We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Accommodation in Te Anau” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine View Motel

Save Saved
You added Alpine View Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpine View Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   15 Quintin Drive,, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT FREE WIFI
Ranked #10 of 24 hotels in Te Anau
Brisbane
Top Contributor
351 reviews 351 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Great Accommodation in Te Anau”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We came into Te Anau as a base to visit Milford Sound. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful as to local attractions and local restaurants. Our room was a one-bedroom unit with a separate loung/dining area and kitchen. There was a spare bed in the lounge area which would be great for a family or two couples travelling together. Free internet was available. A guest laundry was available. The tariff was reasonably priced and although not right on the lake front, it was only one street back and therefore only a two minute walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    19
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We had a room upstairs in the main building which gave us a good view across the very pretty garden and onwards down towards the lake.The room itself was spacious,clean and comfortable and the decor pleasant.The owners were helpful & friendly. The laundry room was very useful when you have been travelling for a couple of weeks. Te Anau is a lovely town with plenty of restaurants,small shops & supermarkets. We used it as a base when we visited Milford Sound. An enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Alpine Motel. Tony made us very welcome and it was a good base in Te Anau as we travelled up through the South Island. The room was very comfortable and well equipped with a view over the garden and a little patio. Very good value for money also. Def would recommend,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The owners are incredibly friendly and helpful.
For kids it's great, they have a play area at the back which our 4yo really enjoyed.
My main criticism is the view, there is none.
I would definitely recommend staying lakeside in Te Anau.
For some reason I thought we had booked a lakeside motel but I was wrong, my fault, not theirs.
The rooms are basic, a little dated, and quite small but useable.
Very clean and all the facilities you could need. Again, would like to see a white net as well as curtain to allow light to come in but not peering eyes - this is a recommendation for many Motels we stayed in this holiday.
Recommended? Yes, but not if you want to see the lake from your room.

Room Tip: Do you want Lake? If yes, go elsewhere, you are one block away from the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Drove from queenstown and stayed here for one night. The room was large and divided into lounge and bed. Tv was in the lounge room so you cant watch it from bed. Very clean and had everything we needed. Guest laundry was very welcome indeed ( coins needed).

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This motel is not 5 star but was very nice. It was the only motel we stayed at in Te Anau so no point of reference to compare versus the others. I doubt paying more for a lake view would be worth it. We stayed in the family rooms, which were almost like a chalet as there were brick walls between units. There is a nice grass area in front of the room with a picnic table for each unit and a playground in the back. There was tons of light in the day coming in. We had to ask for shampoo. not sure if it was standard. If not the owners could consider installing a shower jell dispenser.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is the perfect place to recharge after coming off a track. I was in heaven. The owner is lovely and helpful and the room was very clean with leather furniture. The shower was hot and great water pressure. I would definitely stay here again. There are lovely mountian views. Excellent value for money. It's situated about a block from the lake but you don't need lake views here and those hotels are all over priced.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine View Motel

Address: 15 Quintin Drive,, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpine View Motel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine View Motel is situated in a quiet location 150m from the lakefront of Te Anau. The main shopping Center, Restaurants, Movie Theatre, library and Sports Stadium are a 5 minute walk through a lovely park. We offer a selection of self contained, warm and comfortable studio, 1, 2 & 3 bedroom units with King, Queen or Single beds and have lake view and access units also available. Wireless internet is available in each room. We provide 12 channels of Freeview and Sky TV. We have a spacious guest's laundry with a free internet kiosk available in the laundry only. We have a great children's play area complete with trampoline (in ground), see-saw, swings, slide and a big climbing castle as well as a huge field for cricket and other activities. A guest barbecue and spacious gardens will entertain the adults while the children are busy at the playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Alpine View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine View Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine View Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.