We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday feeling!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers to your Saves list
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   48 - 50 Lakefront Dr, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
Franz Josef, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Holiday feeling!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We just wanted to stay for two nights but we had to extend because we liked that place so much. Our four bed room had an own bathroom, kitchen and normal beds (no bunks, which is quite luxurious as a backpacker^^). The hostel was clean and safe and the managers offered many activities to do in Fiordland. Not to mention the stunning view on the lake when you just take a look out of the window!
You will definitely enjoy staying at this hostel!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thanks for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that all was to your satisfaction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    18
    10
    6
See reviews for
4
29
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Te Anau lakefront backpackers was a pretty average experience. It wasn't bad. We had a private double room with shared ensuite and kitchenette. It was decent value but nothing special. Tiny room. To get to the main kitchen you had a 100-200m walk outside to get there. Staff were quite nice and accommodating though.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Many of the rooms have their own kitchenette (as you have described ) and for the others there is a short walk to one of the two communal kitchens. We are pleased the staff were accommodating to your needs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

An average backpackers with shocking wifi, cardboard beds and average facilities.

Nothing that was "shocking" but overall just a forgettable backpackers.

I wouldn't really recommend it but there's bugger all else in the town so it's slim pickings.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
We were disappointed you found the property " forgettable"
Te Anau has in excess of 3000 beds including Holiday Parks, Backpackers, Motels and Hotels, so hardly "slim pickings" for accommodation choices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here on two occasions and had a great time. The staff were really friendly and were very welcoming. The kitchen was a large area and catered for several people making a meal at one time. There is a small room dedicated for the TV and a seperate room for computers. The hostel gives wifi but the connection is very slow. The hostel is located 5 minutes from town and has a great view from the front, overlooking the lake. Overal great stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for the feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Within a 5 minute walk of the towns centre opposite a stunning lake that offered great views. On the two occasions we stayed there we couldn't fault the friendliness of the staff or the cleanliness of the hostel. The kitchen was a large size that meant making a meal easy and with your own space. The only downside was the internet for the two hours we were given free on arrival (1 hour per person) we spent 30 minutes trying to log on due to everyone being on it at one time but that is no fault of the staff. Overall a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thankyou for your feedback.
We shall continue to work with our service provider to speed up internet service for our customers. Very frustrating I know !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Small common kitchen, cutlery lacking few cups few tea spoons ....cleanliness so so ....internet very very slow ...working only near the office ...staff not particularly helpful .... We stayed there only one night but were happy to leave .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thankyou for your feedback after your recent stay. We have 2 large communal kitchens which are well stocked with utensils. You may have stayed in a share room with Kitchen facilities included ? We checked all these after your review, and replaced a few items.
The internet is slow on occasion because of our remote location and the number of users on the property. We are working on speeding up the service for our customers with our provider .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Quite possibly one of the best backpackers I've stayed in in New Zealand. Ideally located on the foreshore of Lake Te Anau and within easy walking distance from the town centre and the Inter-City bus stop, Te Anau Lakefront backpackers is warm, comfortable, relaxed and spotlessly clean. I opted for a 4-bed dorm and was pleasantly surprised to find that it was far larger than average with its own ensuite washroom and shower. There's also a useful fridge for the sole use of the dorm's occupants. The range of cookers and ovens is more than adequate and the fully fitted kitchen is as good as you will find anywhere. Professionally managed, immaculately manicured lawns and a lake view, this one goes to a 10.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thankyou for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your satisfaction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers

Address: 48 - 50 Lakefront Dr, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers is the only backpackers located on the lakefront, a stones throw from Lake Te Anau. Located just 300 metres walk from the Glowworm Caves and the top of the Te Anau town Centre.At Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers you will find a well maintained, clean and warm backpackers accommodation lodge to base yourself whilst you explore the Fiords, Tracks, Caves, Lakes and Scenery of Fiordland National Park.We provide ensuites, double, single, twin, quad and share rooms all with fresh linen and duvets on the beds. Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers is only a few minutes walk to the Te Anau village centre where you will find a good selection of supermarkets, cafes, bars, Restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.