We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super facilities and owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bob and Maxine's Backpackers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bob and Maxine's Backpackers
20 Paton Place, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Bude, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Super facilities and owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed in Bob and Maxine's house and used the excellent backpacking facilities. Everywhere is well equipped with super bathrooms and quality fittings and supplies. Thoughtful touches included kitchen foil, cling film and baking parchment, which helped with food preparation. We were spoilt in the house with a private bathroom and clean towels every day. We were also able to do a lot of washing and get it dry. Both Bob and Maxine were so friendly. Bob shared his love of cars, motor bikes and motor mowers and Maxine gave us little treats and friendship. One of the best places we have stayed. We really relaxed there. Free wifi and free use of bikes was an added bonus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    15
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
23
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Feels like home and clean like a 5 star hotel.
Dorms are spacious and beds are comfortable.
Public area is huge, kitchen is well equipped and there are plenty of reading material spread around.
Laundry is for free!

The only down side is distance from town centre, but the free bikes makes the transportation very easy, even without a car. And if you have to go back to town with your luggage, Bob will simply give you a lift.

What a great place! I would definitely come again.

Room Tip: Not all beds have an electricity spot next to them. Have a look on it if it matters to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koblenz, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed there in a dorm for 4 nights,
the place was really nice, the bathrooms, kitchen and dorm were clean and very spacious,
the common room was massive!

The owners both cared a lot for me and gave all their advice on what to do in and around Te Anau, incredible!

The free bike was a great extra, as the hostel is a bit outside of Te Anau and so you're at the supermarket in 3 minutes!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Bob and Maxine put so much love and effort into making this place special. Spotlessly clean, superb facilities, it is the equivalent of a well stocked home. They are very friendly and the reviews below about rude / cats are a real shame as clearly the reviewers think that the entire hospitality industry should somehow be subservient to them. Bob seemed to me a man of principle but also a fair man - why do people expect to travel the world and all over in all kinds of places receive a kind of yes sir/madam, please sir/madam, thank you sir/madam treatment? The rules are so that everyone enjoys the place and are not in any way pedantic or such. For me, I felt like I was staying in the real NZ - a NZ with interesting people. Maxine was very kind to my pregnant wife, putting us in the bedrooms instead of dorm when she realised about the baby. The atmosphere in the hostel is great as people who come here are doing so in order to walk the kepler and see the wild NZ, not just the wild thrills of Queenstown. We met some really great people at Bob & Maxine's and had a very comfortable stay for 3 days. You would probably want a car if staying here as it is slightly out of town but then again, you would probably want a car in NZ anyway.

Room Tip: The dorms are ok, the bed in the house was v comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobteanau, Owner at Bob and Maxine's Backpackers, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thankyou sincerely Peter for the kind words of support. Well said & yes I'm a fair man who stands up for his rights

I'm afraid to say that occasionally we get guests who are very hard to deal with. We really wonder why they left home as they seem determined to find fault & not enjoy their experiences.

Unfortunately these are often the sort of people who will post a review in an immature attempt to "get even" with us.

To all that read these reviews just remember the thousands of very very happy guests we have had who have not posted reviews. Very obvious to most travellers I know.

Cheers, Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

What a treat to have heat (heat pump in bedroom, warm heating lamp in bathroom and fireplace in the lounge). It was a nice stay in a clean, well built and well kept backpackers. Only bummer was that there was no double room available (is there only one?), which is disappointing when traveling as a couple. However, we're flexible and did just fine as Bob was very accommodating with giving us one of the 6 bed rooms to ourselves. Very nice property, wish we could have spent more time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Glacier, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Everything a four star hotel would have, Bob and Maxine's got it! Very very comfortable, the owners were very friendly having the fire going all the time, free bikes to be used, beautiful view, warm rooms, kitchen and living area, very very clean, stayed there four days in different occasions and would stay there next time i go to Te Anau! Perfect if you wanna spend good, peaceful and comfortable time.

Room Tip: The closest bedroom to the kitchen is the one that gets warmer quicker!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Background - I have a temporary voice problem. Upon arrival, Maxine was most concerned and was prepared to do anything to help. It was very comforting for someone who sees so many travellers, that she took my problem to heart. And Bob's motor bikes, tractors and cars are second only to E. Hayes Hardware, Invercargill (home to the World's Fastest Indian). Thanks to both.

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bob and Maxine's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bob and Maxine's Backpackers

Address: 20 Paton Place, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Specialty lodging in Te Anau
Also Known As:
Bob And Maxine`s Backpackers Hotel Te Anau
Bob And Maxine's Backpackers Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bob and Maxine's Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bob and Maxine's Backpackers to your Saves list