We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Ride and guide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxmore Jet

Luxmore Jet
Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
0064 210 415 141
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Ranked #6 of 26 Activities in Te Anau
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Luxmore Jet operates scenic tours on the Upper Waiau River which flows between Lake Te Anau and beautiful Lake Manapouri.
Te Anau
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Awesome Ride and guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Great Ride and Guide with Luxmore Jet - The perfect way to end the Kepler Track, great commentary from Lex about the local area, great jet, beautiful scenic trip, highly recommend.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bairnsdale, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Please take all of the advice given by everyone and take this jet boat ride. No fancy turns (maybe one or two if you ask), no "see how close I can go to a rock face" and scare you. This trip simply takes you into some of the most stunning countryside you would ever see anywhere. Lex (the driver) has the best office in the world and gives you a complete rundown on the area and to be honest just lets you soak up the atmosphere. The river you follow ends up in a lake that has mountains surrounding it, takes your breath away with just the silence and scenery.

If you are a keen fisherman ask Lex to stop and show you the trout just sitting at the bottom of the river waiting for a feed. Like most attractions you get picked up by mini-bus and driven to the river and returned to your accommodation. We are so glad we made the choice of the Luxmore jet boat ride and not the others. Awesome ride and experience, just do it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“excellent personal service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Phoned at lunchtime and was offered a tour for just the 2 of us in mid-afternoon. Bus was early at the hotel and Mark was a good tour guide on the bus placating my worried better half who was very nervous about the boat ride. We didn't go on a jetboat in Queenstown as it looked too commercial and just a thrill and scare trip. Lex took us on a very good tour down the river to Lake Manapouri, telling us all about the Lord of the Rings filming spots, the Kepler trail, and showed us a nice trout on the way upstream. Did a few 360s to thrill us but not too much to scare the wife.
A very nice afternoon, with a very good guide and skipper.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It's not just the ride, it's the people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The jet boat ride is great fun and the sights beautiful but it is what you learn from Lex that makes it memorable. New Zealanders generously share their country and Luxmore Jet is a prime example. There are choices of jet boats but Luxmore has it all and we are grateful we met them. They also offer guided walks combined with the jet boat ride - highly recommended.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent, even in winter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Well, it was almost winter when we arrived in Te Anau, but Luxmore was recommended to us by our hosts where we were staying so we gave them a call. They brought a bus to our cottages and picked us up. We ended up getting a "private" tour that included tons of fun details about the Lord of the Rings. I mean the jet boat was fun, but come on, we were on the same river as Frodo!!! A few of us got a package deal that included a helicopter ride, so as they did that our Luxmore "guides" took the rest of us for coffee and site-seeing until the helicopter with the rest of our party landed. It was indeed a blast.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luxmore Jet also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Luxmore Jet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxmore Jet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.