We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine View Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Alpine View Motel to your Saves list
Alpine View Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   15 Quintin Drive,, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE UNLIMITED WIFI
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
GreenLeadersGold level
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The owner is really charming. Her motel is dated but very clean with a lovely playground for children. The unit was perfect for our family and well outfitted. The beds were comfortable, the sheets were soft, and the heated mattress pads most welcome. Definitely stay here when you see Te Anau and Milford!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    40
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
31
47
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We planned to stay 1 night but couldn't resist the 2nd. We stayed in the upstairs unit which was very comfy & impeccably clean, unbelievably helpful & friendly owner. There's great facilities huge laundry, gym, BBQ & playground, oh & a cute couple on the bench seat at the front waitng for a photo with you, glass of wine in hand. Recommend sitting on the balcony with glass of wine & order Chinese takeaway they deliver to you…relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barendrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

During our 8 weeks trip through the North and Souths Islands of New Zealand we arrived in Te Anau. Our intention was to spend a day at Milford Sound, enjoy the views and have a good time. For this you also need a good bed, a good shower and a good meal. For the bed we decided to spend two nights at the Alpine View Motel. It was an extraordinary experience. First and formost, there is the blond high speed lady, manager, cleaning lady, recycle champion and mind boggling cheerfulness herself: Illeana (pronounced as Elena). Before you could ask anything she knew you wanted it. Fine example: at 2200 mt Internet Credit ran out. I went to the office, which appeared to be closed and returned to our room Two minutes later, cheerful and laughing as ever walked in with a chit, saying: "I saw you and i knew you needed Internet Access'. The Motel is superb: spotlessly clean, beautifully kept, a perfect starting point for a daytrip to Milford Sound. She knows what restaurant to go to, in fact she reads minds. We both want to encourage anyone who travels direction Milford Sound to spend a night at the Alpine View. And, for those who find it important to know: Memsahib and Sahib Taylor run a pet friendly Motel. Thank you for a lovely stay. One day gave reasonable weather, the other was extremely wet, but it has been a long time since we had such fun a.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We got a room there for a night of rest on our way back to Queenstown. The first room given to us was next door to another one with a big group of kids and we asked for another option. They gave us a bigger room, at the back of the motel for the same fare. The room was ok. Good for five people. Only one bathroom though. Comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Booked this last-ish minute as a rest stop on the way to the Milford Sound.

Picked up a unit on the top deck which had a view of the lake. It was clean, surprisingly spacious & bright and fairly upto date. It had a kettle/ toaster/fridge. Oddly, but helpfully had crockery and cutlery for 3.
The bed was large (queen size, but not sure) and had electric blankets which was very welcome!

The site had a gym and launderette, with free computer access. There is WiFi access, but is $5 per 2hours though.

A no nonsense place that was very clean with the facilities most will need. I will be coming back and will recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaikoura, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This is a great location to stop over for your Milford day trip. Had one night here with 4 adults and 1 child. Great 3 bedroom unit. Bedrooms very spacious with to queen rooms and a bunk room for the children. It was great to have the children in there own room. Not too many motels have 3 spacious bedrooms. Lounge spacious with enough seating for a family. Fully equipped kitchen, very clean and great value for money. Very hlpfull and friendly management team. Good Laundry and computer facilities available. Great location, a quick walk to lake and town centre. Highly recomend this Motel to families or 3 couples.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We enjoyed our time here. The room had some new furnishings and fittings, and was spotlessly clean. The full kitchen was great to cook dinner for the family. Having a separate room for the kids with three beds was useful, as was the playground just outside our room. The manager was very friendly and helpful. There was a laundry and internet facilities on site and it is only a block from the lake. Definitely recommended as a base for Milford Sound trips.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine View Motel

Address: 15 Quintin Drive,, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpine View Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine View Motel is situated in a quiet location 150m from the lakefront of Te Anau. The main shopping Center, Restaurants, Movie Theatre, library and Sports Stadium are a 5 minute walk through a lovely park. We offer a selection of self contained, warm and comfortable studio, 1, 2 & 3 bedroom units with King, Queen or Single beds and have lake view and access units also available. Wireless internet is available in each room. We provide 12 channels of Freeview and Sky TV. We have a spacious guest's laundry with a free internet kiosk available in the laundry only. We have a great children's play area complete with trampoline (in ground), see-saw, swings, slide and a big climbing castle as well as a huge field for cricket and other activities. A guest barbecue and spacious gardens will entertain the adults while the children are busy at the playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Alpine View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine View Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine View Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.