We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Village Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Village Inn Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mokoroa Street | P.O. Box 195, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Southampton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great value and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

We arrived in the pouring rain, but were greeted by a smiling receptionist. What an unusual concept for a Motel. Great we thought. Room was spacious and clean if a little tired. Loction excellent. We picked Te Anua to break our drive to Milford Sound from Queenstown and to visit the glowworm caves. Unfortunately our trip to the caves was cancelled as they were flooded.
Not a lot else going on in Te Anua. Very unusually there was no internet available at this accommodation

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    28
    18
    4
    6
See reviews for
6
42
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
460 reviews 460 reviews
313 hotel reviews
Reviews in 335 cities Reviews in 335 cities
413 helpful votes 413 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

For a first class tour this hotel was the pits! It was certainly the worst hotel we stayed in. I don’t know what they charge and it may be great for the price, but for the kind of expensive tour we were in it was not good. It was clean I have to say. The food was pretty bad also. Out rour company claimed it was the best in town and they stayed here not to have to go back to Queenstown. For the town sake I hope there is a better place.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2008

This is by far the worst stay of our three week trip around NZ. It was clean, central and with plenty of parking directly outside the room. However, it was very dated and the kettle was broken, this being the only appliance we ever seem to use! We also got very bitten by sandflies, but this is a hazard of the location.

When we checked in, we were encouraged to book for the restaurant, but there is no need if you want this. There were many great places in town, only a small walk away.

It is hard to say more: it was ok, and as you will probably be visiting Milford Sound and the glow-worms there was not a lot of time spent in the room. I've seen worse, I've seen better.

  • Liked — Free parking(?)
  • Disliked — It just wasn't great, all round.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2007

We found this hotel's website and were interested in possibly staying there. So we used their inquiry form to see whether a room was available and for what price. At the end of the form they provide for contacting them, it asks for your credit card info. Being trusting individuals, and since we thought we were just making an inquiry, we provided it.

They contacted us back saying they had availability but not stating that we were now booked! Since we often contact hotels to ask the same kind of questions, we had no idea we were booked after just making such an inquiry. Since we were able to find another hotel that had much better reviews, we thought no further action was necessary on their offer of availability. Little did we know they would charge us over $110 (US) for making that inquiry.

When we contacted them after the charge appeared, they were quite cold-hearted and refused to give us a refund, in spite of the fact that their website form said the form we used for asking about availabilty was a contact form for making an inquiry. And in a follow-up to them, they said no one could respond for 3 weeks since the mgr. was on vacation. Even after that, they still did not
respond. So, be warned that this hotel's management is bad and unconcerned about customer issues, and that their website contact form can trap you into being booked without your knowing it.

  • Stayed January 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2007

Its fine for a few nights, yes it is old fashioned but you are in what seems to be the back of beyond so maybe uba-trendy hotels are still heading south. Big bedrooms, although my "wheeled" bed moved a few times during the night, mini bar cheap, bathroom bright if not pink with seperate toilet, clean, had a great meal in the the hotel which seemed packed with American tourists, a great wine list provided in the bar. Honestly its fine for a short stay, I would go back.

  • Liked — Clean, good value
  • Disliked — Staff concentrating to much on coach tour, seemed to forget about us
  • Tips/Secrets — Mini bar is cheap, hotel rest is very good
  • Stayed March 2005, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2006

Quite a poor standard of accommodation for the price:
- Our front door kept opening by itself
- The bedsheets smelt like they were old and were quite worn
- The cooking and dining facilities were from the 70's
- And lastly, the room rate included breakfast, and guess it of one and a half - not even completely 2 - pieces of toast and a cup of filtered coffee. After I complained, the waitress brought out other guests' breakfast who came in after us and also gave me the wrong order.
However, there was plenty of parking available within the hotel premises.
The "village" theme is well worth the visit for a "happy snap" if nothing else.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, new york
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2006

most of the units are quite old, and worn. Old pink velour chairs, old bathroom fixtures, worn rugs, aged furniture. If this is your idea of a holiday, this is your kind of place. It appeared that fodors recomendation was in error. Staff manager was not fun to deal with as hotels deficencies were noted. I think many hotels in town would be a better choice.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn Hotel

Address: Mokoroa Street | P.O. Box 195, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern and unique hotel creates a feeling of 'stepping back in time' with its carefully recreated Pioneer Village facades and is within walking distance of the lake shore and town centre. Options include studio rooms, deluxe rooms, family units with kitchens and inter-connecting rooms, a disabled access unit and luxury penthouse honeymoon suite complete with spa bath and stereo system. There is also a laundry room for guest use, restaurant and bar and ample car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Village Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel Te Anau
Village Inn Hotel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.