We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you want from a pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Pizzeria Da' Toni

Ristorante Pizzeria Da' Toni
1 Milford Crescent, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
02494305
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 28 Restaurants in Te Anau
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Excellent Italian Food, with fast friendly service, Comprehensive wine list, Traditional Italian Pizza cooked in a Wood fired oven.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Everything you want from a pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Fantastic. You can watch them make their own dough, then cook it with your choice of toppings in the stone pizza oven near the entrance. Toppings are tasty, and you can get more traditional topping combinations (compared to some weird oneswe've seen elsewhere). My wife normally leaves the outer crusts but to my disappointment she didn't in this place. I had a folded calzone pizza, and sometimes these can be a little sparse on fillings, but this was packed with moist ham, mushrooms, cheese and tomato. Fantastic.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    96
    25
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
las vegas
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This pizza was every bit as good as what you can get throughout the United States and the best we had in Australia and New Zealand. The staff were friendly and very accommodating for our large ad hoc group. No reservations, just first come first serve. You won't go wrong catching a bite at the Pizzeria in Te Anau. A very easy walk from the Distinction Te Anau hotel property. What's better than a little wine and pizza with friends after a day at Milford Sound.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV, USA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“We did takeaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Takeaway was convenient for us - we'd done a day walk on the Milford Track so we weren't looking for a night out and we had a nice bottle of Gibbston Valley Dry Riesling in the fridge at Readfords. The only problem with our theory is that Da' Toni was full early on. So they had us come back at 9 PM to order our takeaway. When we placed our pizza order I also ordered a glass of their Montepulciano to sip while waiting. What I received was a white wine, perhaps a Pinot Grigio. No worries, though, it still hit the spot. On a side note the glass of wine wasn't necessary - the pizza was ready before I finished the wine.

The pizza was excellent and ll of the diners appeared to be enjoying their dinners. You should try it!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Pizza... And Im from Swansea!!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

I don't know about New York but in Swansea this is how we serve Pizza!!! Hot, tasty and with a smile. Food was outstanding, you will not be disappointed. I would have scored a full 5 if it wasn't for being served a glass with lipstick and a plate with sauce stain still on it, that said my girlfriend doesn't think a possibly faulty dish washer should reflect an otherwise perfect meal... But what does she know. 4.5 out of 5... Just go there!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“We loved it! And we are from New York!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We absolutely loved Pizzeria Da'Toni. We are from New York and were sorely disappointed by most of the pizza in New Zealand (albeit everything else about New Zealand is amazing). However, Pizzeria Da'Toni was as good, if not better, than most of the pizza we have ever had in New York. After a long day kayaking on Milford Sound, nothing is better than the most excellent pizza here!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Pizzeria Da' Toni also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Ristorante Pizzeria Da' Toni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Pizzeria Da' Toni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.