We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe La Dolce Vita

Cafe La Dolce Vita
90 Town Centre, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
64-3-249 8895
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 31 Restaurants in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
london
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very average ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Doll with no personality this restaurant has got nothing to do with Italy
The only Italian flavour his the owner .
The food his not memorable nothing special, don't get me wrong it was still well executed good value for money I couldn't say will leave you to be the judge of it
But is not a place I would run back if visiting NZ again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    72
    31
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is a huge restaurant with large areas for indoor and outdoor dining. They have an extensive menu with selections of Italian and New Zealand cuisine. The lasagne is delicious.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhurst, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

La Dolce Vita was just what we expected of an Italian restaurant and I have rated it on that basis. It is large with both outside and inside tables, and it was not necessary to reserve a table although we had done so. The white and red decor made it pleasant and cheerful, the food was good as was the wine and the service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

luckily we got into this very popular restaurant just before it got really busy. we had a really enjoyable meal in the sun. A bit pricey for some of the places around but very well cooked, very tasty, and pleasant surroundings

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely outdoor setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

My husband and I ate here after our drive from Milford Sound. This restaurant has a lovely outdoor setting and the waiters are super friendly. The pasta was delicious and the outdoor setting was lovely. Highly recommend it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe La Dolce Vita also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Cafe La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe La Dolce Vita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.