We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious for breakfast, lunch or dinner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miles Better Pies

Miles Better Pies
shop 2 Milford Road, Te Anau, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
03 249 9044
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 28 Restaurants in Te Anau
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious for breakfast, lunch or dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We recently stopped in to grab a coffee but the smell of gorgeous freshly baked pies instantly tempted us to stop for food as well.

I would suggest always going for the local specials such as the venison, lamb or steak pies as these were delicious, however the chicken pies also looked good. The staff were also exceptionally friendly and offer some really helpful suggestions as to other places to visit in town as well as further afield. Tourist information, friendly service and tasty pies - who could ask for more!

A definite place to stop off for a quick snack before joining a tour or heading out to explore more of beautiful Te Anau.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    64
    19
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Linton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A true Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Went here on reading Tripadvisor and so glad we did. Friendly service, great pies, coffees and scones - the lady even threw in a free one ! I would strongly recommend anyone going to Te Anau to make the short journey into town for food here. Butter chicken pie was our favourite !

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Great Takeaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Opens at 6am. Pies are well filled and full of flavour. Also do great scones muffins and sandwiches. Great place to stock up before heading to Milford.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lex, MA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“First Food off the Kepler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

After a truly memorable but grueling couple of days on the Kepler - we wandered into Miles and were instantly gratified and fortified with the best Pies I have ever had! We started with one and quickly tried two more- our favorite was the lamb mint, but the venison was equally good! A must stop for all hikers!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Nice Coffee, pies and smile!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

the second time visiting Miles better pies. the smiley young girl made me a fantastic coffee latte. that's a nice surprise, cause i haven't expected a good quality coffee from a small pie shop. then i had Thai curry chicken pie which is delicious as well.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miles Better Pies also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Miles Better Pies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miles Better Pies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.