We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bird Lovers Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaka Retreat Stewart Island

Save Saved
You added Kaka Retreat Stewart Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kaka Retreat Stewart Island
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   7 - 9 Miro Crescent | Halfmoon Bay, Stewart Island 9846, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3+ NIGHTS SUPER SAVER.
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Stewart Island
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bird Lovers Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Hands down one of the best places we have stayed in NZ.
Karina did her best to get in touch with us to confirm ferry times but we were travelling out of mobile coverage, so she tracked down details and met us at the ferry. She gave us a guided tour of Half Moon Bay before checking us in, and helped carry our bags from the ferry and into our rooms.
The room was very clean and modern and her daughter took very good care of us, including dropping us back to the ferry.
The bird life was amazing. We had Kaka come right down onto our deck and stand on my husbands arm. They became nightly visitors to our deck around dusk. Such a special experience. Lots of Kereru in the surrounding trees as well. We often wish we were back at Kaka Retreat.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seabeck
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We had two nights booked to see how we like Stewart Island and what a wonderful stay it was. Karina picked us up from the ferry and showed us what we needed to know on the island. Our room was clean and very spacious. You have everything you need for a great stay. Nice bathroom, fully equiped kitchen and a store within walking distance.
If you can fit a bigger bed in I would never leave.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

awesome place to stay, its situated 2min walk from town up a hill amongest the bush. clean, modern and lady running it helpful

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We loved our stay at Kaka including the gorgeous studio apartment, the verandah and the visiting birdlife. This is a quiet, well run place where nothing is too much trouble for the owners.
I would happily return and spend more than our two nights just for the accommodation. We were warm and comfortable with internet and tv provided and good coffee, tea and other provisions available.

Room Tip: I cannot imagine a better room than our own and it was a studio. I don't think there is a bad ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We were collected from the post office after our flight from Invercargill, and were given a quick tour of Halfmoon Bay by our host (quick is all that's needed). The room was excellent. Obviously recently refurbished, clean, spacious with an excellent bathroom. Supplies were replenished each day. We did many walks around Stewart and Ulva Islands, and it was great to have a luxurious place to come back to (it's a reasonably steep hill to walk up from town, but most people come here to walk anyway - might be tough if you've had one too many beers at the pub!). Friendly staff who gave you your privacy was another important feature.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

A small quiet retreat a few minutes up a small hill from the centre of Oban, We saw the other accommodation available. Within Oban, this would be the best.

The manageress had an incredible attention to detail. Also the service was excellent.

It was a bit pricey (but was still excellent value). Like everything on Stewart Island, you have to expect to pay a premium for the isolation and shortness of the tourist season.

The morning and evening visits from the Kaka were memorable. One we named Kevin we got to know him so well. Also Kakariki and Keruru were everywhere. You could do all your bird spotting from the deck.

Go out on a fishing charter (we used the highly organised and comfortable Rakiura Charters) and cook the fish on the deck.

We had unit 3, which was a bigger 'older' unit. Apparently it is on the list to refurbish, it still looked new to me. The water pump was a bit noisy, but I was told in winter 2011, it is being moved away from unit 3.

Well worth 2 nights stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

When we visited the retreat had just completed its renovation period, we felt that it was a great option for accommodation on Stewart Island - just five minutes walk to the pub and other amenities in Halfmoon Bay. The service was great, rooms modern and new (although didn't quite understand the two king size beds.)

We traveled in winter and were a little disappointed by the lack of businesses open, with many tour companies advertising they were open but not being bothered or needing minimum numbers. We visited Ulva Island, a must see for bird enthusiasts and even those who are not!

All in all a great stay, enjoyed the pub quiz on the island - not for the feint heated lol :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaka Retreat Stewart Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaka Retreat Stewart Island

Address: 7 - 9 Miro Crescent | Halfmoon Bay, Stewart Island 9846, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Stewart Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Stewart Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaka Retreat Stewart Island 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaka Retreat's motto is Sit Back, Relax, Unwind - You're in good hands! KAKA RETREAT MOTEL is a self contained and serviced complex located within beautiful Stewart Island's idyllic Halfmoon Bay - the gateway to the Rakiura National Park and the world renowned native bird sanctuary - Ulva Island. Situated in close proximity to both ferry and flight terminals, a quick 5 minute walk away to all restaurants, shops, water taxis and main attractions Kaka Retreat is an ideal "Island getaway" accommodation choice. Native wild birds such as the friendly Kakas, Tui, and Bellbirds truly make Kaka Retreat the peace lovers, bird watching, photographers' paradise. With only 7 units and nestled within a native bush garden setting our guests can unwind. Whether you are a couple, family or group willing to share facilities we can meet your accommodation requirements. Our 2-3 bedroom cottages offer a mixture of Double and Twin Bedrooms which can sleep 4-6 persons comfortably. With central heating, open plan living and private covered veranda's you have space to relax. Each cottage has basic cooking facilities, a microwave, fridge, TV and private bathroom. Our modern studio units can sleep 2-3 persons. Centrally heated with tea/coffee making facilities, convection microwave, comfortable deluxe Queen Beds and ensuite bathrooms you are well catered for. All cottages and studio units are serviced daily with boutique toiletries, towels, and linen provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kaka Retreat Stewart Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaka Retreat Stewart Island South Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaka Retreat Stewart Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.