We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Miss This” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fiordland Cinema

Fiordland Cinema
7 The Lane,, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
03 249 8844
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 26 Activities in Te Anau
Type: Movie Theaters, Amusement
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted a 'must see' for visitors to Te Anau & Fiordland National Park, Fiordland on Film - Ata Whenua takes you on an unforgettable cinematic journey through one of the most awe inspiring landscapes on earth. See the Fiordland World Heritage wilderness you would not otherwise get to see. Mysterious, evocative, exhilarating and utterly spectacular, filmed across extremes of the seasons, climate and terrain.Visit the purpose built contempoary Fiordland Cinema - home of Fiordland on Film - Ata Whenua. (32 minutes long)
Hervey Bay
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Do Not Miss This”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Our hosts at our motel suggested this, we would not have known about this but are very glad we visited the Cinema and the 30 min film of the local scenery is spectacular. Sit and relax and have a glass of wine and enjoy.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    51
    14
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Good way to spend an hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We thought the film and cinema were really good. Think it costs around $10 or so. The film lasts about 20ish minutes. There's no voice over or narrative just shots of the scenery taken from a helicopter accompanied by music. The film was a good length, not too long and it's quite relaxing watching it. The cinema is small with big comfortable seats. There's a nice bar there and you can bring your drink in with you when watching the film.

It's worth a look.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Relax a while here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you have some spare time at Te Anau, it is worth to visit and watch the fiordland movie which lasted about 20 minutes. The seats were comfortable and I nearly felt asleep in the cinema while watching the beautiful scenery movie.

The entrance fee is NZD10/adult if you do not opt for any drinks.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“excellent film”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

we watched the film taken of fiordland, the views from the air were stunning, and seeing it at different times of the year was a real insight.
well worth a visit if you are at a loss as to what to do or if you just want to see views of the area that you are unlikely to get yourself.
glad we saw it

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Awesome cinema experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

After reading about the Fiordland Cimema on tripadvisor and being told about it by a local my fiancée and I decided to give it a try.

Wow! The film that the cinema has been built for, Ata Whenua is absolutely fantastic. Breathtaking scenery and a wonderful way to see some of Fiordland's beautiful but hard to reach sights.

But, this is just the cherry on top of the cinema- experience cake. The cinema itself is probably the nicest cinema we have ever been to. There is a bar which is part of the cinema and as the cinema is fully licensed you are allowed to take your drinks into the cinema with you. Perfect!

The bar itself is a great place,the variety of beers, wines etc is good and there is a daily specials board too.

The cinema is built for Ata Whenua but they also show other films too. We went back the next night to watch Rock of Ages. The intermission in the film gave us ample time to purchase a mulled wine for the second half!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fiordland Cinema also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Fiordland Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fiordland Cinema, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.