We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hollows Luxury Log Cabin

Cabin frontage
Cabin frontage
Cabin frontage
Cabin position on section
Cabin and Helicopter
Sunset on the deck.
Cabin Kitchen
Te Anau
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Petrina P
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best place we have every stayed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Hollows lovely log cabin and cannot begin to describe how wonderful our stay was. The cabin is amazing, beautifully set out with all the comforts of home. The views from every window are incredible, and being on a country property, very quiet and relaxing.

Pam and Mark were so friendly and made us feel so welcome. We never wanted to leave!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: everything about the log cabin was wonderful.
Liked least: it was fantastic, we have no negatives
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Cymedxa
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant property- stay for longer if you can!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We are a family of 4 adults and one infant who stayed at the log cabin for 2 nights. It's a 5 mins drive from the city centre and though this is not a lakefront property, it couldnt possibly get more charming. The cabin is very well equipped- right from the durables and cutlery to the consumables (toiletries, detergent etc.), everything is top notch. Pam even arranged for a baby bath tub and a high chair for my little one!
Only piece of advice is to stay here for more nights to really enjoy the place.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: That it was a log cabin- have never stayed in one before!
Liked least: wi-fi was a bit erratic.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jacckkk
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

The Hollows in Te Anau was one of the highlights of a great trip. The cabin is in a stunning location on the edge of town. A very peaceful corner of the world.

Cabin is well appointed & the owner made us feel very welcome. We can't wait to come back.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: I couldn't fault it
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2012
It was a pleasure to have you stay. Thank you. Pam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
macb69
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in New Zealand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The Hollows was the best place we stayed during our New Zealand holiday. All the little extras that were included (especially the wine and cheese) were greatfully appreciated and helped to make our holiday more memorable. Even my 3 travel weary teenage boys were impressed and would have like to have stayed longer.
The location is stunning and is located just out of Te Anau. A great place to stay if you are exploring the area and want more than standard hotel/self contained accomodation.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The quality of the accomodation, the location and the service.
Liked least: Not applicable
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2012
We were so pleased to have you stay, be lovely to see you again. Pam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Paul
Australia
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful
4 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2012
It was a pleasure to have you, looking forward to your next visit.
Thanks
Pam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
grant_rob...
Perth, Australia
1 review
“An amazing retreat that was the highlight of 2 weeks in NZ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

My wife, three kids (6,10,13) and I stayed in this amazing cabin for two nights. Amazing log cabin that is oh so cute and cosy. Warm, inviting and with the most comfortable beds you can imagine. My daughter loved the horses ajisted nearby and the service was first class. Pam even followed us up and on forwared a watch we left behind. If you want a touch of luxury whilst in Ta Anau I doubt you'd find a better place to stay. Just the right distacne from the centre of Te Anau.

4 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2011
So pleased you enjoyed your stay, hope your watch arrived home safely. Pam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
The House of H
Texas
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011 for a stay in February 2011
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The cabin it self.
Liked least: The hob is in the corner - but I am digging to answer this.
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$370
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
this property has payment protection
Owner
Pam H
Speaks English
Listed since : Jul 2010
Response Rate: 80 %
Response Time: More than a week
Calendar Updated: 2 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing