We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doubtful Sound overnight with Real Journeys” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubtful Sound

Doubtful Sound
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Visit Doubtful Sound like an insider
Special Offer
$258*
and up
Queenstown Super Saver: Doubtful Sound Cruise...
Ranked #2 of 30 things to do in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Kayaking, Viewing wildlife
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Attraction details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
The Cairngorms, Scotland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Doubtful Sound overnight with Real Journeys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012
Pending review

We were fortunate to have excellent sunshine for the first day, so that the initial 'ferry' over Lake Manapouri was a cruise in itself - Doubtful Sound has this major difference from Milford, that it's approached over water rather than a lengthy road. At Doubtful Sound itself, all ran very smoothy - a well designed small vessel, lots of viewing space (and room inside if needed), a relatively small max number of passengers (70 - but we were 57 in all); and a truly excellent 'crew' to provide wild life commentary, kayaking, personal attention and a very fine evening meal. We saw NZ fur seals (sealions), penguins and dolphins: and tremendous scenery. Note that all must be up by 7.30am the next morning to allow the ship to turn round. We had a double cabin with its own wc and shower - two comfortable beds not bunks. We tend to think that Real Journeys is a somewhat large business and may be loosing a persona touch, but their Doubtful Sound overnight was a highlight of our NZ holiday - very warmly recommended.

Visited November 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    714
    102
    35
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic, wonderful, beautiful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is a superb day out. The scenery is simply magnificent and the boat crew were absolutely charming and professional, answering all our various questions with ease.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinthepond
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Spent a whole day doing Milford and Doubtful Sounds Simply Amazing. What an experience New Zealand is certainly a place not to be missed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had the good luck to book a Real Journeys overnight cruise on Doubtful Sound. It was an outstanding experience and we enjoyed every moment of our time on board. The scenery is spectacular. We had both sun and rain and to be honest the scenery is just as attractive in either weather. The accomodation was a little small but had everything you need and was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The food, produced from a small galley was varied and of a very high quality. The crew could not have been more helpful and carried out their tasks with a smile and great courtesy. I especially enjoyed the kayaking. To be in such a place in such a small boat is awe inspiring. Having spent some time touring NZ I would rate this as a 'Must Do'.
Many thanks to the skipper and crew.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fiordland Cruises”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Nga mihi nui ki te whanau o Fiordland Cruises!! A big thank you to the staff at Fiordland Cruises! This trip is the highlight of my time spent in Te Anau! The views are simply majestic! The friendly staff and experienced skipper made the journey a success. Their knowledge and experience enabled us to see pods of dolphins and experience up-close encounters of seals and penguins. One of the most spectacular opportunities is catching the most delicious fish I have ever tasted, known as the Blue Cod, caught fresh by us then cooked for dinner 30 minutes later, I must mention that was the main as the entre was freshly caught succulent Crayfish cooked in the most divine way! One crucial (un-regrettable) decision that made my mind up about booking this trip is that it only holds a comfortable 12 people; this creates the perfect personal atmosphere where you are able to get to know each other. If I ever do any cruise again I will definitely book with Fiordland Cruises.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doubtful Sound also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Doubtful Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubtful Sound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.