We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value For Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fiordland Hotel/Motel

Save Saved
You added Fiordland Hotel/Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   91 Luxmore Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 24 hotels in Te Anau
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Value For Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in a room just a few metres away from the main complex. We had our own small kitchen area and balcony looking towards the lake & mountains. The bathroom area was a bit cramped and dated but for what we paid we can have no complaints. It was about a 10-15 minute walk to the main area for food etc. Overall very good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    28
    36
    13
    11
See reviews for
14
45
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

this place surprised me,after staying here years ago,it has been refitted etc and is awesome now and competes with all the rest in town,modern style rooms flat screen tvs good outlook from our room,was going to have breakfast her at $12.50 per person but e mail came back to say book now as breakfast very busy on a friday and it was $15,well i cancelled that as breakfasts in the town are around $10,from what i saw the breakfast was not even on on friday as only 2 lots in the whole complex,i know the road was shut but even so we not on a tour must be treated equally as we here on business and can be repeat business,great for a special deal

Room Tip: you must be keen on walking or have a car, a wee way from the town centre,need to check on restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Fiordland motel is not fancy and does need renovating, but it was clean and comfortable - ticked the boxes...
It's on outskirts of town, so a car is useful.
Great views over the mountains and close to the lake.
It's not somewhere to spend the day relaxing in the room / hotel, but for a base while travelling to Milford Sound or around Lake Te Anu it's ideal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed for one night - in the hotel section, where the room had obviously been recently refurbished and was clean with good quality bed linen - pretty basic facilities, but nothing even remotely similar to the last 2 reviews. The place was dead, about 6 cars total - the hotel public areas were clean but deserted. Don't stay here for any atmosphere - I stayed as the rate via a web booking site was tremendous value and I just needed a clean bed for the night.

Easy walk/ drive into town for a range of places to eat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This place was awful, it looked nothing like the pictures on the internet. I can not even begin to say how much I disliked this place. The room smelt bad, furniture very very old and the room looked dirty. I was so discusted I couldn't even go back and ask for our money back we walked out and went and stayed somewhere else.

I am no princess and dont mind roughing it a bit but this pushed me over the edge.

I would recomend driving straight past this place and not looking back.

Room Tip: A room not at this motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

What a nasty place this is.The owners have just let it go to the dogs and should just give up running this place.Very outdated rooms, sliding doors that take almost 2 people to open it and wake up everyone within earshot, to a bathroom fan that takes 20 minutes to turn off at night.The tv gets one channel and there is no cutlery or anything.The alarm clock was straight from 1979 that didn't work.The biggest gripe was the fact that they didn't clean our room over 4 days, their idea of cleaning was just pulling up the sheets, no new sheets or anything.Dirty cups that we used the day before still sat with the left over coffee in them for days.Absolute lazy amatuers here in this dive.They didn't even clean or wipe the benches or toilet.Never have I stayed in such a hole as this.Even if this was the last motel lefted in town, I would rather stay in my car than stay here.This place needs a bulldozer

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed in a studio with a kitchen. The room was fine..had a very old look. The bathroom & toilet were very small. Overall, it looked a little outdated. But it was one of the cheaper ones we stayed during our trip. It is fine for an overnight halt. The receptionist answered our questions but did not come forward with helpful information. We enquired about the milford sound cruise and she gave the price & timings. But did not tell us that the last cruise doesn't give the option to do the underwater observatory. It was too late by the time we got there & we missed it. We personally felt it could have been better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fiordland Hotel/Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland Hotel/Motel

Address: 91 Luxmore Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fiordland Hotel/Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Fiordland Hotel/Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland Hotel/ Hotel Te Anau
Fiordland Hotel/Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fiordland Hotel/Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.