We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and fine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

Save Saved
You added Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 24 hotels in Te Anau
Queenstown, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

For a 3 star + hotel on the lake shore of Te Anau this was an OK place to stay for the night for business. The bedroom size was OK, beds could do with being upgraded, having said that I slept well and didn't get a sore back. Bathroom had been renovated. Needs a new TV as old square shape doesn't get the whole picture anymore. Had breakfast here which was fine, nothing exceptional. Had soy milk which was good for me!

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. Pleased to read in general you enjoyed your stay. I am waiting on the delivery of our flat screen TV's/


Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    82
    65
    17
    13
See reviews for
30
125
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Zeeland, Michigan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed two nights and enjoyed the large room with a very good heater. The staff was pleasant and offered us 20 min of free wifi each day in the lobby area. It was a good value and is directly across the street from Lake Te Anau, which is a nice view.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff pleasant.


Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The hotel is a bit of a walk from the Main Street, but the walk is easy and flat, and along the lake shore. The room was basic but had everything I needed and was a good size. There is no lift but the reception staff were insistent in helping me with my one bag up the stairs!! Nice touch! I was a bit disappointed with the breakfasts and preferred to go into Te Anau. The hotel seemed to be used by touring coach companies, so at times there were fair numbers of people all trying to use the 20 mins of free WiFi in the lobby area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, your feedback is much appreciated.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your 10 minute walk along the lake shore to the main centre.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawera, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at the Kingsgate based on someone we knew recommending it. The hotel was on the water and the staff at the front desk were super helpful and went out of their way. It wasn't too busy but we really felt like they appreciate their customers. The hotel is a bit older, as were the rooms, but it had everything you'd need - a wee fridge, TV (not big, great for not being tempted to stay in the room) a bathroom, little sofa and table and chair. It was a fair size and clean. We went to the buffet in the hotel for breakfast and showed up about 15 minutes before they were supposed to pack it up, so thought we'd check it out and if most of the food was gone we'd go somewhere else. When we got there, the place was pristine and ALL of the food was out. Because of the winter/slow season, nobody came! The chef was super nice and we had a huge feed. He didn't rush us at all and was friendly, talkative but also gave us our privacy. It was one of the best breakfast buffets we've had, definitely the best brekky on our trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your positive review regarding your recent stay and it was very much appreciated. I will have pleasure passing on your comments to the staff.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This accommodation is just our cup of tea. No high rise buildings so no lifts to cope with, just great wide short staircase. Easy to find rooms. The rooms are not too hot as many hotel rooms are. You can open the windows at night and get fresh air into the bedroom. The bathroom is just right with a bath and shower. The bed configuration is good with a single and double bed. There is plenty of space and a table and 2 comfy chairs.
Breakfast was perfect with a good choice of food and good service. The evening meal was good with tasty, well presented food for a fair price. good wine from a new bottle. Too often in pubs and hotels, we get wine from a bottle that was opened a day or 2 ago. Staff were friendly and helpful. Full marks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, it was very much appreciated and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Having read the mediocre reviews, I was expecting something quite drab. At 89 dollars a night (internet discount rate...not high season), we were very pleased with our stay. The room was cozy and the updated bathroom appreciated and the beds comfortable. Bathroom floor needed better cleaning...but aside from that we were pleasantly surprised. Staff was very friendly and we enjoyed the roast lamb special on Thursday nights. We did not have a view, but we didn't pay for one, nor did we need one as we were out and about IN the view all day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased to read that you had a comfortable stay, you found the staff friendly and enjoyed your roast dinner.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The hotel is located overlooking the beautiful Te Anau lake. The room was nice and comfortable but without any view of the lake. The staff at the reception was nice and allowed us an early check-in. The Real Journey's booking office for the Glow Worm's tour is just 10 mins walk. Value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you had a comfortable stay and you found the Reception staff to be adaptable to your needs.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

Also Known As:
Kingsgate Te Anau
Te Anau Kingsgate Hotel
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau Fiordland
Address: 20 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Fiordland > Te Anau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel Complex located on the shore of Te Anau Lake, within walking distance of shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.