We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Routeburn Track

Routeburn Track
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 26 Activities in Te Anau
Type: Hiking Trails, Sports
Activities: Hiking
Attraction details
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The Routeburn track was absolutely amazing. It had the most spectacular views of the mountains around it and it was well worth the effort. I definitely recommend doing all the side trips as they all give you amazing views. The cabins are all very well maintained by the dedicated and every entertaining rangers, with heaps of bunks, good bathroom facilities and a big communal kitchen area which is a great place to meet new people. The Routeburn falls hut is in my opinion, the best hut on the track because of its great layout and its location ( close to the falls which are a nice place to relax and maybe go for a swim). Definitely one MUST DO hike!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    21
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best walk in NZ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Amazing track, well maintained and fantastic experience. We took the entire family including 7 year old - no problems. Makes walking easy and the scenery is simply the best (even in the poor weather we had). Do it (and book early).

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Spectacular - just do it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

There have been so many good reviews that it's difficult to add more but here's a few things:

There seemed to be no consensus as to whether Routeburn Shelter to Divide Shelter or the other way around is better - they are different and have their own pros and cons. Also there seemed to be little to choose in popularity between the Milford, Routeburn and Kepler tracks - they are just different. For us the appeal of the Routeburn was the balance of time spent at low rainforest level and in Alpine/mountain environments and the waterfalls.

It doesn't take long to get from the Routeburn Shelter (East end of track) to the Flats/Falls Huts so if you're fairly fit, you can choose to skip both and walk directly to/from Lake Mackenzie hut and make it a 2 day trip. There are several side walks also worth considering especially Conical hill & Key Summit.

Whatever the weather, just do it! The numerous large and spectacular waterfalls are even bigger and joined by more on rainy days to offset the softer going under foot.

But don't forget the earplugs!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Simply spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Best great walk on the South Island. I think it is better than the Milford Track, that is if you like mountains vs jungle.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, CA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Truely a "Great" walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We did this track in mid-November and had stunning weather (which we kept hearing was quite rare) long, warm, sunny days and breath taking views (in more ways than one). This track has it all, a bit of bush walking, alpine views, waterfalls, lake, glaciated valleys...highly recommended. Moderate fitness level required, you have all day, take your time and enjoy the views as often as necessary.

I decided to do this track west to east and would recommend this direction even though the reverse seems to be the more popular route. Seems like the views would be more behind you were you to go E to W - but either way you won't be disappointed. We stayed at the MacKenzie hut the first night, which was literally shoulder to shoulder sleeping arrangements - TAKE EAR PLUGS. I could see the advantage of camping, but the convenience of the huts and associated cooking facilities is nice, especially if you aren't blessed with great weather - and you really should plan on rain - we got lucky on this tramp, but we definitely had our share of rainy weather during our stay. Drop your pack and do Conical Hill when you hit the Harris Saddle. Totally worth the effort and we were escorted by Kea who followed us as we stirred up grasshoppers and other bugs for them to eat as we walked. Pretty cool. Coming down from the saddle was a knee jarring experience, if you have bad knees it may be a bit more forgiving doing this route E to W (?) Our second night was at the Falls hut - bunk sleeping arrangements and a beautifully laid out common kitchen/dining area. The following day is a super easy walk out - we used Trackhopper to have our vehicle shifted so it was waiting four us at the end of our hike. The service is run by a husband and wife couple, Mike and Kiyomi - both passionate about the New Zealand environment and full of enthusiasm - just super nice folks. And it beats having to get there on time to take the 4 hour bus ride back to your vehicle - it was nice to have our change of clothes and food and amenities of our campervan waiting for us.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Routeburn Track also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Routeburn Track? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Routeburn Track, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.