We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay with fantastic hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Rosa Te Anau

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bella Rosa Te Anau
24 Acheron Way, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay with fantastic hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed with Gilly and Brent for 3 nights between Christmas and New Years. In short – we really enjoyed our stay, they were fantastic hosts and I really enjoyed getting to know them. We would highly recommend Bella Rosa.

From when we booked with them, Gilly and Brent offered to book activities for us and were very helpful over email. The room itself was nice too – big windows and fresh cut flowers, chocolates and fluffy bathrobes waiting when we arrived. The bathroom is a shared bathroom – we didn’t have any issues with that during our stay even though there were other couples staying too.

Breakfast was great as well. We’ve stayed at places where the B&B hosts were not happy to do breakfast before 7am, but one day we had booked on a sunrise kayak on milford sound and so had to be out the door by 6:30am, we didn’t expect breakfast that early but Gilly was awake when we got up, and had freshly baked muffins waiting for us (a different flavour every day, they were delicious)! Gilly and Brent also graciously let us use their washing machine to do our laundry (a small part of how they treat their guests – we stayed at another B&B which charges $10 NZD per load of washing!)

I think the biggest point of difference though is that Gilly and Brent are interested in getting to know everyone that stays with them, and treats them as friends – we chatted over wine and cheese in the evenings and really enjoyed their company as well as that of Coco and Oscar (Brent showed my husband some of his treasures - he was very envious of Brent’s hobbies). It really doesn’t surprise me that all of the reviews on tripadvisor for Bella Rosa have been glowing ones – it is fantastic!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Rosa11, Owner at Bella Rosa Te Anau, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your review. As always it is a pleasure to be of service and getting up early to provide breakfast is just part and parcel of running our business and it is important to have that first meal for the day to set you up for your activities, especially with the early start you both had. We want our guests to always feel that they are at home and Bella Rosa's facilities reflect that. Thank you for your contribution as this has helped us achieve our latest award "Travelers Choice Award". This could not be made possible without your review, so a big thank you. We look forward to 2013 being another exciting year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
74
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We only have wonderful things to say about Bella Rosa. The house is lovely, and Gill is the most welcoming, funny, and helpful hostess (we did not get to meet Brent, but I'm sure he is no different). Gill goes out of her way to make sure your time in Te Anau is perfect -- which included driving us to and from the Milford Track pickup spot, so we could leave our rental car and luggage at her house. She then supplied us with homemade snacks for our drive to Queenstown. Most touching, however, was that Gill--someone we had known for all of 4 days--bought us a wedding card and small gift (we were getting married a few days later and had mentioned that to her), and later in our trip emailed us to see how the wedding is. So lovely! Add to that mix the cutest dog ever (Coco), delicious homemade muffins in the morning, and wine/beer, cheese, and crackers in the evenings, and it was a fantastic stay. We would never stay anywhere else in Te Anau.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaut1, Owner at Bella Rosa Te Anau, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was exciting to hear about the wedding plans for Wanaka and I felt privileged to have been able to hear all about the plans and get to see the photos of the wedding. It is important for us to ensure that all our guests have the ultimate experience at Bella Rosa, and am pleased that you had a memorable time here. Thank you for your contribution as this has helped us achieve our latest Award, "Travelers Choice Award". This could not be made possible without your review, so a big thank you. We look forward to 2013 being an exciting year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Bella Rosa with Gill and Brent and they made us feel at home from the minute we arrived. When we got there on the first day Gill had checked the weather and advised us to change our cruise to Milford Sound that we originally planned the following day. We're glad we followed her wise advice as the road closed the next day due to heavy rains. Gill has the best tips when it comes to the plethora of activities to do in Te Anau - she also managed to book us a seat in a great restaurant despite the fact that it was fully booked - so she clearly knows everyone in the the town and around! Her freshly cooked muffins in the morning are a treat! Gill and Brent are the perfect hosts and have an amazing home that is extremely well located only a minute drive from the town center. There is a small dog Coco and a fluffy cat Oscar that are the most amazing pet companions. We definitely plan to come back and wouldn't think twice about where to stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaut1, Owner at Bella Rosa Te Anau, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is important for us to ensure that our guests get to experience Fiordland and not to miss out on any opportunities whilst here, therefore it is very important for us to keep abreast of what is happening, both weather wise and on the activities front. Thank you for your contribution for our latest Award, "Travelers Choice Award". This could not be made possible without your review, so a big thank you. We look forward to 2013 being an exciting year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Bella Rosa and it was one of the best B&Bs that we have ever experienced!

Both Gill and Brent took excellent care of us. With a packed 2 days in the Te Anau area, Gill immediately availed herself to sit down with us to go through the many attractions Te Anau had to offer. Being an authorised agent, she made the calls and had us booked for the glow worm caves and the Milford Sound Cruise. She even called a dinner place to reserve a table for us and got them to rush our dinner in order for us to make our tour. Brent entertained us with tales from his life and showed us many of the hobbies he gets up to in his spare time (his garage is a gold mine). Gill's breakfast muffins are also amazing and she very kindly packed more for us on our drive out to Milford Sound. Gill and Brent also have 2 very lovely pets whom we thoroughly enjoyed playing with during our stay.

Gill and Brent also offered us the option to have home cooked dinner with them the first night, but we unfortunately could not make it because we had to rush for our glow worm tour, but we had dinner together the second night and it felt like we were friends having a meal together. Gill and Brent are incredibly warm and friendly hosts, and we could not be grateful enough for their amazing hospitality.

The room was very comfortable and we had the best sleep in our 2 week holiday in New Zealand in their home. Their pillows are comfortable and the facilities were clean and spacious. The bathroom even had moisturisers specially for sun burnt skin, which we found very useful.

We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone and would definitely come back when we can!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaut1, Owner at Bella Rosa Te Anau, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is always great to read views as this assists us with keeping Bella Rosa on track. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time in Fiordland and at Bella Rosa and as always we want to make sure that you have a memorable and unforgettable time. Thank you for your contribution for our latest Award, "Travelers Choice Award". This could not be made possible without your review, so a big thank you. We look forward to 2013 bring an exciting year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My partner and I recently stayed here and had a wonderful time. The house and all the facilities were great and very clean. Breakfast was delicious hot muffins, and a variety of other items. On arrival Gill gave us a cheese board and wine and beer. We hung out all night and chatted was so much fun! We were having such a good time we decided to eat in and order pizza. Gill also helped us arrange our activities in milford sound although it was unfortunate the road was closed and we could not go. We also loved her dog coco! Definitely reccomend staying here! Thanks Gill!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaut1, Owner at Bella Rosa Te Anau, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your review. Yes, it was a fun evening and it was a pleasure to have your company. It is important for us to ensure that our guests make the most of their time in Fiordland, so important to assist with making recommendations and bookings. We look forward to hosting you again.
Thank you for contributing to our latest award on TripAdvisor "Travelers Choice Award".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Bella Rosa for 2 nights towards the end of our 2 week NZ holiday. Gill was a delightful host (Brent was away). Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was very nice - fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt, juice, coffee, and Gill's speciality, muffins straight from the oven- delicious. After several cooked breakfasts in the preceeding days, the muffins were a welcomed change.
Gill's home was beautiful. The guest rooms were very comfortable and although we would normally choose to stay in ensuited accommodation, sharing the bathroom and separate toilet with another couple was not a problem. The facilities were extremely clean, and the toiletries of a lovely quality.
Gill's hospitality extended to inviting us to share an evening meal with her and another Aussie couple staying at Bella Rosa.
Coco, the dog and Oscar, the cat were delightful animals. They were well behaved and cleanliness was not an issue.
Thank you Gill
Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Rosa11, Owner at Bella Rosa Te Anau, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for Bella Rosa. I am pleased that you found the breakfasts refreshing. It's always nice to have a healthy start to the day, and am pleased that you both enjoyed it. As you mentioned the toilet and bathroom facilities are shared, so it is imperative for me to maintain these areas and keep them clean so everyone can feel relaxed, and your message confirms that there really isn't an issue with shares facilities. I thoroughly enjoyed sharing time with you over dinner, a great evening had by all. Thanks again and next time we see you hopefully Brent will be here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed three nights at Gill and Brent's B&B, and we are so happy that we chose to stay with them! Both Gill and Brent welcomed us into their home enthusiastically and made us feel at home. Upon arrival, we were greeted with wine and a cheese platter and enjoyed good conversation in the living room with Gill and Brent and the other couple staying there. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The locally made truffles were a fun added touch. There is a large bathroom with shower and bath and separate toilet that is shared with the other guest room. Each morning we had a wonderful breakfast of Gill's delicious muffins and an assortment of fruit, cereals, and yogurt. Gill and Brent also invited us to have dinner with them one evening, and it was one of the best meals we had while in New Zealand! We asked Brent how to get to a car park for a hike one morning, and instead of just giving us directions, he offered to have us follow him out there. Both Gill and Brent went above and beyond as hosts, and they are wonderful people to get to know. We truly enjoyed our stay at Bella Rosa, and we will stay there again on any future visits to New Zealand. We had debated staying in Te Anau or Queenstown for the three days that we were exploring the Fiordland region, including Milford Sound, the Kepler Track, and Doubtful Sound. We are very glad that we chose Te Anau, as it was a perfect central location to travel to all of these sites and is also not far from Queenstown.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella_Rosa11, Owner at Bella Rosa Te Anau, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. I always get excited to read the feedback and to see where we can improve. We are excited to be able to offer what's on hand in Foirdland, and this comes natural from both of us to share and not to keep it a secret. Once again thanks for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bella Rosa Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Rosa Te Anau

Address: 24 Acheron Way, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bella Rosa Bed and Breakfast in Fiordland. Brent and Gill would like to welcome you to join them in their lovely home, located just 3 minutes from the town centre of Te Anau. Bella Rosa offers you fantastic accommodation in Te Anau serving wider Fiordland. Situated in glorious greenery, with views onto New Zealand’s most breathtaking landscapes, Bella Rosa looks out over the mountains and water of Lake Te Anau. Offering complete privacy and tranquillity in a comfortable environment, we pride ourselves on a hospitable and warm welcome to our home and this amazing area.Bella Rosa is perfect for a romantic holiday, getaway, business trip or just for a restful or fun weekend. whatever you are looking for in the Fiordland and Te Anau area, Bella Rosa B&B can make it happen! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bella Rosa Te Anau Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Rosa Te Anau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bella Rosa Te Anau to your Saves list