We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic NZ Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Sea Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added South Sea Hotel to your Saves list
South Sea Hotel
Elgin Terrace, Stewart Island 9846, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Stewart Island
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Classic NZ Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Warm your cockles with a wood fired fireplace while you drink decent brews from the tap. If you don't appreciate New Zealand tap beer then choose from a selection of fancy bottled brews shipped over to keep everyone's palate happy. Great hosts! Awesome venue for hanging out with the locals. You'll experience true wild stories from the deep south. Never a better place to hang your hat after a 14 day trek through some of New Zealands best wilderness tracks and huts. The tracks are amazing. The creek water is incredible and free of Giardia toxins. Such a paradise, you have to experience it to believe it. Take plenty of light weight food supplies on your trek as you will need it if the weather closes over and you have to whole up in a hut for a few days. Don't bother doing the North arm track unless you have plenty of time. Take the plane or the float across either way you get to see what you see. Don't forget on Rakiura (Stewart Island) the locals don't suffer fools easily so take your best attitude and enjoy the ride.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    48
    23
    8
    4
See reviews for
17
51
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Brelade, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is ideal if you're looking to stay at a hotel that really is the 'hub of island life and great value for money.... With a bar and restaurant on the ground floor and the supermarket across the road and just a two minute walk to the ferry terminal. Yes i have to admit this isn't the most modern hotel and with shared bathrooms and toilets it won't be to everyones taste but when you go to Stewart island you really do take a step back to when the pace of life was alot slower and this hotel also reflects on days gone by, but not all in a bad way, i know when i walked up the stairs to go to my room the first time i did notice on the table in the hallway a bowl containing eyeplugs but there again i did stay there for the New Years Eve Party and the band was playing on the balcony of the hotel so it was noisy at times. I like the hotel as yes you do share facilites but these are kept very clean and tidy and it's wonderful to sit on the first floor balcony and people watch also you can just pop downstairs to the pub and always chat to the friendly locals.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Great location for watching sunrise, Staff friendly and accomodating, really affordable. Close to ferry, centre of town, basic with character of old building, shared bathrooms, but separate bedrooms. No frills and price reflects this

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

i stayed out in one of the "modern studios " out the back of the hotel & it was in pretty sad shape- severe water damage to the vanity in the bathroom looked like a rat was eating it like weetbix - its was the most expensive place i stayed at in 10 other centres & needs some of that dosh spent on upkeep sure it has to come from the mainland but average reviews wont bring many punters. more disappointed their was no crayfish availble for dinner that night

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
141 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was our second short stay on the Island, and the only time we've gone out for dinner. There are not many options and they tend to be expensive, except for South Sea Hotel.

Mostly we order the cheaper options, and not much in the way of drinks (1 coke 1 coffee 1 beer), but we did have all three courses and the total bill of $100 was quite reasonable we thought.

All the food was good, the staff were good, and I recommend the 'trio of salmon' which can be served as either as an entrée or main. My partner saw someone else getting the steak and said it looked awesome.

Other than dinner, South Sea is the one place in town that is pretty much always open so it's always easy to drop in for a beer/wine/cider or soft drink. Bear in mind that if the restaurant part isn't open (e.g. after lunch but before dinner) then you won't be able to get coffee... well I think the bar does basic plunger coffee but that's about it.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oamaru, New Zealand
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The South Sea Hotel is the most centrally located hotel on the Island, although nothing is far from the harbour. The hotel is about 1 minute walk from getting off the ferry, which is handy when it is raining. However, other motels on the Island will pick you up directly from the ferry or plane if you request it.

We stayed in one of the studio units, which included one queen bed and a single bed in the one room. The rooms were adequately appointed with all the basics. Only cooking facilities was a Microwave which was bizarrely situated below the bench. Our main gripe was the lack of sound insulation between units. We could here the neighbour snoring in the night, while one side talked very loudly, which reverberated through to us like we were in the same room.

The hotel and rooms are quite old and out of date, although not shabby. I can certainly recommend the food at the hotel as good value for money.

Overall, somewhat over priced for what you get. Have a look around first. If you are staying more than one night many of the houses for rent will cost you around the same with much better facilities and more often a nice view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streatley on Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after walking across the Island. It was fine with shared facilities and a compact room. The tea and coffee making facilities were a bonus.
We ate dinner here too which again was fine. Good basic and tasty grub. The lasagne was very good and plentiful rather than aestheticly presented. The fish pie was fine with plenty of potato. Fine dining it is not, but perfectly good and reasonably priced.
Staff are friendly and helpful ans will look after your bag if you are out and about for the day.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to South Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Sea Hotel

Address: Elgin Terrace, Stewart Island 9846, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Stewart Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Stewart Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your South Sea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Sea Hotel Stewart Island, South Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Sea Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.