We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Customer Service in NZ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakefront Lodge

Save Saved
You added Lakefront Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lakefront Lodge
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   58 Lakefront Dr, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 hotels in Te Anau
Adelaide
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Customer Service in NZ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

This place wasn't 5 star, but the service and location sure made up for that.

We were happy with out 1 bedroom room with a spa bath. It was clean and tidy - albeit 90s decor.

Robin the manager was fantastic. He went out of his way to help us with tour bookings and confirmations and was very approachable. He made our stay very memorable.

He provided recommendations for eateries, which we took him up on and were not disappointed.

Would definitely recommend and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    36
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
49
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

We are on our fifth hotel in the South Island of New Zealand in the last 10 days, and this was the worst value for money that we we have encountered. Perhaps all hotels in Te Anau are expensive because of their proximity to the Sounds - I am not sure. The staff were friendly and helpful, and this hotel is well located. For a family of four, it was a bit small- basically, we could not all open our bags at once and have any room to move around - and the kids had to sleep in the living room. The rooms had been recently upgraded and superficially were very clean and quite well equipped. Three of us suffer from dust allergies and found the room unbearably dusty due to the presence of an ancient sofa containing a pull out bed which had obviously not been thoroughly cleaned for years. Also, the living room window fronts on to a street so unless all the blinds are closed the family is on show at all times. To be fair, one advantage of the window was that the room was wonderfully warm on returning from the cold windy afternoons. The room was not well insulated so the cold drafts kept me awake at night. I am being fussy i know but staying here was not relaxing and we basically tried to stay out of the room as much as possible as it was not comfortable to hang out in - more a place to sleep only. Definately not as fresh and clean and spacious for the money as other hotels we have stayed at in other cities on the South Island.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

We researched many places in Te Anau and ended up chosing Lakefront Lodge. It could not have been more perfect for us. Location is lovely on the edge of the lake however rooms do not have a lake view. Dont let this put you off though as it was an ideal base for us.The rooms were lovely and immaculate and had everything you could possibly need.
The lady on reception - I think it may have been Adrienne was extremely helpful and booked various trips for us too. Glow-worms and Milford Sound were the two we did and well worthwhile.

If we ever come back to Te Anau we would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

You really need to look behind the façade of the name to appreciate what’s on offer at Lakefront Lodge. I chose this motel from a quick search of the internet and the ever present accommodation guides, available wherever you go in New Zealand. I made the mistake of looking at the many names and the many pictures and then assuming that they all had similar positions facing Lake Te Anau.

Lakefront Lodge may have the owner’s accommodation directly facing the lake, but none of the accommodation does. It all faces directly on to the street – there’s no view for you, but there’s a great view for everyone else walking past as they look directly through your window into your lounge or bedroom.

So if you want the view of the lake, which is amazingly spectacular, from your room, then don’t stay here. There are many others which do offer that amazing sight. In fairness, the Lodge’s publicity doesn’t claim lake views, and its photos are genuine, which on very close examination do hint at the lack of view. It’s really all in that name.

Enough about that name. The units have all recently been constructed and are still in excellent condition. They are immaculately clean and have everything you need for a good night’s sleep. The quality of the furniture and fittings is of an appropriate standard; the bed is supremely comfortable; and our unit had a very large, easy to use bathroom with big, fluffy towels.

Reception was efficient, friendly and helpful. Going into Autumn we had to rely on a very inadequate heater – shame the night storage heaters had not yet been switched on. The wireless internet was very efficient with good performance – but so expensive NZD10.00 for 2 hours. Why does the mark-up on this type of service have to be so high??

In summary. Good standard for a motel if all you want is a place for a restful night and a good scrub up, in the shower, in the morning. If you want that view of Lake Te Anau – then try somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

Excellent apartments close to the main area of Te Anau, restaurants shops etc, just a couple of minutes walk away.
Loveley clean and comfortable apartment with all appropriate facilities, would love to return

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2008

THis is a fantastic hotel. The rooms are large with sitting area, comphy bed, heating, electric beds, toaster, kettle, bar fridge, kitchen sink etc.
The bathrooms are larger and extremely clean with a fantastic shower.
The staff are fantastic - very helpful and friendly. On arrival I was given a selection of discount vouchers for restauraunts and sights.
It is technically not on the lake front as it is up a side street. From out the front of the rooms (where there is outdoor furniture you can look down to the lake.

  • Liked — celan room and staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE England
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

We had a one bedroom unit which had quality furniture etc. This included an excellent large lounge area which had very comfortable seating. The kitchen area was well equipped, including, for example, a really sharp vegetable knife (how rare is that). Each room has an outside bench with an integral table looking out onto a side road, but if you look left you can see the lake. This outside area gets the evening sun, and could do with some shade, but we were told umbrellas are about to be provided. Helpful reception.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lakefront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakefront Lodge

Address: 58 Lakefront Dr, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#6 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#12 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lakefront Lodge 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Units with a show of Luxury. Partial Lake and Mountain views. All units have kitchens. One Bedroom Double Spa Bath and Studio Units. Free Wireless Internet throughout.Continental Breakfast available. Only a 2min walk to town centre and restaurants.Tour Booking Desk. Luggage storeage for trampers. Free car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Lakefront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakefront Hotel Te Anau
Lakefront Lodge Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakefront Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.