We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent tour, made by Bruce” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Discoveries - Go Milford

Southern Discoveries - Go Milford
80 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9640, New Zealand
0064 (0) 3 441 1137
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$62*
and up
Ranked #7 of 26 Activities in Te Anau
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Southern Discoveries very own personal small group tour. Travel in luxury with our local drivers providing fantastic commentary in the heart of Fiordland. Enjoy the comfort of our modern coaches with leather seats, temperature controlled comfort and panoramic views (some coaches have a glass roof for optimal viewing). In Milford Sound you will join our 3 hour Discover More Cruise.
Napier
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent tour, made by Bruce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This tour was recommended by a local and they were absolutely right. Because the bus is fairly small it was much more comfortable and intimate. But the the real plus was Bruce the driver and guide whose knowledge of the area was amazing and had a fantastic old fashioned Kiwi sense of humour, with jokes and quizzes all the way. Stick with Bruce and you"ll be right!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernDisc, Front Office Manager at Southern Discoveries - Go Milford, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback and highly positive review of Bruce- I will be sure to pass it on! The small group and more personal experience is definitely the perks of our Go Milford trip so great to hear you enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Caterham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“See Milford Sound from the sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The day we went on the trip it was absolutely pouring with rain, it is quite a walk from the car park to the dock so bear that in mind if it is raining. On the other hand though if it is or has been raining you will see hundreds of waterfalls. The trip was great fun, there is a member of staff walking round with a microphone telling you all about the area and they really are very knowledgeable. We had booked a pack lunch which was very nice and there is free tea and coffee. They is also the option to stop at the discovery centre where you can get off and go to the underwater observation area. All in all a nice couple of hours

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernDisc, Front Office Manager at Southern Discoveries - Go Milford, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Great to hear the rain didn't dampen your day and our staff and lunches exceeded expectations. Visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful trip, lovely staff, awesome honeymoon experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We were recommended Southern Discoveries by our accomodation as they invest a lot in preserving the national park. We had no problem booking and the lady at the booking store in Te Anau was lovely and knowledgable about the whole area. When we turned up at Milford Sound to check in for our cruise they had a box of chocolates and a card to wish us a happy honeymoon which was so very sweet. The cruise was great, comfortable boat, not too many people and the underwater centre was interesting to learn more about the geology and ecology in the area. Wonderful experience and highly recommend.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernDisc, Front Office Manager at Southern Discoveries - Go Milford, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! It's great to hear when our customers enjoy their time with us and glad we could provide a little treat for you on your honeymoon! I hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great cruise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Milford Sound was definitely memorable, and Southern Discoveries was the icing on the cake. The tour gave some great detail about the area and lasted a good 2 hours without seeming too drawn out. The underwater observatory was a spectacular way to see the Sound as well.

The only thing keeping it from five stars was the photo they took of us when we got on the boat. I'm not sure why, but they never offered it to us! We asked afterwards and they pointed to a building off to the side, but nobody answered the door. We still had a nice photo someone else took for us during the cruise, but if you're looking to have your photo taken make sure they use your own camera.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernDisc, Front Office Manager at Southern Discoveries - Go Milford, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review and taking the time to share your experience. We work with a company called Magic Memories who take care of all the photos but I will pass on your feedback to make sure others don't miss out as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lots and Lots of Waterfalls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Reece was an excellent tour guide, good humour, ran like clockwork and gave a lot of interesting background.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernDisc, Front Office Manager at Southern Discoveries - Go Milford, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Great to hear you enjoyed it! Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Discoveries - Go Milford also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Southern Discoveries - Go Milford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Discoveries - Go Milford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.