We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This B&B was even better than home...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Rosa Te Anau

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bella Rosa Te Anau to your Saves list
Bella Rosa Te Anau
24 Acheron Way, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Scottdale, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“This B&B was even better than home...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed with Gil for two nights. The house is beautiful. Convenient to Te Anau. You could walk to downtown easily. The home is comfortable, clean and quiet. The best part of the stay was our host Gil. She is amazing. She made us feel at home immediately. From the wine and snacks to the great breakfasts. The homemade muffins are to die for. She even packed us lunches for the trip to Milford Sound and Doubtful Sound. They were ten times better than what the other folks got on the tour. When I made reservations to stay at Bella Rosa, Gil offered to make the reservations at Milford and Doubtful Sounds. Everything was perfect. We even had sunshine at Milford...New Zealand was amazing and Gil made it that much better for us. Thanks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
80
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new hampshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We spent four nights at Bella Rosa and had the best time of our New Zealand holiday, primarily due to the care and friendship provided by the hosts Gilly and Brent. The B&B itself is a modern home in a quiet residential area of Te Anau with two guest bedrooms. We were welcomed by Gilly and made to feel at home immediately with wine, canapes, and good company. Gilly is not the kind of B&B owner who points out where everything is, announces the breakfast time, and then disappears. Gilly arranged our Doubtful Sound tour for us, made dinner reservations (and came with us to dinner one night), fed us drinks and hors d’oeuvres every afternoon, and took wonderful care of us. Breakfast was good and at the hour we chose and always included Gilly's freshly baked muffins. Brent works half time in Africa, and we were fortunate to be visiting when he was at home, as he added to the fun of the visit. We felt more like we were staying with old friends than being at a B&B.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We've stayed with Gilly twice now (both times Brent was away working) and both times really felt like she went above and beyond. The first time, we were coming back from a 3 days kayaking trip on Doubtful Sound and the second, after our tramp on the Milford Track. We were smelly and had heaps of rubbish and dirty clothes. Gilly welcomed us with open arms, a fantastic fruit and cheese platter with accompanying wine and beer, and volunteered to do our laundry (by the next morning, it was clean, dry, and folded!). We did not have a car on our second trip and Gilly picked us up from the bus drop off. Having the luxury of a deep soaking tub on both occasions was fantastic. The bathroom is shared, but the toilet and shower/tub are in separate rooms, so you don't feel rushed when enjoying your shower or bath. Lots of different bath products are provided as are local hand-made chocolates. Both rooms are quiet and private, but you are made to feel at home and spend your time in the lounge or patio if you choose. Gilly's muffins are delicious and a great way to start the morning. Ultimately, what makes this place so special is Gilly; she anticipates your needs and volunteers to take care of them and nothing ever seems too much to ask.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was the most adorable bed n breakfast we stayed at during our three week tour of New Zealand. Gilly and Brent acted as amazing hosts and extremely helpful. We were not only welcomed by delicious snacks but also invited to join them for dinner. Not to forget the yummy dessert post that. We were free to use their kitchen too. They also educated us about the fjordland region and advised on activities around Milford Sound.
The rooms were comfortably well done and the bathrooms were quite stylish. The only drawback was the bathrooms being shared which we wouldn't care enough for their outstanding hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Bella! Gilly and Brent are the consummate hosts, inviting us into their home and not just a bedroom. While there is no en suite, it does not matter in the least. The toilet and shower room are separate and close to the bedrooms. Breakfast consists of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, and Gilly’s delicious muffins. They are very helpful with restaurant and tour recommendations and willing to make reservations for you. Our tour bus picked us up for the trip to Milford Sound right outside the door - perfect service! What a wonderful stay for our last b&b of three weeks in New Zealand. Gilly and Brent made it even harder for us to leave their friendly country.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Gill goes to a great deal of trouble to make your stay comfortable. From making a picnic lunch for a trip to Milford Sound to advice on eating out, local walks and having stocks of sandfly repellent available, there seems to be no end to her talents. Her knowledge of the area and various sights is invaluable. Incidentally, for the cynical, we noted the sandfly repellent 25% more costly in local shops! No wonder her guests become friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Gill and Brent are incredibly generous with both their time and hospitality and clearly enjoy entertaining guests in their home. Bella Rosa is a lovely, spacious house within walking distance of the centre of Te Anau. The bedroom was very comfortable, the only drawback being that the bathroom and toilet were across the corridor and shared with the other room although this wasn't really a problem for us and Gill keeps them spotlessly clean. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bella Rosa Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Rosa Te Anau

Address: 24 Acheron Way, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bella Rosa Bed and Breakfast in Fiordland. Brent and Gill would like to welcome you to join them in their lovely home, located just 3 minutes from the town centre of Te Anau. Bella Rosa offers you fantastic accommodation in Te Anau serving wider Fiordland. Situated in glorious greenery, with views onto New Zealand’s most breathtaking landscapes, Bella Rosa looks out over the mountains and water of Lake Te Anau. Offering complete privacy and tranquillity in a comfortable environment, we pride ourselves on a hospitable and warm welcome to our home and this amazing area.Bella Rosa is perfect for a romantic holiday, getaway, business trip or just for a restful or fun weekend. whatever you are looking for in the Fiordland and Te Anau area, Bella Rosa B&B can make it happen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bella Rosa Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Rosa Te Anau Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Rosa Te Anau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.