increase speeds as well as spread out the service across the hotel. Im dissapointed you found our Tapas restaurant to be pricey. We believe our dishes are priced very competitively as compared to similar offerings in the region. As you did mention, tapas are small portions and are more of a tasting experience so guests can try out several dishes during a sitting. We do have 2 other restaurant onsite as well - Hilights Buffet Restaurant as well as Bailaiez Cafe and Bar which has the reputation of having the largest meals in town. Thank you once again for you comments.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington, new zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The big wide long hall ways reminded me of Kubirk's movie The Shining. Nice enough room. Dated bathrooms. A little back from the lake. Note there is upstairs and downstairs - but with elevators. Seemed to be a long walk to the room as the place is quite big. Cosy restaurant. Great value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. Our hotel is quite large indeed and spread out across an entire block with multiple floors. We do have 3 elevators in the building to ease walking distances for guests to their rooms. "Great Value" is exactly what we strive to provide to our guests. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here two different times this week while visiting Milford sound
The room was large with lovely shelf for two large suitcases. There was a fridge, iron, hot water pot,mhairdryer desk and chair ,tv heater in the wall. Wifi was free for 20 mb asking at the desk.
We ate breakfast and Christmas dinner there. The food was very good . The dining room has nice atmosphere with view of lake and mts. We had the buffet included with our group.
Beware there are huge tour buses coming in to stay. This place is big and spread out with rooms to lounge here and there. Multiple doors to get lost - it's that big. I loved the lake in the evening and early morning..one block to walk there. Two supermarkets you can walk to. Stores and shops Close early.
The decor was ok in the process of updating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. Im delighted to hear you had an enjoyable experience and that we made your christmas away from home a special one. Our central location is a great asset which as you mentioned is only a minutes walk away from the lake. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at Distinction Luxmore in Te Anau prior to an adventure trip. The so-called superior room was comfortable and spacious and the beds are great. However this is a no-frills hotel so remember to bring your own coffee plunger, gourmet coffee, wine glasses, and nice toileteries. There is no microwave in the room, crockery or cutlery beyond coffee cups and spoons. We ended up having to purchase plastic plates, a knife and borrow wine glasses in order to share a cheese platter in the room! I therefore wouldn't recommend it for anything beyond a basic stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. I'm pleased you found your room spacious and comfortable. Unfortunately, none of our rooms have kitchenette's which means they do not have cutlery and plates apart from the complimetary tea/coffee making facilities which is reflected in our very competitive rates. Im sorry we couldnt meet your expectations in this regard, but thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Distinction Luxmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Luxmore Hotel

Address: 41 Town Centre | PO Box 167, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#9 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Luxmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the town, Distinction Luxmore is a popular choice with both visitors and locals alike. Basing yourself in Te Anau enables you to explore the Fiordland World Heritage National Park and staying at Distinction Luxmore ensures your experience will be enjoyable. Distinction Luxmore has 180 rooms consisting of Standard, Superior & Deluxe rooms and suites. The hotel is Qualmark rated 4 star and offers three on site Restaurants and Bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Distinction Luxmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Luxmore Te Anau
Hotel Distinction Luxmore
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Distinction Luxmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.