We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westray Horse Treks

Westray Horse Treks
55 Ramparts Road 1rd, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9679, New Zealand
032499079
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 23 activities in Te Anau
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A great trip just 5 minutes from Te Anau. Experience 360 degree views of New Zealand's spectacular Fiordland landscape from horse back. Beautiful horses are available for all levels of rider experience and your guide is a wealth of information on the local area.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My brother and I decided to go horseriding to experience the beautiful scenery of Te Anau and this place provided a lovely experience. Andy took us on a relaxing walk around his extensive property which gave amazing views of the surrounds. The horses were calm and well cared for as well as very apt for the little riding experience we had. It was terrific value for money and I would happily enjoy the experience again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boyanup, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our visit to Te Anau would have not been complete without a visit to Westray Horse Treks. Andy is very friendly and happy to accommodate to you. He has a passion for the area, cares for his horses & ensures you have an enjoyable trek. Definitely value for money and the scenery is beautiful.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This trip was amazing! Andy is very knowledgeable about the area and the history. The horses are beautifully taken care of. The actual trek was incredible. 360 degree views for almost the entirety of the trip. I would recommend this trip to anyone visiting the area and would do it again in a minute!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best way to see the Sounds and get local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Riding on a horse really connects you to the local environment. Andy was a great host and showed us his awesome farm. We talked about his hunting, sandflies, farming, climate, history, horse training, cell phone towers, and the surrounds. Awesome views early morning or late arvo. Rarely rains there and his farm is nice and sunny.

Great value for a 2.5hr ride. Way more knowledgeable than other tour guides we had at the sounds. He's lived the life, not reading off a few years experience.

Highly recommend this place. Really cool operation run by an authentic local family.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Authentic local horse riding experience through stunning countryside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Our teenage daughter longed for horse riding so we succumbed and booked an afternoon trek with Andy and daughter Emma at Westrae. Andy calmly sized up our helmet sizes by eye and then allocated a horse and got us mounted and then Emma demonstrated the essentials. All this was done in a lovely south land burr and unhurried and efficient fashion. Us infrequent and novice riders felt at ease on Keppler, Lippy and Monty as we walked out if the paddock and into the fields. We did a big loop up and around Andy's land taking in magnificent views and enjoying interesting conversation. I felt more at ease on this trek than ever before - if anyone could teach us horsemanship these people could, and the surroundings are out if this world. Thank you!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westray Horse Treks also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Westray Horse Treks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westray Horse Treks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Westray Horse Treks to your Saves list