We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau to your Saves list
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Located right on the water, with a perfect view of the bay and Islands. The rooms are of a very high standard, and recently renovated. Staff are friendly and helpful. Got a great standby rate. Breakfast was included with the room rate, and the food was excellent. Just a short walk to the shops and cafes, and just across the road to jump on one of the great tours of the Islands.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice, recently renovated. Staff are very friendly, and helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us while you were on holiday in Te Anau.
It is great to read that you enjoyed your experience with us and that the staff were helpful and friendly.

Kind Regards

Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    91
    76
    18
    14
See reviews for
35
135
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tuatapere, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

As a local (Tuatapere) I don't really have the need to be staying overnight in Te Anau, however the Kingsgate is great value for money and the staff are super friendly and have a great sense of humour as well. The beds were very comfortable and rooms were lovely and warm.
The breakfast buffet was plentiful and also great value for money. I most certainly will be staying here again, thanks Kingsgate!
Just a suggestion if I may, a great addition to the Kingsgate would be spa pool :o)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel with your friends.
It was a pleasure reading that you enjoyed your stay with us and will forward your postive comments onto the staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I went to this place last month in sept... The rooms were very clean and lake facing.. Had a relaxed time. and the morning breakfast buffet was simply wow.. loved the taste... Thanks for such warm reception. also not to forget the view of spectacular snow capped mountains was breathtaking

Room Tip: Ask for a lake facing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us.
Your positive feedback is appreciated and glad you enjoyed your Breakfast and the view of the snowy mountains.

Kind Regards

Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The staff here was very nice and friendly. The only issue assoicated with the hotel was the facilities a bit old. Television was old. Night bulb didn't work but nobody to change when we left the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau.
Thank you for your kind words advising that the staff were very nice and friendly.
The TV's will be replaced in due course with flat sceens and I am sorry that we did not get a chance to replace the lightbulb during your stay.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for three nights venturing out each day. We drove to Milford Sound which has to be the most beautiful and awesome scenic drive in the world, we walked to Motorau Hut on the Kepler Track, a gentle scenic return walk and generally enjoyed the friendly and welcoming nature of those in restaurants and shops. The hotel is located in easy walking distance to the town and provides a very relaxed environment . The hotel staff are not only friendly but helpful in offering advice on local attractions. Our room was clean and provided to us a relaxed atmosphere. We definitely would stay in the hotel again,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay with us, your positive feedback is very much appreciated.
I was pleased to read that the staff were friendly and helpful and will pass on your kind words.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are visiting this area.

Kind Regards

Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed for one night. The front reception staff member was very friendly. The room was what I expected from the reviews I had read, serviceable. However there were some issues with the cleanliness of the bathroom and carpet in the room. Stray hairs in the bath/basin, another on the base for the electric jug. The carpet appeared not to have been properly vacuumed. These issues were rectified straight away once the front reception staff member had been notified. We received a complimentary drink voucher each (There were 3 of us) and a box of chocolates for our troubles.
I would stay again, as it was good value, our rate having included breakfast, however housekeeping needs to make sure guests standards of cleanliness are met/kept.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the hotel.
Disappointing to read that the standards of the housekeeping were not acceptable and thank you for giving us the opportunity to rectify the issue during your stay.
I will have pleasure in passing on your comments to the Frontline staff that you found them very friendly.

Kind Regards

Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Anau
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

would stay here again to do Milford Sound.Clean & close to town.Great walk along the lake just out the front.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel location suitable to your needs.

Kind regards

Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

Address: 20 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel Complex located on the shore of Te Anau Lake, within walking distance of shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Te Anau
Te Anau Kingsgate Hotel
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.