We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views, fantastic spa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Club Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Club Resort to your Saves list
Oaks Club Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   171 - 179 Frankton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing views, fantastic spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Opened the doors to the most amazing view of the lake!! Chose the 2 bedroom option for the outdoor spa which did not disappoint! Such stunning views!! We stayed here and visited the onsen pools, but have to say, no need to go the onsen pools if you stay here!!

We were lucky that there were no neighbours next door, because the divide on the balcony is so low that you may as we'll be sharing the balcony!! Which would be interesting if you're all using your spas at the same time!!!

Fantastic fireplace!!

Main downside was the overall cleaning standard, specifically with regards to the level of dust. Out of all the places we've stayed this has been the only one with dust on every surface from the bed head, to the kitchen bench! Maybe no one had stayed here for a while? But I am allergic to dust so needless to say, there was a lot if sneezing and runny noses on our 3 day stay!!

Kitchen is well equipped with dishwasher, washing machine & dryer, and bed was very comfortable.

Overall a great place to stay in Queenstown.

Room Tip: Worth paying more for the 2 bedroom to get the outdoor spa! It won't disappoint!!! Try to get ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Kia Ora and thank you for your recent review of Oaks Club!
I am so pleased to hear that your stay was fantastic and you enjoyed the views and spa on the balcony of your apartment. Those room types really are something special!
The reason the divide between the rooms is low to ensure that guests are able to enjoy as much of the great 180 degree views as possible. Unfortunately if the divide was any higher it would limit these views to only what is in front of the apartment and not the wider landscape.
I appreciate your feedback about the level of cleanliness in the apartment and will be following this up with the Housekeeping Manager to ensure this does not occur, regardless of if the apartment has been vacant for a period of time.
Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back in Queenstown soon!

Kindest regards,
Jaimee Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    79
    36
    12
    9
See reviews for
78
102
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

the best thing about Oaks Club Resort is the views, stunning. We warned it's a good 25 minute walk into Queenstown. You can walk along the lake front which is a beautiful walk when the sun is out which it was when we stayed. There is also a free shuttle bus into town but you have to book it and it's only a minibus and it covers 2 hotels so it's likely to be busy during the peak holiday period. The rooms are large and in good condition with comfortable beds, there is also a small kitchen area comprising of a fridge and toaster and a microwave. The walls are thin so expect to hear the neighbours. The price reflect the distance into town. I think the parking is free (we didn't have a car). The free internet is limited to one log in of 30 minutes a day which is a bit mean.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Kia Ora and thank you for your recent review of Oaks Club!
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the amazing views and room features of Oaks Club!
The 25 min walk into town by the lake is beautiful, especially during the summertime. You can also walk into town via the road which is slightly quicker.
The shuttle bus is quite popular and we are doing more frequent runs as we come into the peak season to ensure that guests are able to get into town quite easily, despite the hotel being heavily booked.
We do offer free 30 mins wifi per room per day which can be used by up to three devices at once.
Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you back in Queenstown soon!

Kindest regards,

Jaimee Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We were looking forward to a great 4 star experience but were disappointed to find the hotel room was more like a 3 star. When we arrived the room obviously stank of something like a very powerful carpet cleaner and the smell only gradually went over the two days we were there - had to have the window open constantly to its 5" maximum opening. Although we had requested twin beds the room was set up with the two beds together. The room was an 'a' room which meant we got a sideways view of the upper bit of the lake at Grove Arm, and a great view of the empty weed ridden property next door. Couldn't get the television to work - it was only when we could get the lovely lady on desk duty in the morning to show us that we figured how to work it - not a simple on/off switch - and no instructions on how to work it in the room info. Bathroom vanity drawer wouldn't stay closed although I did mention it to reception on the first morning. Laminate peeling away from the cabinet. Dirty behind toilet. Small bath towels. Generally room looked a tad shabby - needed a freshening up - cheap furniture and awful picture, just 4 coat hangers in wardrobe. Would not stay there again - maybe you get a better deal if it's not one of the 'hotel' rooms. The desk staff were lovely though.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, General Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hello and thankyou for your feedback. Your booking included a request for single beds and I apologise this was not ready for you when you arrived. I note that our housekeeping team corrected this. I apologise for the odour of the cleaning fluids. We should have checked you into an alternative room. I understand the hotel room-type wasn’t what you expected and that our team discussed options with you including a possible move to our sister property – Oaks Shores. We have added information regarding the televisions to ensure all guests are aware. The bathroom drawer and laminate were repaired, unfortunately not until after you had departed. I am pleased you enjoyed your interaction with our front desk team. I hope you stay with us again. Please consider an apartment as they are significantly different to the hotel-style rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

THE GOOD
Breathtaking views.
Very convenient location
Well equipped, good size apartments.
Prompt service

THE BAD
Not very clean.
The balcony was full of cigarette butts. (Hasn’t been cleaned).
The dishes were dirty. I guess they have run it through the dish washer, but never bothered to check if they were clean before putting them away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaronJeffrey, General Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Hello and thankyou for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed a number of aspects of your stay with us. However I was disappointed to read that you found issues with the cleaning standard. If you have an opportunity I would welcome an email from you with details of your booking (booking name and arrival date or room number). This information will enable me to investigate. My email is hmclub@theoaksgroup.co.nz. Kind Regards, Aaron Jeffrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed in a hotel style room for four nights. The daily room service was very hit and miss - didn't even empty our bins!

We got four coffee, milk and sugar sachets each day which was no where near enough for two adults - I really don't think it would cost much to provide more.

Our TV and power kept tripping out because our very inconsiderate neighbours (who we could hear very loud and clear through the locked adjoining door) kept using their appliances which were obviously not compatible in NZ electricity. Very annoying for us as the power cabinet was in their room!

We could hear every word said next door and were very tired of smelling them cook.

We thought that staying at an Oaks hotel would be good, but were very disappointed.

Would recommend staying in another hotel which would quite possibly be more affordable too.

If we hadn't prepaid we would have left on the first afternoon. Needless to say - would not return again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, General Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hello and thankyou for your review. I am sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. Our rooms are set up with a standard number of teas/coffees/sugars however we are always happy to provide extra on request. I apologise for the issues with the neighbouring apartment. We spoke with the other guests however we should have offered you the option of moving to another room straight away so you could settle comfortably.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at Oaks Club for 4 nights last week. The views from our room were nothing short of stunning. The main bedroom and loungeroom had floor to ceiling glass doors which overlooked the lake and snow capped mountains. The apartment had 2 bedrooms both with ensuites - second bedroom is small and dark though - no views. The lounge had a lovely gas log fireplace. Kitchen had all you needed should you desire to cook. The apartment was very clean and very quiet. The apartment was serviced daily - beds made and bathrooms cleaned, bins emptied.Thereception staff were wonderful particularly Junalyn. You can book all activities through tmem at great prices. Although a little out of town, they have a shuttle bus or you can take the walking trail.
Can't wait to stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, General Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Kia Ora! Thankyou for your review. I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your comments with Junalyn. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Queenstown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed 5 nights in a two bedroom with ensuites and couldn't fault the room, the magnificent view over lake wakatipu or the location. Could definitely use as a base over winter with underfloor heating in the bathrooms and the gas fireplace the perfect luxuries. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron J, General Manager at Oaks Club Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Kia Ora. Thankyou for your review. I agree the views are magnificent and the fireplace is a welcome touch, particularly after a day out in the winter chill. Thankyou for staying with us and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Club Resort

Address: 171 - 179 Frankton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#29 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Club Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views of Lake Wakatipu are just part of the appeal of accommodation at Oaks Club Resort. A luxuriously appointed apartment-style Queenstown hotel, it is conveniently located on Frankton Road, the main road into picturesque and popular Queenstown. The hotel comprises Hotel Rooms, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments in chic, contemporary styling, underfloor heating and in some rooms, full kitchen and laundry facilities and gas fire places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oaks Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Club Hotel Queenstown
Oaks Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Club Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.