We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by it's cover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fiordland Hotel/Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fiordland Hotel/Motel to your Saves list
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   91 Luxmore Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
ft.lauderdale,florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by it's cover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I was a bit unsettled by the way ti looked from the outside(in need of some TLC),and when i walked in and saw the painted cinderblock walls in the hallway...I thought "I'll never sleep tonight"...But,I was happily surprised that the room was very clean(but small).the bed and pillows very nice,and the bathroom VERY clean, with a black sparkly sink and very clean shower. The price was very reasonable in high Season it was $110nt..
It just proves to you..that you can't judge by the outside.
The staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    31
    37
    14
    11
See reviews for
15
49
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We felt quite happy with what we had at this motel-type accommodation due mainly to:-
- highly convenient location to get around;
- fairly new facilities in the bath rooms;
- clean and comfortable bedding - we all had a sound sleep; and
- good value of the service received

The only thing we were not 100% satisfied with was our room upstairs and we had to carry our heavy luggage all the way upstairs. We were turned down when requesting for a downstairs room. However, we understood that the rooms downstairs were still available. We guess that this might be driven by its business operations. Otherwise, we couldn't figure out any other reason why we were declined.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay a night or two while carrying lots of luggage, you'd better to confirm wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This motel served its purpose for our two night stay. The studio unit we stayed in was to the rear of the main hotel in a one storey building. It was basic and very much in need of refurbishing. However it was clean and spacious. We booked two rooms and unfortunately these were not located in the same building which was a nuisance.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ningbo, China
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We probably surprised the motel by booking here since it was not high season. As some reviewer mentioned it is overpriced and not how it looks in the pictures.
The kitchen facilities are located in a room converted for the purpose on the ground floor. The rooms themselves are small and the location is not something desirable. I would choose something closer to the lake although that would possibly have been more expensive.
There was only on staff member on duty for the entire motel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gravatt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed here to be close for a boat trip the following day.
The price & photos gave an indication it would be okay for a night.
Oh my gosh! Smelly, damp and very very old & cold, even in December.
We were in a 2 bedroom self contained unit in the middle strip.#301.must not have been a renovated one, but that was not mentioned or reflected in the price.
Outside stunk like the coal boiler. Inside smelt mouldy & damp.
Bathroom door didn't shut.
Balcony door didn't open.
We had no view and it is the most remote hotel from town.
The pool was from the 60's.
It was over priced for its quality. Not sure which rooms the website photos are of, but picture bad 60's motel with a poor coat of paint over the mould and that's the reality.
Best bit was leaving!
Kids liked the trampoline after a long drive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014


Over priced basic budget motel at this time of the year.
We picked a higher priced Regency Room after reading the other reviews. There was no other accommodation available in Te Anau at this time.

Our higher priced room had no lake or mountain view (room 227) as it was on the back of the hotel on the car park side. Shower extremely slippery on first use even with rubber mat. Toilet didn't flush properly. No toaster in room. Shower temperature varied. Heating minimal. The restaurant and bar appeared to only be available to tours groups. TV reception poor and wifi overpriced. For the price of the room wifi should be free if charge.

The bed was comfortable and no rubber smell as our room overlooked the car park.

The place needs a complete refurbishment.
Will not come again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The delux room that we booked at this hotel was pretty standard. Was reasonably small but clean with a comfortable bed and nice bathroom. The rooms are not set up for making breakfast - they have tea and coffee supplied but no toaster (however there is a communal kitchen on the grounds). The balcony gives a small view of the lake and a great view of the mountains but is not big enough to sit out on.
The hotel is a wee bit out of town (approx 1km). It has a rest and a bar that were empty both nights we stayed. There is a great lounge with a large sun deck that the staff are happy for you to take your own drinks/snacks too. There are lots of games to keep you entertained (mini golf, darts, table tennis and pool). We didn't use the pool or the spa but they looked small and dated.
Staff were lovey and helpful and pointed out lots of good eateries.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fiordland Hotel/Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland Hotel/Motel

Address: 91 Luxmore Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fiordland Hotel/Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fiordland Hotel/Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland Hotel/ Hotel Te Anau
Fiordland Hotel/Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fiordland Hotel/Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.