We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better options available in Te Anau” 2 of 5 stars
Review of ASURE Amber Court Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added ASURE Amber Court Motel to your Saves list
ASURE Amber Court Motel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Much better options available in Te Anau”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Sometimes you come across a hotel or motel in TripAdvisor that seems to be rated much higher than it deserves. Amber Court Motel is one of those. While the motel is tidy and clean, and the room I stayed in was spacious, the facility is quite dated and there is nothing fancy or modern about it. The rooms feel like they were designed in the 60s (and average even then) and while kept clean and in good repair, haven't really been updated. The bathroom had linoleum on the walls and floors and did not have a modern toilet, shower, tub, or sink. The bedroom was very basic and didn't even have a real closet. The room did have a nice new flatscreen TV. The beds were too soft and all night long there was a tree branch or something banging on the outside wall which kept me awake.

One very nice touch was that the management gave me 2 free hours of wifi use.

There are a lot of motels and B&Bs in Te Anau, if you're looking for a nice place to stay, with amenities that make you feel a bit pampered, I'd suggest looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    71
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
50
98
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

The motel is perfectly fine, all clean and tidy. It's main selling point is the lovely lady owner (?) who was extremely natural, friendly and helpful. She made us feel very at home.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

We booked this motel based on the good reviews. We were not disappointed. The motel is value for money and initial looks can be deceptive. It is in a quiet location about 10 - 15 minutes walking time from the main shopping area and not far from the lakefront. The rooms have been refurbished and is modern, comfortable and has reasonable sized rooms. It is a perfect spot to use as a base for Milford and Doubtful Sounds and we would have been happy to stay longer. The motel has washing machine, dryer and internet, free bbq, and helpful owners. We travelled with friends and were able to have our meals in the immaculate garden at the front of our units.The glow worm cave trip is recommended. We also organised to travel to Milford with the Naked Bus company, with pick up in the town centre.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights on way to and back from milford sound. The lady at front desk was nice and courteous (cannot say that about the gentleman who was quite surly and unhelpful). The rooms are very average. The major problem with some of the rooms is lack of a shower curtain in the bathroom which results in the entire bathroom getting very wet when anyone use the shower. Unfortunately for us our son slipped and fell as a result of this. Also there is hardly any water pressure in the shower. The motel itself is a good 15mins walk into town. MIlford was great. After seeing Milford we wished we had set aside another day to visit doubtful sound as well.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grassington, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

We have now stayed at 3 motels in NZ and so far this has been the best- no contest and some of the others were higher rated by Qualmark and more expensive! Very clean, recently refurbished. It was comfortable, well equipped with everything one needs. Free internet. Quiet location and we would have been happy to spend all week there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melb, australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

The owners at this motel can't do enough to assist . We found them to be really friendly and helpful.
Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

We came in at the end of a long day for a two night stay. The kids had spent the entire day killing each other in the car, so I was feeling pretty gloomy, and the outside of the motel looked OK but not great. It was a really pleasant surprise to be shown to a very nice 3 bedroom house with two modern bathrooms, and separate toilet - heaters, heated towel rails, comfortable beds, fridge and freezer, dishwasher, nice kitchen, internal laundry and decent coffee. My 12 year old was thrilled to discover a backyard to run around in and a lovely old dog to talk to. The boys were thrilled to discover a spa bath they could collapse into. I was thrilled to discover the laundry to wash our filthy clothes and enough space that I could get away from the kids for a while and have a quiet drink...
Craig the host was helpful and it was just a godsend to have somewhere quiet and private to have a decent sleep before launching out at the crack of dawn for the next leg of our wonderful but far from restful holiday. This would have been the best place we stayed at in New Zealand South Island.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ASURE Amber Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Amber Court Motel

Address: 68 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Te Anau
#2 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#3 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ASURE Amber Court Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ASURE Amber Court Motel is a modern, recently refurbished 4 star motel conveniently located in Te Anau, the Gateway to Fiordland,New Zealand. ASURE Amber Court Motel is ideal for those planning to visit Milford Sound, Doubtful Sound, the Te Anau Glowworm Caves or the numerous world renowned walking tracks and other local sights in Fiordland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your ASURE Amber Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Court Hotel
ASURE Amber Court Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ASURE Amber Court Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.