We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fiordland Cruises is the way to go!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubtful Sound

Doubtful Sound
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Visit Doubtful Sound like an insider
Special Offer
$258*
and up
Queenstown Super Saver: Doubtful Sound Cruise...
Ranked #2 of 30 things to do in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Kayaking, Viewing wildlife
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Attraction details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fiordland Cruises is the way to go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I took my partner on a surprise birthday overnight cruise in November, the MV Southern Secret is a beautiful vessel, the staff were incredible, John and Heather, we went fishing and caught our entree and we met some fabulous people, the small group size and the small boat made this experience a must do, you get so much closer to everything, and you are not with a whole lot of strangers, you quickly make friends with who is on your cruise with you, the food was great, we had blue cod and crayfish first followed by roast lamb then pudding, the room's are lovely with your own bathroom's (shower and toilet) all linen provided all you need is an overnight bag, and take your own drink if you wish, snacks were available at all times and friendly advise
I would highly rate this trip as a must do in Fiordland

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    715
    102
    35
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Doubtful Sound is one of the most beautiful and unspoiled places I have visited. We chose to do an overnight cruise with Fiordland Expeditions and had a wonderful experience. Going on a smaller boat meant we were able to get up close to the wildlife, and had some choices about where we went. There are so many arms to explore, you could spend several happy days here! We saw penguins, a seal and dolphins, fished, ate delicious fresh crayfish for dinner, kayaked in the peace of the early evening, and learned about the history of the sound. Maria and Sean were awesome hosts, and really made the experience a special one. HIghly recommended.

A warning though, the sandflies can be menacing!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We did an overnight cruise with one of the smaller companies, just 8 of us aboard. We could kayak, swim and fish and could have dived as well but didn't. Fresh lobster caught by the skipper who dived overboard to collect them and fish we had caught ourselves all beautifully cooked by Nui as part of a four course feast. The weather is usually cloudy/wet in Fiordland but this didn't distract at all from the grandeur and atmosphere of the place. Don't forget your sandfly repellent though!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiordland E, Owner at Doubtful Sound, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thanks for the kind comments. We allways try to do our best at here Fiordland Expeditions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Doubtful Sound must be seen (and heard and tasted) to be believed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

You hear all the time how wild and natural New Zealand is, then you go to a place like Doubtful Sound and you see it and feel it. First trip was rainy and misty and spectacular. Second trip was sunny and scenic and spectacular. Third trip started sunny, went misty and mysterious, then snow on the Wilmot Pass. Only one word to describe it... Spectacular. The total immersion of your senses in this place is a lifetime "must do". You come away exhausted at the end of the day, even though you spend most of it sitting and looking at the scenery.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

We weren't sure to go and do the doubtful trip as the price is steep at a 235$ a person. I'm glad however that we did. The crew on bus and boat are nice and you don't get the feeling that they rush you in and out for to make quick money.

The sounds itself are one of a kind. Super impressive nature and we encountered dolphins and rare penguins. At one point everyone is asked to remain silent and all the engines are turned off. It is a rare occasion that you can enjoy the sound of nature and nothing but that, no planes no other boats, nothing. I'd definitely go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doubtful Sound also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Doubtful Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubtful Sound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.