We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe La Dolce Vita

Cafe La Dolce Vita
90 Town Centre, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
64-3-249 8895
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 31 Restaurants in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Northern Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We read the reviews, seems to be some really good and some really bad, so not sure what to expect. Chose this one for relatively reasonable prices (with free dessert). We had garlic bread, penne arriabata and chicken with frangelico and hazelnut. All were very good and the desserts (tiramisu and apple tart) were really good as well. We're here only 2 nights but may go back again since it was so good. It was a quiet night, only aces others there, and owner was the only one taking orders and serving, but he managed just fine. Highly recommend!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    72
    31
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minchinhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“felt sorry for the waiter/owner...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Poor guy, everything went wrong! I suspect it was "just one of those nights" and is probably normally okay, but the review is based on what we found on the night. Lipstick all over the water glass, wrong meal served to my wife, (but put right after another 10 min wait), bill was wrong. I think he was despairing by the end of the evening, but I couldn't raise the enthusiasm for a tip.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Nice little restaurant with a owner who cares”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We had the Pena with mushrooms, chili in a tomato sauce - delicious NZ$22 ea
They had a special of a free soup or desert with each main.
Defiantly one of the best restaurants in town

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aghalee, NI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Lovely meal in this family owned restaurant. Very friendly owner who has a lovely vintage car too (in Italian colours obviously!)

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“wonderful place to dine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

the atmosphere was superb, the music was superb, the food was superb, the wine was superb and the staff were superb....what more can I say!!!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe La Dolce Vita also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Cafe La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe La Dolce Vita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.