We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Te Anau” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakefront Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lakefront Lodge to your Saves list
Lakefront Lodge
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   58 Lakefront Dr, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Te Anau”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Lakefront Lodge was a great place to stay whilst in Te Anau. Very disappointed because the Lodge is not actually on the lake front so don't expect to see the lake from your room! Apart from that the rooms are great. Staff very helpful and let us leave suitcases when we went on an overnight trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakefrontmotel, Owner at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your response. It is an on going problem we have with our name (inheriated)
Lakefront Lodge, we do our up most on all advertising to state that we are not direct lake facing and that only partial views of the lake can be seen from your unit. Beyond this I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope the rest of your trip was as enjoyable.
Kind Regards Dianne, David and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    51
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
38
87
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at the Lakefront Lodge because it was closest to Milford Sound. We could not have been more pleased with the accommodations. Very comfortable rooms, soft sheets/pillows, French press, great selection of teas, fresh milk, and everything was exceptionally clean. The staff was warm and friendly. I highly recommend this lodge to all!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakefrontmotel, Owner at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hi Tricia
We thank you for taking the time to us give your feed back regarding your stay with us.
Kind Regards Dianne, David and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed here in April, near the end of our trip. We stayed in Te Anau for its proximity to Milford Sound, though I have to say the town itself lacks the buzz of Wanaka but the area, as usual, is very beautiful.
Lakefront Lodge is well presented. The rooms are comfortable, of a high standard and well equipped and the laundry room is very handy too. The outside is very pretty with lots of flowers and the building itself looks new and well cared for and the reception staff are friendly. Yes it does face a side road, it is on the lake front but just not facing it! Slightly annoying but then we were out all day. The patio doors were jammed, the owner suggested there was a pebble in it and suggested we give it a good push, though we were reluctant to do this in case we broke it. Also, the bathroom is basically a wet room. Sometimes this works but in this case a shower cubicle would've been better as the floor got really wet; bit of a nuisance if you wanted to go in there afterwards once you were dressed. We didn't have a spa room but this place was still one of the pricier places of our trip. I'm glad we stayed in Te Anau and not in Queenstown to get to Milford though, as the locals are trying hard to keep their businesses going.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakefrontmotel, Owner at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your response. I am sorry about your issue with your door, those little pebbles have a lot to answer for. Our wet room can create an issue, but by law we are required to have this type of bathroom per so many units for the use by the disable. I am glad you agree that
Te Anau does need to be a place to stop over for those visiting Milford and Doubtful Sounds or for those just wanting to take the time to slow down and relax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our overall experience was a very high standard from our arrival to departure with great service local knowledge & the room was great & value for money was supplied. it was one of the best places i stayed at, in 20 other lower south island in april

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakefrontmotel, Owner at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We thankyou for taking the time to offer other potenial guests feed back on our property
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We found the staff very pleasant and helpful. The room was clean but outdated. The location was close to town but the rooms faced the road so there was not much privacy and having the curtains open felt exposed. We found the place rather expensive only because its about the same price as a much newer and nicer place in Queenstown. For this reason we would recommend staying in Queenstown and just taking a bus tour to Milford sound from there. That's what most people did. Also not much to do in Te Anau and the food options are not great.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakefrontmotel, Owner at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thanks for your review. Te Anau is a seasonal town and to be able to stay in business rates are set at peak times to make hay while the sun shine so to speak. Queenstown operates by a set of different rules, as winter is their busy time. If people wish to spend a day of their holiday to include 12 hours of travel then I guess an option is Queenstown / Milford Sound / Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The room was fine,bed pillows etc good. Reception was nice and helpful. As others have said the side street that all the windows and door opens onto can be very busy even early in the morning.
Having said that it didnt worry us. There is a nice table out the side where you can sit and have a drink or catch a glimpse of the lake. its walking distance through the park to the restaurants. There is a great deal of choice in the area so you might be able to find better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakefrontmotel, Owner at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thanks for your comments as noted we are looking into options to help with privacy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here two nights. Room was comfortable and well equipped though basic. All rooms front onto a road and although this is only a side road one felt a bit exposed as there were a large number of pedestrians passing at all hours. If you are sitting in your room or at the outside table this is not ideal. Very near the lake so good for facilities there, evening strolls etc.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakefrontmotel, Owner at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakefront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakefront Lodge

Address: 58 Lakefront Dr, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#2 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#5 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lakefront Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Units with a show of Luxury. Partial Lake and Mountain views. All units have kitchens. One Bedroom Double Spa Bath and Studio Units. Free Wireless Internet throughout.Continental Breakfast available. Only a 2min walk to town centre and restaurants.Tour Booking Desk. Luggage storeage for trampers. Free car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lakefront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakefront Hotel Te Anau
Lakefront Lodge Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakefront Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.