We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of YHA Te Anau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added YHA Te Anau to your Saves list
YHA Te Anau
4.5 of 5 Hostel   |   29 Mokonui Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
Maffra, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Great place to base yourself. From here you can do day trips to Doubtful and Milford sound, Plus a lot of great hikes. I stayed in a four bed dorms. its a nice sized room. Walls quite thin but with ear plugs I got a great sleeps. Great kitchen, lounge, drying room and t.v room.

Did have a problem with one of the washing machine. After a couple of days hiking was looking forward to clean clothes. But after a cycle my clothes come out smelling of oil and with oil spots. Showed staff, but they were not too concerned and asked if I had oil in my pocket that I forgot to take out(dont often carry motor oil in my pockets). After washing clothes again in other machine at my own cost, got most of the spots and smell out. Guessing a seal in the machine had leaked.

Would stay there again

Room Tip: I stayed in 4 bed dorm on bottom floor. 2 rooms from t.v room, was ok. Wouldnt be happy sharing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    54
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
41
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Perfectly situated, great value, very clean, super helpful, big well equipped kitchen perfect for cooking a massive post tramp/hike feast while sharing your experiences with other intrepid adventurers!

They even went to the trouble of posting my Scarpa hiking boots I left there back to Australia for me which I never dreamt they would have time to do. How generous! I'm so grateful! Thank you thank you thank!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed in a share house next to the main hostel. Great value and very clean. We had our own room and just shared the main living area, kitchen and bathroom with another two people. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I stayed here in Te Anau as it's the best base to do a day-trip to Milford Sound. I also managed to fit in the glow worm caves close to town on the same day.

This YHA is perfectly situated in a quiet street close to the centre of the village and the lakefront. All of the communal areas and facilities are clean and functional, the staff were friendly and I found the 6-bed dorm to be comfortable and spacious enough for 6.

OK, they do have the dreaded bunk beds but somehow I was able to get a bottom bunk despite being the last to check-in. That said, the bed was comfortable enough for a good night's sleep.

I would happily recommend this hostel as a good option if staying in Te Anau, which is a pretty little village with some good bars & restaurants.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a total of three nights before and after completing the Kepler and Milford Tracks. Although the hostel is in a small town, it's fairly large which allowed people to spread out. The kitchen gets a little hectic around dinner time - but start early (which we learned!) and you'll have the place to yourself!
The staff were all very friendly - even when we called in from the Kepler and came in a day early.
There is a great laundry room and even better - a lot of storage space to leave your stuff while you're out hiking. They provide open storage as well as lockers you can pay to use.
We stayed in two different rooms - #11 and #5, both were super clean and quiet!
Overall, a great hostel and place to relax before and after trekking!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We loved this hostel as it is super clean. The beds feel like king singles. The kitchen is terrific. The deck area is so nice to eat at. We will come back here. Only bad part was a lack of things to do back in town really.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We are a family of 4 so the room in the 'cottage' was very small for us, however, next door we had a separate building with showers, toilets & a kitchen (no stove) & dining table (with little TV) that was for the 4 cottage rooms only. Great facilities in the main house with full kitchen, dining area, lounge and separate TV lounge. Nice outside tables for the short time that the sun showed up.
Only suggestion is that as separate cottage facilities include a limited hot water supply so shower early, or go to the main house.
For the hostel I'd suggest a little shelter between the cottage & facilities as we got soaked every time we stepped out.
Thanks for finding my camera & ringing so promptly so we could still come back & pick it up.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Te Anau

Address: 29 Mokonui Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — YHA Te Anau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the edge of the Fiordland National Park, YHA Te Anau is the perfect location to access some of the world famous New Zealand tramps. This Qualmark 4+ star rated hostel will impress you with its homely atmosphere and cosy accommodation just a block from the shores of Lake Te Anau. Our lounge has a fireplace and offers plenty of couch space to sink into with a book or while watching one of our free movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your YHA Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Te Anau Hotel Te Anau
YHA Te Anau Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Te Anau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.