We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights at new years in lake view unit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Edgewater Motel to your Saves list
Edgewater Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   52 Lakefront Dr.,, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
137 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Two nights at new years in lake view unit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

One of a series of short reviews after a South Island road trip!

Stayed 31 Dec and 1 Jan in the only lake view unit, upstairs with two bedrooms.

Only drawback really was it was quite hot especially the first evening, and the sun comes streaming into the unit so needed to keep curtains mostly shut for some time. But later in the evenings we had a couple of nice sunsets.

It had everything we need as far as I recall, and I can't remember any drawbacks, just that you need to carry stuff up a couple of flights of steps to get into/out of the unit.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    41
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
32
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Location is good - right in front of the lake and 5-min walk to town centre. Room is very clean and spacious. The owner of the motel, Wayne, has been extremely helpful. He is very good at recommending activities and places to visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyon82, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Thankyou for providing this review. We hope you enjoyed your ttravels in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

was here back in May 2011. Scouting for a room due to last miniute plan, and decided to stayed here. Right front of the lake and the service was good. Got a bottle of free milk and a babycot for my 10mo baby. i cant complain more as everything was good, tho for a night stay, i'd love to stay here again beside given a good deals. I don't see any "retro" here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

we spent one night - we had the 2 bedroom apartment. The fit out was a little retro but we had everything we needed. The bathroom was a recent renovation and the spa bath was great. Staff were friendly and informative. The owner recommended 'The Ranch' for a pub meal - we had a wonderful meal and enjoyed the best venison we've ever had. The weather was perfect and we spent the day around Milford Sound. We took the Mitre Peak Nature cruise. Good value for money on a smaller boat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We really enjoyed our time in this Motel. The staff were incredibly friendly and very helpful. They were very understanding when our holiday dates had to be rearranged at short notice due to the ash cloud.

It is an older motel but we didn't find that a problem at all. We had a two bedroom unit and it was perfect for what we wanted. The kids had their space, we had our own and there were shared spaces for family time. It was spacious and spotlessly clean. The beds were lovely, comfortable and warm. Being from a warm climate and staying in south of south island of New Zealand in winter we appreciated the electric blankets. Our unit had a bath and it was nice to be able to have a warm soak in the tub. The walk along the lakeside is quite lovely.

It's a relatively short walk to a convenience store and there is a pizza shop and chinese restaurant that delivers to the door. With the kitchen in the unit we could have happily catered for ourselves but decided to give ourselves the night off!

We weren't bothered by noise at all from the road or other guests of the motel.

A great place to stay! Great value for money!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Whilst marketed as retro, it is probably more a little tired than retro.

That said, the bathroom looked recently renovated and the kitchenette may also have been.

Lounge was another one that needed a refresh as it was pretty uncomfortable. Only an old CRT TV here but still did the job.

But all is made up for when you go for a walk out onto the walkway outside the motel and view the lake. What a place! Just stunning.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

Stayed 2 nights which was 2 nights too many. All rooms only have a view of parked cars , the decor and bathroom are a monument to 1960's style. There are far better places to stay in Te Anau at a similar price.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Motel

Address: 52 Lakefront Dr.,, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edgewater Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Edgewater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Te Anau
Edgewater Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.