We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fiordland Hotel/Motel

Save Saved
You added Fiordland Hotel/Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   91 Luxmore Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 24 hotels in Te Anau
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Basic hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Small room but clean and well appointed. Nothing special and certainly no views but perfectly adequate if you are on a budget. About a ten minute walk from the town centre but plenty of free parking . On main road out of town but still quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    28
    36
    13
    11
See reviews for
14
45
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Ok value stay with just few minutes walk from city. Stayed just one night and because of just a big amount of users in block we lost power during evening. Friendly and helpful staff. The pool area and one spa was under construction. Took a trip to glow worm caves and visited milford sound while staying in te anau. Would explore other hotels when coming back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

A large functional complex of hotel and motel units on the outskirts of town off the main road with plenty of space and parking. We stayed in the motel units which were clean and functional, with a nice grassy area outside for drinks in the sun! Staff were very friendly and minded our bags for us while we did the Kepler, and even dropping us to the track start and into town for dinner!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff, decent size rooms and great parking. There are laundry facilities, a bar, pool table etc. it is only a 10 minute walk from the town centre and a 2 minute drive to nearest petrol station.

You can hear doors being slammed at night and patio doors being shut which can be quite irritating if you are trying to get sleep.

All in all though a decent motel for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Initially I was a bit disappointed as I thought the place looked amazing and quite luxurious on the website and thought I'd got myself a real bargain. When I compared my photos to the website just now, it actually looks pretty much the same, but I guess it just doesn't feel so flash when you're there in person. Saying that though, it's still nice and comfortable and clean, and the rooms have been completely renovated. We were in a standard room, which isn't particularly spacious and doesn't have any cooking facilities, but the bed was comfy and the shower was nice. I had been looking forward to using the pool, but when I saw it, it was pretty small and not very inviting so I gave it a miss. The location is a bit out of the way, but it's only a few minutes in the car into the town centre. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable, and overall it was very reasonably priced and a good base for the fiords.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Anau
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I loved where we stayed as it was not too close to the main shopping area but close enough to walk. The staff were lovely and we enjoyed ourselves very much, thankyou!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We chose Fiordland because of promotional fare. Hotel was very quiet, staff perfectly attentive and there wasn't many guests. Interiors were a little bit old fashioned, but room was modern, clean and comfortable (cool bathroom with tub). Unfortunately, the hotel is outskirts of the city (making it easier to find), but the walk to the downtown is about 20 minutes, so it's not a problem. Small swimming pool is in a separate building.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fiordland Hotel/Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland Hotel/Motel

Address: 91 Luxmore Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fiordland Hotel/Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fiordland Hotel/Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland Hotel/ Hotel Te Anau
Fiordland Hotel/Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fiordland Hotel/Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.