We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confortable, clean and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Motel

Save Saved
You added Edgewater Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Edgewater Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   52 Lakefront Dr.,, Te Anau 9600, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 24 hotels in Te Anau
1 review
“Confortable, clean and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Nice beds, with a smal kitchen inside and with rooms to share only with 4 mates.
The staff are very gentle, helpful and kind and the locate is near the town center.
I was surprised, specially because of the good value.
I strongly advice this accommodation!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    38
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
29
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were plesently suprised with our one night here. The rooms are slightly older/outdated but are keep so clean and neat you dont mind. We did a drive up and the owner could not be more helpful, sugestions of places to eat and things to do couldnt do anymore to make us feel welcome. its a couple of minute walk along the lake to town so perfectly located and a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us along with our hospitality. Thank you for your feed back and enjoy your travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent two nights at the Edgewater. It is convenient to town, a good value and has a very nice picnic area which we made good use of. The management booked us a tour of Milford Sound which we thoroughly enjoyed. The queen bed, however was very soft and lumpy. Fortunately there was also a single so we were able to get a good nights rest. The bathroom was tiny but it worked. The furnishings were well used and there was an odor in the kitchen area, which was carpeted.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is always helpful to give feedback to the Manager at the time of your stay so that we can quickly sort any problems you may encounter at the time. This way we will also know exactly which Unit you are referring to
We appreciate your comments .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Booked this motel thinking it is lakefront which it is but all the rooms except one are on the back side and no view. However I got luckily the only lake view room. Rooms were spacious but old. Kitchen was not great. Manager was very helpfull and informative.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review . We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxton, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We booked by phone, (very friendly and helpful) and received a confirmation email very shortly aftrerwards. The Email was full and very informative and offered much more information about the Motel and services around Te Anau.
The service when we arrived was great and informative and to the point of what we needed.
Allowed us to leave our car there for 3 days at no charge while we tramped the Milford track.
The motel is a little older and will need some serious update work soon.
It is clean and comfortable, the service is second to none, every body was helpful, knowledgeable and genuinely friendly.
Easy walking distance to the town centre and right on the lake front.
If you need somewhere to stay in Te Anau that provides great servce and you are not too fused on staying in side ( why would you in Te Anau?) this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Tell reception what your requirements are and they will no doubt bend over backwards to accomodate y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your review . We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had the large rooms at the front and had a beautiful view even when we had to close up because the weather was surprisingly cold. The rooms were nice and big, including the bathroom. We had to carry our bags up steps but it was worth it for the view. It was a comfortable walk to the wharf for the Glowworm Cave tour and to restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your review . We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. This particular lakefront room has wonderful views of the lake and mountains as you say. Enjoy your travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a 3 night stay here. We were surprised with the generous size of the rooms, with a kitchenette, an separate lounge area. A little run down and furnishings could do with an update. Only real complaint would be re the bed, very small for two ppl and very uncomfortable!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Property.
The Unit you occupied has a Queen in bedroom 1 and a single and a double bed in bedroom 2. All other Units have Queen Size beds. We will definitely check this bed if you believe it was uncomfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edgewater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Motel

Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel Te Anau
Edgewater Motel Te Anau, Fiordland
Address: 52 Lakefront Dr.,, Te Anau 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Fiordland > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edgewater Motel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Edgewater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.