We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Motel to your Saves list
Bay Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   9 Dundee Street | Halfmoon Bay, Stewart Island 9846, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Stewart Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Taupo, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here 11th - 15th October 2012 - It was indeed a fantastic experience! We had the 'Honeymoon Suite' - the view really was amazing and the kaka came every day to our balcony for their feed of almonds! Excellent modern rooms and the service was great. Robin, the manager, was exceptional, nothing was too much trouble for him. He looked after our every need and made our stay a very memorable one and we will certainly be returning soon!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite - best view of the bay looking out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    32
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
73
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The view from our balcony was stunning providing an outstanding sunset and sunrise. As we were the only guests (middle of winter) we were upgraded to the honeymoon suite and entertained by the curious and demanding kaa kaa parrots. Definitely worth a visit but stay more than one night. Just be aware that during winter the town's facilities are limited. If you are going hiking then you might like to consider bringing your 'supplies' with you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F'burg
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Halfmoon Bay is tiny, and the Bay Motel is good place to stay, up the hill from the dock and therefore away from the immediate noise of the ferry and the fishing boats. However the accomodation is average and the breakfast inadequate (lots of carbs, no protein) to prepare for a day's hiking. The highlight was the curious kaka who visited our balcony.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I recently stayed at the Bay Motel in Stewart Island for two nights with two friends and we had an absolutely fantastic time. From the minute we arrived on Stewart Island the manager set about making our sty as stress free as possible and was possibly the most attentive manager I have ever come across.
We were picked up at the ferry port and driven to the Motel with a quick tour of the town highlights where Robin the manager made suggestions for where to eat out (though the choice is pretty limited) and where to go for walks etc. When we arrived at our studio room over looking the bay we were really impressed. The room was large, clean, bright and airy. The bathroom was plenty big enough with a phenomenal power shower. The kitchenette was more than adequately stocked with utensils and the view over the bay from the room and our balcony was the icing on the cake. Our room had a double bed, a single bed and a sofa bed as well as a table and chairs to sit and eat at.
On our first night our balcony was visited by some very curious and not at all shy Kaka birds which kept us entertained for quite some time.
Because every thing in the town is close together we were mere minutes walk from the shop, hotel and ferry port. We hired mopeds and explored some of the island which was great fun and when we wanted to venture a little further afield Robin was right on hand to help us organise our trips to Ulva Island and our Kiwi spotting trip.
All in all a fantastic trip and a fantastic motel. Would love to stay again and would most definitely highly recommend Bay Motel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We only stayed one night on Stewart island and considered that the Bay Motel was a good choice for such a brief visit. Robin, the manager. arranged everything for us and ensured that our time was well spent. The motel is in a great location overlooking the bay. The room was fairly basic but clean, spacious and had everything you would need, including a verandah with occasional Kakas. Good value.

Stewart Island is a unique and lovely place and we just wished that we had arranged to stay longer. We were probably very lucky with the weather and saw it at its best, but even in less favourable conditions, we're sure it would still be special. The bird life is impressive and a visit to Ulva island highly recommended. We used Ulva's Tours and Ulva herself was just great! New Zealand is generally very unspoiled, but Stewart island takes it to another level.

Fish and chips are best from the Kai Kart and the bar in the South Sea Hotel is a fine place to escape the sandflies. The food here was impressive too, although we only sampled it for a quick bar lunch.


.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Everything very easy with Robin the manager , being shoulder season meant a few activities were off , but awesome place to wind down

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanneroo, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This was our second stay at this motel. The first was in 2003 when the establishment was quite new. It is most pleasing to note the high standard set by the previous owners has been maintained and in some instances exceeded. Loosie and Jenny are fanatastic hosts. They went way beyond what would be considered 'normal' service expected of motelliers. The motel room fittings, features and quality accessories are top of the range often found lacking in many motels that have higher tarrifs. The large under roof area at the door is a very parctical bonus for travellers during inclement weather. We believe this motel offers great value for money given the service provided, location and fantastic views. We recommend this motel to all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Motel

Address: 9 Dundee Street | Halfmoon Bay, Stewart Island 9846, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Stewart Island
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Stewart Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Motel is located in the center of Halfmoon Bay, Stewart Island & has glorious ocean views from more than half of our units. We are no more than 500 meters walk to all of the restaurants, shops & transport (Plane & Ferry) terminals in the township. Bay Motel complex is made up of 13 modern, quality serviced units - 10 studios, 1 & 2 bedroom units and a 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom luxury apartment. We also have a laundry, courtyard & covered BBQ available for guests use. ~Courtesy transfers on arrival and departure ~2 units & the Apartment have double spa baths ~2 units are wheelchair friendly ~Fully equipped kitchenettes ~Central heating ~Sky TV, telephone and free wireless internet ~Guest laundry, freezer storage, BBQ ~Portable cot, high-chair & buggy ~Continental breakfast available ($12 per person) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Motel Stewart Island, South Island
Bay Hotel Stewart Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.