We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a dreadful place - don't go!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fiordland Hotel/Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fiordland Hotel/Motel to your Saves list
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   91 Luxmore Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Oamaru, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“It is a dreadful place - don't go!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

We, as in my husband, I and 2 friends from UK stayed in this accommodation
for 2 nights namely January 9th & 10th 2010.

As a NZer, I was appauled at the service and state of accommodation we
were given.

We were placed, by a distinctly uninterested unknowlagable and totally
bored receptionist in the ‘family accommodation’ in an annex to the
main hotel. We had no choice despite clear ‘Vacancy’ signage outside the property that we could not stay in the main building. yes, we did ask to after viewing the 'annex'
.
We were placed in “Quentin Drive’ in a unit of x 2 bedrooms, bathroom and rickety staircase that was a death trap – we are all well over 60 and to navigate the narrow no bar staircase was a lethal exercise.

I was ashamed to our friends of NZ tourism. A unit in Siberia would have had more
appeal. It was clean, yes, so all credit to the staff there.
.
HOWEVER, ambience.......hallo! No light shades for gods sake – naked bulbs hanging down and all paint work (black) chipped.

The building was straight brieze block painted white (chipped also) and the stairs entering the ‘appartment’ were a death trap as said before.

The standard of ‘holiday accomodation, service, misleading advertising etc., ‘ was totally misleading. There was no lake view – nor mountain view even.
A very dissatisfied customer.

We will not return and nor will we recommend Fiordland Hotels and Motels
Group.

Would actively NOT recommend.
What service?
Location? Why would this be recommended - even on a 0 rating?

Regards


Philippa Field

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    31
    37
    14
    11
See reviews for
15
49
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

When I checked in they couldn't find my booking from expedia - the first time this has ever happened to me. To their credit, they diligently looked to resolve the situation - it appeared they were quite booked and we had a three-night stay. So instead of a family room we were allocated to two rooms, which appeared fine. However on the second night, our rooms appeared to fill with the oil smell from the nearby heating furnace, which was quite unpleasant. We couldn't help but wonder whether these rooms were used as a last resort. The rooms were fine apart from this, but it did detract from our stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

I had read mixed reviews on this place, but decided to book a standard room. And the day before we were due to stay here were met a couple who said they had to move out of the motel because it was so bad, which made me think it was a bad decision to stay there.

I was quite satisfied with the accommodation. The room was on the small side, but reasonably modern and it was clean. We stayed on the second floor, and the shower pressure was fairly pathetic, but still functional.

The hotel itself is a little far from the centre of town, but still walkable.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

Hotel was reasonably clean/good size room for the price. The rooms were in need of modernisation though. Bathroom was appallingly old (70s). Some rooms were modernised (nice walk in showers) but we werent offered one of those even though the hotel didnt appear full in the least. Great location for a trip to Milford Sound. Hotel has various standards of accommodation from backpack to basic hotel giving a variety of guests. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

On arrival we were told that the heater in our room had been on all day for us.The radiator was however full of air so the room was freezing, my husband did manage to bleed the radiator with a nail file but this had little effect.We could not sleep at all due to the degree of coldness in our room and noone was available on reception after 19.30 p.m.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

We stayed in this hotel 2 years ago and it was the pits
The new management that they have now has changed this place to a very satifying stay in deed.
Loved the new hotel rooms you have refurbished and with the plans that you are upgrading the whole place is great.
Location and views are one of the best in Te Anau.

Thankyou to all the wonderfull staff.

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

We stayed there recently, when visiting Milford Sound. It was a good value choice, with really friendly and helpful staff. I had read the other very old reviews and was a little worried – but it was fine; it was very good value for the money and would really suit couples/travellers. Apparently, this very large 100 room hotel has new owners who are in the process of refurbishing the whole place – there were new (extremely comfortable) beds in all rooms, which were also newly painted (see photos).

The rooms had a great view over the lake or fields, and the downstairs bar was directed in a cool 1960’s retro theme. Easy parking, right outside your room (and- if going overnight on a tour - they’ll let you park there and will keep your bags safe). There is also a small heated swimming pool, gym and 2 spa pools. Very good value for money, only a 5-10 minute walk along the lake into the centre of the tiny town. Would recommend for budget travellers or for people who are going to be out and about doing things - which is what you are on holiday to do!!

The room and complex were good – and great value for money (as the owner was a golfer, they even had golf clubs you could borrow to go and play at the neighbouring course – and would drive you there!). Apparently, they would also have ‘scooters’ for hire over the summer as well – a lot of effort was going in to doing up and making this hotel complex ‘fun’.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fiordland Hotel/Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland Hotel/Motel

Address: 91 Luxmore Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fiordland Hotel/Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fiordland Hotel/Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland Hotel/ Hotel Te Anau
Fiordland Hotel/Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fiordland Hotel/Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.