We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd year running - still fantastic !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westray Horse Treks

Westray Horse Treks
55 Ramparts Road 1rd, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9679, New Zealand
+64 3-249 9079
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A great trip just 5 minutes from Te Anau. Experience 360 degree views of New Zealand's spectacular Fiordland landscape from horse back or Quad Bike. Beautiful horses or Honda ATVs are available for all levels of rider experience and your guide is a wealth of information on the local area.
Gore
1 review
“3rd year running - still fantastic !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

thanks again for looking after our school group for the past 3 years on coming to Te Anau and Westray horse treks.... its always a fantastic trip with Andy and Emma... the instructions are always great what ever your ability on a horse. the pupils always seem to get so much from the experience. Thanks again... hopefully see you again in 2014.. Mark

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    15
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“My take on the Horse Treks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The thing i love most about Westray Horse Treks is the fact that i can interact with Andy the farm owner and find out about his life living on a farm. For me a Singaporean from our crowded garden city, living on a farm with wide open space is something that is not available in Singapore.

The Fun part:
1) You control the horse yourself and you hold the rein.
2) You get to see Andy's farm on horseback riding up a small hill for the view
3) You get to get come close and personal with the horses.

Not for the faint hearted:
1) if you had never ride a horse before this maybe too adventureous for you.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, animals and guides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Andy was very professional and caring. He made sure we were all alright both at the start by saddling us up properly and throughout the wonderful trek through his farm. This also applied to his animals who were obvioulsy loved and cared for very well. The views were truely breathtaking and well worth the visit not only for the ride but also to see someone who takes care of his animals. I also was impressed that not like a lot of other attractions I have to say that he did not exploit by doing the usual photograph con. He was more than happy to stop where best and used our cameras, phones etc to take pictures on them for us. Well worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahitahi, Bruce Bay, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best way to enjoy stunning Fiordland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We absolutely loved our ride with Westray Horse Treks. Andy and his daughter were both friendly and professional, and we could see they cared immensly for the wellbeing of their horses and their clients. Both horses and guides accommodated to our level without problem, and a special request on how we would like to ride out wasn't a problem either.
We recommend Westray Horse Treks to anyone as the best way to enjoy the beautiful landscape around Te Ananu, no matter what your experience with horses.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great horse trek with beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Me and my girlfriend had a beautiful morning on this horse trek with misty valleys and beautiful views of the surrounding mountains and Lake Te Anau. Very friendly staff, great horses and a good price (75$) for what you get. We found it great that the trip was suited to our experience, I walked and trotted (being unexperienced) and my experienced girlfriend was allowed to gallop and run trough the fields which she enjoyed very much. We could see Andy cares well for the horses. The refreshment and cookies were welcome!
Definately recommended!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westray Horse Treks also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Westray Horse Treks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westray Horse Treks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.